14 Reviews

I am half Trini but have always run into a problem cooking stewed chicken and pelau (two of my favorites) because of the initial step of burning the sugar. Thanks to your instructions I have finaly mastered this dish. The final product, both look and taste, were just like my grandmothers. My son even helped me prepare this and ate two helpings at dinner. I would suggest this dish to everyone because it is a cheap and easy meal to prepare and offers a wonderfully delicious spin on chicken.

I would be most appreciative if you could post a recipe on how to prepare oxtail curry. I have never cooked with oxtail but it is another one of my favorite trini dishes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rilee101 July 13, 2012

* a tip--i found myself in the wacky position of having a thin and watery sauce, i just poured everything out in a bowl, and restarted the steps of browning the sugar, then drained the chicken (not rinse) and put back in the pot. and ketchup is an old trick in lieu of tomatoes!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thatmom3! October 18, 2007

i have to say a *HUGE* thanks for going into the details about carmelizing the chicken. for 5 years now, i've been making "stink" stew chicken! either too sweet or too burned... being Trini myself, i always depended on my mom for the excellent cooking... now that i'm married & have to do it myself I greatly appreciate the level of detail that went in to explain exactly when to throw in the chicken! that was always my problem and I now have it right thanks to you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enigma78 September 05, 2007

I am from Trinidad an Tobago am doing this for my Foods SBA and I hope it come out tasty and appealing to the eye.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sexy kk November 12, 2012

Just like someone else that reviewed this recipe, I'm American and dating a Trinidadian. Although he loves my baking and thinks I'm a good cook he was totally doubting my ability to pull of Trini Stewed Chicken. The man was in total shock when he saw it saying he didn't even expect it to look like stewed chicken. Not only did it look right, it tasted great! He loved it and I loved it too. It was so tender and so flavorful. Thank you so much for this recipe and for going into so much detail for each step. I couldn't have pulled it off otherwise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dsince1984 March 16, 2011

I made this recipe a few weeks ago and must say it is THE BEST stew chicken I've tasted! My husband and I are both of Caribbean descent so we know good stew chicken when we taste it! I gave the recipe to my cousin and when I called her to find out how she was doing with it, she was on her third plate! Definitely a great combination of flavours and I am making this for my family at Thanksgiving. I can't wait for the rave reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fuudie4life October 04, 2009

Im from the west indies this is a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kizzyredeye101 September 27, 2009

Ok, this recipe is OFFICIAL!! My fiance is trinidadian. All I have to say is that he was in awe when I made this !! He said that it tastes just like his mom's, which is the ULTIMATE compliment! She can throw down! Thank you for making me a 'superstar' in the kitchen!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjw78 July 25, 2009

I'm american and I made this recipe for a trinidadian..He told me it was the best he's had since being here...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moniqmtlnd April 09, 2009

wow ... the best Stewed Chicken i ever made

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobybaloony September 15, 2008
Trinidad Stewed Chicken