12 Reviews

really good cake. i am giving it a 4 only because after having had the real thing, this one does sort of taste a bit 'cake-mixish' to me. i wanted to take this to a party today and was running out of time so i made this recipe instead of trying it from scratch. everyone loved the cake - it was super moist and just plain lovely. my only complaint is that a little bit of the liquid pooled around the base of the cake despite overnight refrigeration. v. good cake though . thanks chiagopm. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grapefruit July 25, 2008

this cake is easy and tasty. depending on the occasion, i have altered this cake by cutting the cake in half and spreading guva jam , then putting the top back on to then poke the holes to then spread the milk mixture topping. strawberry jam also works well for the center.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hbernard February 28, 2008

This is my favorite cake and all of my lage Latino family loves it too! I made it for Thanksgiving and it was a HUGE hit. I made it exactly to the recipe and then topped with cool whip. The day after I tasted it and it was even better! The milk had completely soaked in, not just on the bottom. I will make again, 2 days before I plan to serve it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Beckman December 28, 2007

Really, really good and super simple to make. The bottom third of the cake was really soupy the next day, after chilling in the fridge all night, though. Next time I make this I will try to be more patient in adding the milk mixture so it can soak in completely. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AB_Fan July 24, 2007

This is so easy it's almost as easy as buying the box mix of Tres Leches

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spain_bound_girl February 12, 2007

We had tres leches cake with strawberries and a merengue top for our wedding day. This was such a simple and delicious way to bring back good memories... it was a hit at work, too! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kidnursemei November 16, 2006

Its a good recipie that recreates my cuban restaurant favorite...make sure you have a cake plate that can contain any extra liquid...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Will Price December 18, 2005

Good cake. I followed the recipe except I do not like whipped topping so I whipped cream with a bit of sugar. The taste was very good but it was a little to wet for my taste. I would make again but I will halve the soaking ingredients and make 2 cakes. Editing my review: Talking to several Hispanic people I have learned this cake is supposed to be wet. It's me not the cake so I am going to bring the stars up to 4 because it was a great tasting cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiebaker July 06, 2004

Thank you, thank you, thank you. When we went to one of my fave restaurants recently I ordered "light" (soup and salad) to have room for Tres Leches for dessert - but then they were out of it! Now I'm no longer dependent on others' supplies. This was so easy to make, too. It needn't be a "from scratch" cake to get the effect. I got good coverage with the liquid throughout the cake by pouring slowly, and letting about 1/3rd soak in before adding the next third.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catte Nappe May 12, 2004

EXCELLENT!!!This is my dad's all time favorite. I made this for the people I work with and they gobbled it all right up!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skssandy July 31, 2003
Tres Leches Cake