Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tres Leches (Three-Milk Cake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tres Leches (Three-Milk Cake)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2010

      To anyone making this cake, or any tres lehes cake, instead of poking it with a fork to absorb liquid, I simply turn the cake over on alumminum foil straight out of the oven and let it cool completely. When it is done cooling the top of the cake comes off and exposes the top. I then soak it and it absorbs the milk beautifuly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      WOW!!! I love this recipe. My knowledge of Tres Leches was limited to seeing one on Good Eats on the Food Network. I am so glad I decided to make one. Everyone I shared this cake with wanted the recipe. I made one slight change in the preparation. I did not have Kahula so I upped the vanilla and added some almond extract. This is one recipe I intend to make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      This cake was fantastic. Instead of kahlua or coffee (not a fan), I added Bailey's Irish Cream. Mmmmmmmm. I served it with the whipped cream on the side and presented it with bowls of strawberries, blueberries and rasberries and let my guests make their own combination. It was a huge hit. To get the milk into the cake, initially, I used a pastry brush then realized that it would suck up liquid fairly quickly, but I did pour it slowly, all around the edges and the middle. I didn't want to lose that moisture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Hi. This was a request of a friend of my son. I had never heard of it before. Looking it up, this one sounded to be the most simple to make. This is an amazing cake and will always be a favorite now. The taste was unbelievable and we loved it. Our friend was thrilled to have this for her birthday!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      This was a very simple cake to make. although, I omitted the Kahula and the coffee -- the cake still came outstanding. it was a hit with my guests. I would make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      Very Nice It's A New Twist On The Original ! love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      This cake was simple to make, I didn't make any changes to the recipe. I took it to a Mexican themed dinner party and it was a hit, everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Awesome recipe! It was easy to make, stores well and was a hit at my New Year's celebration dinner. I will definitely be make this cake again!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Delicious! Thank you so much for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      Delish! I love the flavor. I did have trouble with the cake absorbing all of the liquid but it still tasted good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      BRAVO! AMAZING cake! I added one teaspoon of almond extract to the cake batter and served this with sweetened creme fraiche. One of the easiest cakes I have ever made and fondly reminds me of my travels to Mexico. Muy bueno!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      ok, im in love! thanks so much, the cake was OUTSTANDING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2006

      I had my class make this yesterday for Cinco de Mayo. They didn't quite follow my directions and poured in 1/4 cup of instant coffee granules instead of making a cup of coffee first...it turned out to be a yummy mistake! Of the five things we cooked yesterday, this was of the top 2 favorites. It was easy and tasty...a little bit heavy and sweet, but still good. 'Gracias'. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      This cake was the HIT of our mexican themed dinner at church! I did not use Kahlua or coffee I did add some vanilla extract. The cake was moist. It also had a wonderful taste. And like most recipes I like it was straight foward and not difficult to make!I also topped it with toasted coconut skipping the strawberries. BUENO!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tres Leches (Three-Milk Cake)

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 397.9
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    20%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 146.3 mg
    48%
    Sodium 221.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.9 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 45.8 g
    183%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites