Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tres Leches Hazelnut Cake (Cuatro Leches ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tres Leches Hazelnut Cake (Cuatro Leches )

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2011

      What a delight! It is definitely worth the effort. With the beautifully flavored spongy layers soaking up all that sweet, creamy goodness and the berries ripe and sweet, you will be in dessert hog-heaven :) Love, love, loved the hazelnut/almond/strawberry flavors together! I was SO hoping for leftovers, but alas, my party guests scarfed down every last crumb! I added some almond and vanilla extracts to both the whipped cream and the cake batter, otherwise made as stated. Thank you Rita for a fabulous cuatro leches cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      This cake it the BEST!!! My husband is from mexico and he was so impressed with your recipe that i had to send pictures to his momma all the way to mexico lol. I have made other tres leches and either the cake was to dence or to soggy this one was just right THANKS for the recipe its a 10 in my book

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      Wow, this is out of this world. My family and guests just raved about this cake. It is truly decadent and worth the effort. I was handing out the recipe. A definite keeper. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      I made this recipe and another tres leches recipe (that used coconut milk and topped with fruit) and I have to say that this was not as good as the other one. Also, it did not soak into the cake as well either. Although it was pretty good, the other tres leches recipe blew this one away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      This was a hit at the cinco de mayo party. I made the cake into a sheet cake. I used a cool whip topping. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      not rating because i haven't made it yet. i go to a restaurant in jacksonville, fl where the mother of the owner, she is from spain, makes tres leches cake fresh everyday. have been in search of it ever since my first bite - their not sharing! anyhow, i'm going to make alton brown's take as i think he is a terrific chef, way over my head or abilities, and he made a tres leches cake for his current fiance' (think of all the cakes he could have chosen!) it's on recipezaar and has yet to be rated by anyone?? the point of all of this is to thank you for what undoubtedly is a great recipe but also for the great photoes. should i make this later, the photoes are really beautiful and definitely helpfull. thanks for your generousity (sp) and time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      Yum! This is a wonderful and simple tres leches recipe! Thank you so much! Made for ZWT$ for the CAFE ZMAAK Gypsies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Excellent tres leches recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      I made this cake while I was camping in an RV. It took a bit of effort and planning but I didn't mind because it was fun to make. The cake tasted great and if anyone had had the guts to try a "wet cake" I'm sure they would've loved it. I tried to tell them the large amount of eggs made it not feel soggy but no one budged. a little boy I gave some to loved it and told me I make the best cakes in the world. So there's two votes for awesome tasting cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Very good...better than the tres leche cakes I had recently at two seperate restaurants. I did use Cool Whip instead of the fattening whip cream. I used non-fat half and half instead of the creamer and whipping cream. And my evaporated milk was non-fat too. You really couldn't tell because it still tasted really bad for you! It was a little soggier than we are used to in cake. I might make it with 3/4 of the milks suggested. I also didn't have overnight to let it soak but that cake did soak it up in only 3! Oh, and I agree with another review. I halved this recipe and it still could have easily served ten. The full recipe would certainly serve 18-20.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      This was excellent! If someone is looking for a tres leches cake recipe LOOK NO FURTHER!I have tried several tres leches cake recipes here and they were a sloppy soggy mess. This reminds me of the cake I have at my favorite brazilian restaurant. I did make some changes. I did not use condensed milk, I subbed unsweetened coconut milk. I didnt add any almond or hazelnut extract either. I also didnt use whipping cream I subbed cool whip. I used 6 eggs as opposed to 7. I also used only 1 can of evaporated milk and 1 can coconut milk as well as hazelnut creamer, and added some milk to make up for the loss of milk once my pot boiled over. I didnt add all the amount of milk. I used about 1/2 over the cake, and I dont recommend it, because I have been disappointed in the past with tres leches cakes,I was trying to avoid a soggy cake. This cake is dense enough that it holds the milks well without loosing form or texture. I had mixed reviews with my family, but I give it an A plus. I spread some seadless strawberry jam between the layers instead of using strawberries. Next time I will still use only 1 can each, but I will add all the milk. I know it appears as though I had changed this recipe alot, but they were only minor adjustments and I wanted to let any future reviewers know that it works well when subbing ingredients.This recipe is a keeper. Thanks Rita for posting it:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      I attended a PGA event in Houston, TX and saw this cake with a sauce on the bottom. I'm not one for mushy deserts but I thought I'd try it anyway. It was so good I ate 3 pieces. I came home and found your recipe. I made it and it was fantastic. Better than the first one I tasted. I altered the recipe and put in vanilla caramel instead of hazelnut. Superb. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      Excellent tres leches recipe. Like the other reviewers, I was skeptical that the milks would soak in, but they sure did and the results were wonderful. This was time consuming but so worth it. The hazelnut and almond flavors add an interesting note you don't find in other tres leches cakes - a definite improvement on a classic recipe. We're using the leftover milks poured over strawberries. Yummy. Also, I think a more reasonable number of servings for this recipe is 16 or 24. Way too much cake when sliced into 12 pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      I made this with much reservation.....I was afraid LOL! It really turned out to be an easy recipe...just like you said. I was very nervous about pouring the syrup over, I was sure there was too muc, but it turned out great. I had strawberries in the freezer so I used them inbetween the layers. This turned out to be a beautiful, moist cake. We served it to dinner guests and it was a HUGE hit! Thanks so much Rita, I will be making this one again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      I made this for my 6-year-olds b'day party and kids and adults alike thought it was great (even my very difficult mother was 'taken' by this recipe, and has requested I make it for her next 'do' with friends). We don't have these boxed cake mixes in Greece so I made my standard pound cake and baked it in two 9-inch layer pans. When you make the milk 'syrup' it doesn't seem possible that the cake can absorb it all, but it does, and it does so deliciously. I 'frosted' in between my cake layers with blueberry jam - I was worried it would bleed into the cake, but it didn't. This has been put into the 'keeper' file and I know I'll be making it for years to come. Thanks Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tres Leches Hazelnut Cake (Cuatro Leches )

    Serving Size: 1 (258 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 794.3
     
    Calories from Fat 396
    49%
    Total Fat 44.0 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 24.3 g
    121%
    Cholesterol 233.1 mg
    77%
    Sodium 482.8 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.5 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 63.7 g
    254%
    Protein 15.8 g
    31%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hazelnut-flavored liquid coffee creamer

    hazelnut-flavored liqueur

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes