Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Trinidad Stewed Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Trinidad Stewed Chicken

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2012

      I am from Trinidad an Tobago am doing this for my Foods SBA and I hope it come out tasty and appealing to the eye.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      I am half Trini but have always run into a problem cooking stewed chicken and pelau (two of my favorites) because of the initial step of burning the sugar. Thanks to your instructions I have finaly mastered this dish. The final product, both look and taste, were just like my grandmothers. My son even helped me prepare this and ate two helpings at dinner. I would suggest this dish to everyone because it is a cheap and easy meal to prepare and offers a wonderfully delicious spin on chicken.

      I would be most appreciative if you could post a recipe on how to prepare oxtail curry. I have never cooked with oxtail but it is another one of my favorite trini dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      Just like someone else that reviewed this recipe, I'm American and dating a Trinidadian. Although he loves my baking and thinks I'm a good cook he was totally doubting my ability to pull of Trini Stewed Chicken. The man was in total shock when he saw it saying he didn't even expect it to look like stewed chicken. Not only did it look right, it tasted great! He loved it and I loved it too. It was so tender and so flavorful. Thank you so much for this recipe and for going into so much detail for each step. I couldn't have pulled it off otherwise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I made this recipe a few weeks ago and must say it is THE BEST stew chicken I've tasted! My husband and I are both of Caribbean descent so we know good stew chicken when we taste it! I gave the recipe to my cousin and when I called her to find out how she was doing with it, she was on her third plate! Definitely a great combination of flavours and I am making this for my family at Thanksgiving. I can't wait for the rave reviews!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Im from the west indies this is a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      Ok, this recipe is OFFICIAL!! My fiance is trinidadian. All I have to say is that he was in awe when I made this !! He said that it tastes just like his mom's, which is the ULTIMATE compliment! She can throw down! Thank you for making me a 'superstar' in the kitchen!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      I'm american and I made this recipe for a trinidadian..He told me it was the best he's had since being here...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      wow ... the best Stewed Chicken i ever made

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      * a tip--i found myself in the wacky position of having a thin and watery sauce, i just poured everything out in a bowl, and restarted the steps of browning the sugar, then drained the chicken (not rinse) and put back in the pot. and ketchup is an old trick in lieu of tomatoes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      i have to say a *HUGE* thanks for going into the details about carmelizing the chicken. for 5 years now, i've been making "stink" stew chicken! either too sweet or too burned... being Trini myself, i always depended on my mom for the excellent cooking... now that i'm married & have to do it myself I greatly appreciate the level of detail that went in to explain exactly when to throw in the chicken! that was always my problem and I now have it right thanks to you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Haven't tried this, though it looks correct from how one of my Trinidadian friends showed me. In Guyanese cooking we do a similar Stew Chicken but season with soy sauce and ketchup. I can't wait to try this, I've been craving a reeeal good stew chicken for a while now, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      Fantastic! Thanks for posting this de Roché. Really thoroughly explained and this helps to make it taste just right. Bravo from a fello Trini living on the other side of the world :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      I had so much fun making this. Well, almost. I was a little nervious about caramelizing the chicken. I've caramelized things before and know how one minute it looks like it's not going to be ready for a while, and then you blink and it's burnt beyond hope. Thankfully for me, I didn't blink, or have to scratch my nose, or pluck any thorns out of any lion's paw, because I got it just right, which made me anxious to get the rest of the meal on the road. I used chicken breast portions, which worked beautifully. I left out and bitters and the Wocestershire sauce. For the hot suace I used a yellow Jamaican hot sauce I picked up the last time I was in New York. We had this with plain white rice for our Friday night dinner and it was very successful! I think I'll be caramelizing chicken a lot more often in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      I didn't actually try the recipe because I am Trinidadian. I looked at it and knew that it was absolutely right. It's true tht it only sounds difficult until you go through the process once. Afterwards, this is very easy and full of flabor. Good comment about the Tabasco sauce - pepper sauce must be Habanero based to give real fire imho! Thanks for posting so many good, traditional recipes. I can't wait for my Naparima Girls' cookbook to arrive tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Trinidad Stewed Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (238 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 395.8
     
    Calories from Fat 232
    58%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 103.5 mg
    34%
    Sodium 682.1 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    41%
    Protein 27.2 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chives

    thyme

    French thyme

    culantro

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes