9 Reviews

Made this recipe exactly as written with fantastic results. The ice cream was smoooooth and soooo chocolate-y. Will definitely make it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StrategyWhiz2 June 14, 2011

Over the top!!!!! My choco-holic family LOVED this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
um-um-good February 22, 2011

This makes AMAZING ice cream! So smooth & creamy! I used my Kitchenaid ice cream maker for the first time yesterday and had looked at this recipe in the book. Instead of adding the pieces of milk chocolate bar at the end, I used Andes creme de menthe baking chips and it was SO delicious! Thanks for the tip to cool it down in the freezer for two hours, it worked perfectly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
omashawn January 29, 2016

LOVE this recipe and putting it in the freezer for the 2 hours works! I just made it again tonight.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandie98 January 22, 2012

As with a couple of other ice cream recipes that I've made & that needed an ice cream maker, I persuaded a friend of mine with one to share in the prep & in the rewards! What a wonderful tasting CHOCOLATE treat! OUTSTANDING, & I might just have to get a machine so I can keep all those 'rewards' right here at home! Thanks for sharing! [Tagged, made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders cooking game]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 09, 2008

Oh my YUM! This is a fantastic chocolate lovers ice cream! The blend of semi-sweet and unsweet brings a depth to this chocolate that is just fantastic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuistot March 17, 2008

Mmmmmmmm, mmmmmm, mmmmmm. I can't mmmm talk right now mmmmm mouth is too full of frozen mmmmmm chocolate heaven! I used all half-n-half instead of heavy whipping cream. I even forgot to add the chopped candy, but will sprinkle it on top when I serve this later tonight. Nonetheless, this is pure chocolate bliss. Thanks, SweetsLady! made for Please Review My Recipe Tag

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too February 26, 2008

This is amazing chocolate ice cream. My kids (26 & 28) say they like it better than Baskin Robbins! <br/>Slight modification.. Instead of unsweetened baking squares, I use 2/3 of a 100g Lindt dark chocolate bar and 1 cup of cocoa instead of a 1/2 cup. Just personal preference. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Findtime April 12, 2013

This makes a delicious, creamy and super chocolatey ice cream! I made a few adjustments to suit us but stayed true to the base recipe. Made as directed but added a hefty scoop of peanut butter, as well as some frozen chopped up peanut butter cups, and about a 1/4 cup of bourbon (in step 4 so the alcohol cooked out leaving flavor only). WONDERFUL!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HillBillyFilly July 06, 2008
Triple Chocolate Ice Cream