15 Reviews

These were awesome Kim! I had a bag of mixed berries in the freezer and was looking for a way to use them up. These are so moist and tasty! I followed the recipe to a 'T'. The tops were so nice and crispy.. just the way we like them! I'll certainly be making these again, but I might try using Splenda to cut back on the sugar (and calories) a bit. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaM June 03, 2003

sorry i managed to forget the stars!!! so here goes again. I had all three berries in the freezer from last year, wanting to use them up before the new season so this was the perfect recipe. I used splenda instead of the sugar and didn't put any on top. They were wonderful!The berries made them lovely, sweet berries and nice and moist, a juicy berry in every mouthful, thanks for sharing I will be making these again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf May 29, 2003

These were excellent,I halved the recipe as there is only 2 of us. I had a few blackberries so I added those as well. Simply delishious. Next time I will make the whole recipe as these were finished way too quickly and I had none left. Nov 2009 This time i made it into a loaf pan and used peaches, strawberries and pineapples that were frozen and defrosted. I got 1 big loaf and one smaller one. This was really good as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda November 08, 2009

this was really good (i used 1 cup of whole wheat flour, 2 cups of all purpose, omitted the sugar on the tops and used 1/2 cup of splenda with 1 cup of sugar, skipped the butter and used 1/4 cup of olive oil, and 1 bag of frozen mixed berries) - i'll definitely be making these again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ December 13, 2008

These are just wonderful muffins. Every bite of the mini cake is full of flavor and fruit. The cake was tall, light, fluffy and spicy. With a nice crisp crust. I forgot to put the sugar on top and didn't miss it. I, like many others used a combo of frozen fruit. Blueberry, Blackberry, Raspberry and Strawberry, which worked well in this recipe. The cinnamon complimented all the fruit. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato September 07, 2008

Loved these muffins! I was looking for a recipe to get rid of a bunch of fresh blueberries my husband got last week. I had blackberries and blueberries only, so I guess my muffins were bi-muffins only! Never the less this recipe is fabulous. I was eating the batter as I was pouring it down into the muffin tin. As per other members suggestion I cut on the sugar too. I used 1 cup Splenda and half cup sugar. I did not have milk handy (I rather use soy or almond milk) so I used Mocha Mix. They came very nice and tasty thank you very much for this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef h&h August 11, 2008

Yum yum!! These were simply delicious,and so simple to make!! My MIL grows her own fruit,and gives me huge containers of it to freeze,so this is a great way for me to use it up.I also cut back on the sugar on top,and used a sugar substitute,and I don't think it affected the flavour in any way.The entire family loved them,even my 3 year old son,who loves cake,but isn't so keen on fruit-so a good way of getting some inside him.Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo August 06, 2008

Like a coffee cake in a muffin! The cinnamon and berry combo is so delicious. I used "4-Field Berry" mix from the frozen section of Wal-Mart which includes blackberries, so I had Quadberry Muffins? Everything sounds better with an Italian flair so I'll say Quattro-Berry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen July 23, 2008

Oh my Gosh are these so good! You never know what type of Berrie combo nation you are going to get in your muffin. Will be making these muffins again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE June 30, 2008

Used a mix of frozen berries this time around ~ blueberries, raspberries & marionberries (a blackberry hybred, I guess it is) & the muffins were GREAT TASTING! Another time I want to do this up with fresh berries! Wonderful recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in New Zaar Stars Tag cooking game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 05, 2008
Triberry Muffins