15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really delicious and very easy to make...added chocolate fudge band vanilla ice cream and it was delish..thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssej1078_1251510 January 04, 2014

Honestly the first time I made this cake it was with fat free sour cream and egg beaters and I thought it was just awful with a weird aftertaste. I never made the chocolate version again but made one with sugar free lemon pudding and lemon cake mix with low fat sour cream and real eggs - it was excellent. I'm trying one now with sugar free banana pudding and yellow cake mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariav72 December 13, 2009

Super tasty! It does not taste like a low fat cake at all. I omitted the chocolate chips (due to them never lasting long in my house). My cake was done in about 50 mins. Both the husband and I really loved this cake and will make it for years to come!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sleepygrl October 16, 2008

I have now made this recipe 3 times and all three times it was a hit! I bought a raspberry and lime coolie that was soooo very good on top of this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StaciKelemen January 22, 2008

Super delicious! A very moist and tasty cake. It is a chocolate lover's cake because of the deep, rich chocolate. I think it is best when served the next day. I always add 2/3 cup of finely chopped pecans to batter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook October 20, 2007

Wonderful! Had to double check the nutrition facts, really amazing. I used homemade yogurt in place of the sour cream and as the oil was only 1/3 cup, I did use regular eggs. Topped this off with warmed hot fudge topping. Made for *Cake-A-Thon in memory of Chef-I-Am*.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 29, 2007

YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME!! WHAT AN UNBELIEVEABLE CAKE!! I followed other reviewer’s suggestions and used 1/2 cup apple sauce instead of the oil, used egg substitute, and fat free sour cream. I only used a dash of chocolate chips and used Duncan Heinz Chocolate Devil's Food Cake box mix. Baked the batter (which was VERY thick by the way so don’t be surprised) in two 9 inch round pans. I used Duncan Heinz ready made milk chocolate frosting in the can, warmed it up in the micro and drizzled it over the first layer before stacking the second one on top. Used most of the can to finish off icing the cake, ended up like a ganash since the frosting was melted!! I don't know that I'll EVER make another chocolate cake!! I have highly reviewed other chocolate cake recipes and although I stand by those reviews, why make a full fat cake when you can have one that is SOOOOOO low in fat and so REDICULOUSLY moist and rich!! THANK YOU A THOUSNAD TIMES OVER for this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamma Bug September 14, 2007

Awesome cake! I took this to a party, and it everyone loved it (including me!) I used low fat sour cream and real eggs becaue that's what we had in the fridge and I substitued applesauce for the oil. The only problem I had was that I took it out of the oven too soon and almost ended up serving a "lava cake". I recommend using the clean toothpick method to test for done-ness unless you know your pan and oven very well. I was using a new pan (ceramic) so I think that was the challenge for me. Despite having to go back into the oven, this turned out great though! One last substitution-- For topping I just microwaved 1/2 a tub of chocolate frosting I had left over from something else and drizzled it over. Worked great. Will make this again for sure!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely September 08, 2007

Whoa! This was great! Just what I needed to satisfy my craving for chocolate and baked goods. I used the suggestions made by another reviewer - 1 egg and three egg whites and applesauce instead of oil and it still tasted wonderful. I didn't use the topping suggested since the chocolate chips used gave the cake enough chocolate umph! Still, quite a few WW points, but who says you can't have it for breakfast! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paige August 06, 2007

I made this recipe today when having company on a diet... My version used a basic Walmart butter recipe yellow cake mix, vanilla fat free/sugar free pudding, applesauce to replace the oil, low fat sour cream, and 1 egg plus 3 egg whites... it was FANTASTIC... I made it in a fancy bundt cake pan and dusted it with confectionary sugar... My company could NOT believe it was low-fat and it was great - very much like a dense pound cake and YUMMY. I highly recommend this variation and can't wait to try the chocolate version which my husband will love (he's a chocolate fiend)... Try it - you'll be glad! And thanks to the original poster!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyleda January 31, 2007
Triple Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake (Low Fat)