Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tres Leches Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tres Leches Cake

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2010

      DELICIOUS! I used all ingredients and methodolgies as described in recipe. I used skewers to make holes all over the top right out of the oven. I then let it cool for 5 minutes and flipped it onto a cooling rack. I put more holes in the bottom. I then cut off all four sides. (I topped them with cinnamon and baked again making biscotti.) I returned to the 9 x 13 pan and let cool about 1 hour. I then poured the filling in little by little while schmearing / massaging it in with my hands. Twice, I poured the liquid that was in the bottom back into a measuring cup and repeated the massage / schmearing. Having done this, there was plenty of liquid in the cake and was the perfect texture to those I've had on my travels. DH and I had this the frst time on our honeymoon in Bonaire and I made this today to celebrate our anniversary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2001

      WOW! Its wonderful! Thank you for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Y-U-M! I made this for my boss' birthday and he said that he has had 20 different versions of homemade Tres Leches and this by far is the best! Thanks for the recipe and to those who suggested doubling the milk filling... it came out perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Made this for a Cinco De Mayo party this weekend and it was a big hit for both adults and the kids. I had never even heard of it before until now. I took a lot of reviews into consideration and followed the recipe exactly as written. I made it the day before I needed it, to allow the filling to absorb into the cake. I didn't ice the cake until it was ready to eat. Everyone at the party felt the cake was moist enough. I did use the Duncan Heinz "moist" white cake mix, so perhaps that made the difference. I poked holes in the cake using the end of a wooden spoon and then slowly poured the filling over the cake filling each hole. Served it with strawberries (unsweetened) on the side. I already have requests to make this cake for next year. Try it! You won't be disappointed. Thank you for posting this recipe!!!!! It was a huge success with zero leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      Awesome recipe, my Hispanic husband loves it! My suggestion -- use a chocolate cake mix, it's like eating an Oreo dipped in milk. So amazing!!!!! It's the only way I'll make it, and everyone requests it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      I prefer my recipe much more...but this one was still good the only difference is I put 1/4 cup spiced rum in the milk mix and 2 tablespoons of rum in the frosting ... It gives it so much more flavor...and I use a fork to poke holes all over the cake about an inch apart and pour the milk mixture on top..it should sit in the fridge for at least 2 hours before serving

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      I was confused on this, was I suppose to buy a white cake mix and add the next 7 ingredients to the cake mix

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      A truly delicious cake! The only thing I would change is to increase the amount of whipped cream, because the cake only ended up with an extremely thin layer. Otherwise, perfectly moist and so very tasty with sliced fresh strawberries. Easy to make too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

    • on June 17, 2013

      Wow this was fantastic! Raves all around from everyone who attended my roommates bday. If it weren't for the calories I'd be making this constantly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      Delicious! I agree with the previous reviewer who wanted it to be a bit wetter, so I will probably increase the milks next time, myself. BUT everyone loved it prepared just as written.

      Thanks for a keeper!

      Updating my review - just made this again, and I did double the milks, and it worked just fine. I let the cake cool for 15 minutes or so, and then poked holes all over with a chopstick. I poured the milk slowly, and it absorbed it all just fine. I also put dulce de leche on top as another reviewer mentioned. Yum. Thanks again for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      I made this cake twice last week--once for neighbors, and once for my parents. We drained pineapple rings, mandarin oranges, and cherries to decorate, and the result was very appealing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      I did this recipe exactly as written. It was very good although it definitely could have used more of the milk filling. Some parts of the cake were not saturated nearly enough.Next time I will definitely do at least 1.5x the filling. Still, it was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      I have made this cake several times. It is the best and easiest Tres Leches cake I have found. This is as good or better than the piece I pay $6 for at the store. I tried many recipes before this one but have not looked at any others since finding this one

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      What a delicious cake! Just LIke I remembered it tasting from when I was a child! Very simple to make! Everyone at my 4th of July Party loved it. Next time, I will add just a teensy bit more filling. Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2012

      Enjoyed this cake..even better the next day. The bad thing is you want to keep eating this and the scale continues to climb when this is around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2011

      Wonderful. I doubled the filling and used 3/4 of it. I then served it with optional additional filling. Absolutely fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

    • on March 27, 2011

      This recipe is amazing. This is the first recipe I have actually felt obliged to write a review for. Everyone was so impressed with this cake. I did double the milk mixture and also took another reviewer's idea and added 1/4 cup spiced rum to the milk mixture (I eliminated an equal amount of the evaporated milk) and I also added a tiny dash of rum extract to the frosting, although I think I'll leave that out next time and just use the rum in the milk mixture for a little extra flavor. This recipe makes a huge cake, it definitely won't fit into an 8x11 pan. I took my time pouring on the milk mixture and rubbing it into the top of the cake, and I drained out the liquid from the bottom a few times and poured it back over to make sure it really got worked in. Came out perfectly moist and soooo yummy. I probably could have left out maybe half a cup of the milk mixture as the cake would have been slightly less messy to serve if it was a bit less moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tres Leches Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 749.2
     
    Calories from Fat 354
    47%
    Total Fat 39.3 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 154.1 mg
    51%
    Sodium 442.0 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.3 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 61.3 g
    245%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites