71 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

DELICIOUS! I used all ingredients and methodolgies as described in recipe. I used skewers to make holes all over the top right out of the oven. I then let it cool for 5 minutes and flipped it onto a cooling rack. I put more holes in the bottom. I then cut off all four sides. (I topped them with cinnamon and baked again making biscotti.) I returned to the 9 x 13 pan and let cool about 1 hour. I then poured the filling in little by little while schmearing / massaging it in with my hands. Twice, I poured the liquid that was in the bottom back into a measuring cup and repeated the massage / schmearing. Having done this, there was plenty of liquid in the cake and was the perfect texture to those I've had on my travels. DH and I had this the frst time on our honeymoon in Bonaire and I made this today to celebrate our anniversary.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SparkleKristy March 17, 2010

WOW! Its wonderful! Thank you for sharing it!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani September 13, 2001

Y-U-M! I made this for my boss' birthday and he said that he has had 20 different versions of homemade Tres Leches and this by far is the best! Thanks for the recipe and to those who suggested doubling the milk filling... it came out perfect!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelbebe77 February 28, 2010

Made this for a Cinco De Mayo party this weekend and it was a big hit for both adults and the kids. I had never even heard of it before until now. I took a lot of reviews into consideration and followed the recipe exactly as written. I made it the day before I needed it, to allow the filling to absorb into the cake. I didn't ice the cake until it was ready to eat. Everyone at the party felt the cake was moist enough. I did use the Duncan Heinz "moist" white cake mix, so perhaps that made the difference. I poked holes in the cake using the end of a wooden spoon and then slowly poured the filling over the cake filling each hole. Served it with strawberries (unsweetened) on the side. I already have requests to make this cake for next year. Try it! You won't be disappointed. Thank you for posting this recipe!!!!! It was a huge success with zero leftovers!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippiesoulmates May 04, 2009

Awesome recipe, my Hispanic husband loves it! My suggestion -- use a chocolate cake mix, it's like eating an Oreo dipped in milk. So amazing!!!!! It's the only way I'll make it, and everyone requests it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachruiz1 September 22, 2011

I prefer my recipe much more...but this one was still good the only difference is I put 1/4 cup spiced rum in the milk mix and 2 tablespoons of rum in the frosting ... It gives it so much more flavor...and I use a fork to poke holes all over the cake about an inch apart and pour the milk mixture on top..it should sit in the fridge for at least 2 hours before serving

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sammy_gunn January 05, 2010

I was confused on this, was I suppose to buy a white cake mix and add the next 7 ingredients to the cake mix

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christyblackburn October 11, 2008

Oh my what a rich and sinful dessert. All of which I love. This is so moist and well.....yummy. My family and I devoured this. (probably shouldn't have) but it was so good we all went nuts over it. I will most definitely make this again. Its so good. thank you for sharing with us. Its delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 28, 2014

A truly delicious cake! The only thing I would change is to increase the amount of whipped cream, because the cake only ended up with an extremely thin layer. Otherwise, perfectly moist and so very tasty with sliced fresh strawberries. Easy to make too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer February 17, 2014
Tres Leches Cake