72 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the most addictive cake I've ever made. Hubby says it is also the BEST cake I've ever made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bullscreeker May 11, 2009

Wow! This was a huge hit on Easter Sunday. I did double the filling as most others did and added 1/2 cup of light rum to the milks. I allowed mine to soak overnight. I also made it into a 4 Leches by spreading 2 cans of Dulce de Leche (slightly warmed up to make it thin enough to spread easily) across the entire cake. I then frosted it but cut down on the sugar in the frosting. It was fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieCHopp April 12, 2009

I have to say that i agree that its not wet enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen0430 January 17, 2009

Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carmenid December 17, 2008

this cake was such a big hit, I made it three times within a two week period. It's exactly like the tres leches found in Miami. thank you, it's now going to be a family favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karick November 23, 2008

Only heard of this cake last week - looked at dozens of recipes and tried this one yesterday. It was easy to make and to my delight, turned out beautifully - and so delicious! Will certainly be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
espezel November 22, 2008

Yummy! Made this for a Mexican Potlock - this was super good. I used a stabalized whipped cream to frost it. The wetness was just right, although it could have been a teensy bit more wet, about another 1/4 recipe worth...Easy to make, easy to serve and TOO easy to eat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker November 15, 2008

** to "chef #454944" - yes :) This is an amazing cake and will be a part of my permanent favorites collection - although as rich as it is I won't be able to make it often!! Found this while looking for arecipe for a mexican potluck at my office- and took a piece to my husband in his office and was told by all his co-workers that I HAD to make it for them as well! I did cheat a bit- as one other reviewer did, I used Cool Whip as a frosting as it was easier to transport it to the office and frost it there (I used extra creamy Cool Whip into which I did stir a tsp of vanilla) YUM! thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjc October 15, 2008

Very good cake. I followed the advice of some of the other reviews and added milk to the filling to make it "wetter." Very sweet cake, I think it needs some fresh fruit on top to cut the sweetness a little bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chio182 September 17, 2008

This is an incredible cake and all my inlaws who are from Nicaragua love it. There is a debate on where this cake originated and Nicaragua claims to have been the originating country. So if my inlaws love it, it's got to be good. The only thing I do differently is I double the filling. It's supposed to be very wet. I don't actually use all the extra filling, but I definitely use more than 1½ times the filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joseandvicky July 30, 2008
Tres Leches Cake