22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just tried this recipe for potluck. Everybody loved it!! I didn't have red wine vinegar so I used apple cider vinegar. Also I didn't have time to marinade for 24hrs, but did about 20 hrs. Still turned out fabulous. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
girlsliketocook December 30, 2009

I made this for my husband, who absolutely loved it! I thought it was a bit on the oily side with all of the oil in the marinade and from the roast, but not unavoidable when eating. On the other hand, my husband thinks the fat and oils enhance roasts, so had no issues with the oil whatsoever. I liked the flavor. It had an Asian taste to it, in my opinion. I'm sure my husband will ask me to make this again sometime. Thanks for the recipe, Alan!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lora Lane February 22, 2009

Delicious, our family really enjoyed it and it was great to find a tri-tip recipe for the winter that's baked instead of grilled. It was a little on the sweet side for our tastes so next time I'll cut the honey in half, but this is definitely a keeper. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef SuzyQ February 15, 2008

This was so good! Very good flavor. When I cooked it in the oven, the marinade surrounding the meat started to burn and turn black so I had to take it out early then remove the meat to a different baking dish to finish cooking it. So next time, I will marinade it for 24 hours but when I cook it, I will drain off the marinade to prevent burning. But it turned out to be delicious tri tip! Thanks for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karamia August 10, 2007

This came out perfect though I didn't cook until 135, I took it out just under 130. Beautifully juicy inside. It could have used a tad more zing, next time I think I'll throw some Dale's in the mix & see how that does. But very nice roast! Oh, I meant to say this was better than any I've had in a restaurant.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babychops May 30, 2010

Delicious. I've made this a few times now. The seasonings listed are sufficient so I just used plain meat tenderizer instead of a packet blend. I made this on the barbecue and used a thermometer. It is definitely better rare, I overcooked it once and it wasn't nearly as nice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingernut February 24, 2010

Excellent! You can't go wrong, this is so easy and so delicious. My family loves tri tip and I am horrible on the grill so this was a great alternative for me. I did reduce the amount of oil to 1/3 cup and left out the worcestershire, I also punctured the meat prior to marinating. I used fresh crushed garlic and fresh rosemary for my rub. I doubled the cooking time on a 2 1/2 lb. roast and the meat was perfect, moist and full of flavor! Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mojo mom July 24, 2009

Very good, but not "delicious". I feel that there was too much rosemary & would have used basil instead. The roast was marinaded for about 6 hours, it still came out very tender. The honey & other ingreadients caused a sticky mess (though a small amount) in the glass roaster. I recommend lining any pan with greased or buttered foil for an easier clean-up. I am glad to have a marinade for a tri-tip & will be doing this one again (with minor adjustments, of course). Thanks Alan!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabinKat March 25, 2008

Wonderful marinade for a lovely cut of meat. We always have ours rare to medium rare, and this is perfect and really succulent. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjcush November 27, 2007

This was delicious and so much flavor. I even forgot to put the garlic and rosmary over it, and it was still good. The only change I have is that for us, the cooking time was closer to one and a half hours because my husband likes meat closer to well done with no pink. For medium, I would say that this still needs about an hour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raquel L December 24, 2005
TRI-TIP ROAST (((DELICIOUS)))