Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tres Leches Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tres Leches Cake

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2008

      Delicious! It tasted Just like I remember. Very simple too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      I had never made this cake before so I was nervous but it came out great! This is an easy and delicious recipe. I thought the cake was very moist and wouldn't add extra milk filling as it might make the cake soggy. I covered it in whipped cream and drizzled caramel sauce on top. yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      Never had this cake before so I didn't know what to expect. But it tasted good. It was very moist and had a nice creamy taste. Will gladly make this again. I did use a yellow cake as that is what I had at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      This was a very easy cake to make even for a guy that does not ever cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      Huge hit at my NYE gathering - sorry so late in reviewing. We loved the cake and would make this again! I did add 2 shots of dark rum as that is the way I have had it before. Defintely was very close to bakery status. awesome recipe easy even for me who I am the worst baker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      Original review 8/1/05: I wish I could give this recipe ten stars! I made it last night to take to a potluck party that we attended. It was a HUGE hit! I baked the cake in a large pan that I have (approx. 11x15) and it rose beautifully to about 1/2" above the top of the pan edges. I was a bit concerned that the height of the pan was going to be too small to finish, but it was fine in the end. I made a double batch of the filling, intending to only use half of the second batch as recommended by another reviewer. I wound up using all of it, as the cake seemed to be absorbing it well, and due to the size of the pan. I think next time I make this (and there WILL be a next time! LOL), I'll use the one and a half times filling the other reviewer recommended. Double made it TOO moist, imo, particularly the bottom part of the cake. But it was still really good! The only other change I made was that I made a strawberry sauce (strawberries, sugar, cornstarch and water cooked til thickened) to serve on top. I served that on the side, so that people could put it on if they wanted. The addition of the sauce was (no pun intended) the icing on the cake. Excellent recipe, Dawn! Thank you for sharing! :D Update 4/25/08: I made this as part of a dessert-a-month auction. I used the one and a half times filling, and it seemed to be just right (didn't cut into cake, but it wasn't as damp as previously). I also served it with the strawberry sauce again. Got RAVE reviews from the auction winner. Once again...well done! If I'm looking for a winning recipe, I always know I can pull this one out to impress the masses. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      AMAZING recipe! I made this for the first time for a friend's birthday party. Everyone raved over it. Some called it the best tres leches they've ever had, most had seconds, and some that aren't big fans of sweets remarked on how much they loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and it kept well in my fridge overnight. I'll definitely consult this recipe while making tres leches in the future. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Excellent cake (according to my hubby)!! I made it for him to take to his Spanish HS class. It was a hit. After all my hard work - I didn't even get to try it :(. Next time it's all mine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I made this for a Tex-Mex get together recently and everyone loved it. I stuck to the original recipe.I added strawberries on top but I bet you could add many different fruits if desired. Just be sure to keep it refrigerated. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      I always go to a place here in Houston called Churrasco's. It's south american food and my husband and i always have to get the Tres Leches. This is the only one I have ever found that I can actually compare. Wonderful. Two thumbs up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      All I can say is: WOW This cake rocks - I usually don't eat too much sweets, but I had many helpings of this :) My family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      I've used this for work parties and family get-togethers. Everyone loves it, and asks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      I used angel food cake mix, which must have almond flavoring in it, so my cake came out a little too almond and not enough vanilla. And a little too spongey. But I think the recipe is sound and, given the use of the right cake mix, would be delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      It was a hit at work. I used a yellow butter cake mix and an extra egg yolk. I poured the milk mixture on at room temp on a pretty warm cake. Everything absorbed nicely. I tried a small corner of the cake prior to adding the milk mixture and found it to be a fairly dry cake. I'm thinking I'll add a box of pudding mix for a slightly moister cake next time. I used spray whipped cream for the top since it was easier to transport to work. I will make this again due to the future requests already given to me:) Thank you for a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      This cake has a wonderful flavor, but it is much drier than traditional Tres Leches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2007

      Wonderful Cake! Everyone loved it for Easter. Use a 13 x 9 baking dish/pan. I used one a little smaller and it was overflowing. I drizzled some caramel ice cream toppping over the top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      best cake ever. Every time I make it, people loves it. I freeze the left overs and eats them later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      Very good! I followed the directions, except used coconut milk in place of the evaporated milk, and flavored the whipping cream with rum instead of vanilla. I decorated the cake with fresh fruit & toasted coconut & got raves on both presentation & taste. I will post a picture of the finished product as well. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      Rich and moist. This is an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2006

      So good! This is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tres Leches Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 749.2
     
    Calories from Fat 354
    47%
    Total Fat 39.3 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 154.1 mg
    51%
    Sodium 442.0 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.3 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 61.3 g
    245%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes