Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tres Leches Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tres Leches Cake

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2011

      This recipe is amazing. This is the first recipe I have actually felt obliged to write a review for. Everyone was so impressed with this cake. I did double the milk mixture and also took another reviewer's idea and added 1/4 cup spiced rum to the milk mixture (I eliminated an equal amount of the evaporated milk) and I also added a tiny dash of rum extract to the frosting, although I think I'll leave that out next time and just use the rum in the milk mixture for a little extra flavor. This recipe makes a huge cake, it definitely won't fit into an 8x11 pan. I took my time pouring on the milk mixture and rubbing it into the top of the cake, and I drained out the liquid from the bottom a few times and poured it back over to make sure it really got worked in. Came out perfectly moist and soooo yummy. I probably could have left out maybe half a cup of the milk mixture as the cake would have been slightly less messy to serve if it was a bit less moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      My cake's currently sitting in the fridge, having baked it last night, and I'm already thrilled with how it turned out.

      I used 1.5x of the filling as recommended, and I think that's the perfect proportion. I can't wait to top with homemade frosting and strawberries - adding fresh fruit will definitely help with how sweet the cake is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      By far the best tres leches cake! Cake came out huge also.The frosting was also very good but next time I will put CoolWhip also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      Followed recipe except I did soaked cake overnight as I had the time. It turned out great! Was a big hit. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      This cake is absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great, plus it is easy to make! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Awesome cake. Some people don't want to try it due to its soggy appearance, but once they do, they are hooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      AWESOME cake my family and I love this recipe. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      What a great and easy to prepare cake! I made if for a cook-out with Ecuadorian and Colombian friends. It was a big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      I absolutely love this recipe!!! I do agree that it isn’t wet enough so I add 1 can of coconut to the filling. I decorated mine with fresh coconut, strawberries, and blueberries. It was delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      This is the most addictive cake I've ever made. Hubby says it is also the BEST cake I've ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Wow! This was a huge hit on Easter Sunday. I did double the filling as most others did and added 1/2 cup of light rum to the milks. I allowed mine to soak overnight. I also made it into a 4 Leches by spreading 2 cans of Dulce de Leche (slightly warmed up to make it thin enough to spread easily) across the entire cake. I then frosted it but cut down on the sugar in the frosting. It was fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I have to say that i agree that its not wet enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      this cake was such a big hit, I made it three times within a two week period. It's exactly like the tres leches found in Miami. thank you, it's now going to be a family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      Only heard of this cake last week - looked at dozens of recipes and tried this one yesterday. It was easy to make and to my delight, turned out beautifully - and so delicious! Will certainly be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Yummy! Made this for a Mexican Potlock - this was super good. I used a stabalized whipped cream to frost it. The wetness was just right, although it could have been a teensy bit more wet, about another 1/4 recipe worth...Easy to make, easy to serve and TOO easy to eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      ** to "chef #454944" - yes :) This is an amazing cake and will be a part of my permanent favorites collection - although as rich as it is I won't be able to make it often!! Found this while looking for arecipe for a mexican potluck at my office- and took a piece to my husband in his office and was told by all his co-workers that I HAD to make it for them as well! I did cheat a bit- as one other reviewer did, I used Cool Whip as a frosting as it was easier to transport it to the office and frost it there (I used extra creamy Cool Whip into which I did stir a tsp of vanilla) YUM! thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Very good cake. I followed the advice of some of the other reviews and added milk to the filling to make it "wetter." Very sweet cake, I think it needs some fresh fruit on top to cut the sweetness a little bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      This is an incredible cake and all my inlaws who are from Nicaragua love it. There is a debate on where this cake originated and Nicaragua claims to have been the originating country. So if my inlaws love it, it's got to be good. The only thing I do differently is I double the filling. It's supposed to be very wet. I don't actually use all the extra filling, but I definitely use more than 1½ times the filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted great and very moist. I added fresh strawberries to each piece when served, and got many compliments. However, the traditional Hispanic tres leches cake should be WET, not just moist, so I made it again a few days later and doubled the filling. It came out perfect. I gave some to the cooks at a Mexican Restaurant I work at and they raved about it! I'll surely make it again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tres Leches Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 749.2
     
    Calories from Fat 354
    47%
    Total Fat 39.3 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 154.1 mg
    51%
    Sodium 442.0 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.3 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 61.3 g
    245%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes