77 Reviews

Delicious! I agree with the previous reviewer who wanted it to be a bit wetter, so I will probably increase the milks next time, myself. BUT everyone loved it prepared just as written.

Thanks for a keeper!

Updating my review - just made this again, and I did double the milks, and it worked just fine. I let the cake cool for 15 minutes or so, and then poked holes all over with a chopstick. I poured the milk slowly, and it absorbed it all just fine. I also put dulce de leche on top as another reviewer mentioned. Yum. Thanks again for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri 911 February 17, 2013

I made this cake twice last week--once for neighbors, and once for my parents. We drained pineapple rings, mandarin oranges, and cherries to decorate, and the result was very appealing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassykat1213 November 10, 2012

I did this recipe exactly as written. It was very good although it definitely could have used more of the milk filling. Some parts of the cake were not saturated nearly enough.Next time I will definitely do at least 1.5x the filling. Still, it was very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sutherlandfamily October 01, 2012

I have made this cake several times. It is the best and easiest Tres Leches cake I have found. This is as good or better than the piece I pay $6 for at the store. I tried many recipes before this one but have not looked at any others since finding this one

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy Coyne August 27, 2012

What a delicious cake! Just LIke I remembered it tasting from when I was a child! Very simple to make! Everyone at my 4th of July Party loved it. Next time, I will add just a teensy bit more filling. Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Newadventuresincooking July 05, 2012

Enjoyed this cake..even better the next day. The bad thing is you want to keep eating this and the scale continues to climb when this is around.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fatty mcgee June 16, 2012

Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscain February 02, 2012

Wonderful. I doubled the filling and used 3/4 of it. I then served it with optional additional filling. Absolutely fabulous recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dpeters517_6176845 May 10, 2011

By far the best tres leches cake! Cake came out huge also.The frosting was also very good but next time I will put CoolWhip also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1baytown December 26, 2010
Tres Leches Cake