109 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe! My attempts at Red Beans and Rice before making this recipe were quite disappointing. Wow is all I can say! The smell of this cooking is amazing, and the taste is not at all disappointing. You can use red beans or kidney beans, and you can adjust the seasonings to make it as spicy as you prefer. Definitely a staple in my repertoire!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allysonenglert December 28, 2012

I'm not going to rate this. I have to say, I thought this meal was extremely bland. I used a good, spicy andouille sausage, added *2* ham hocks and followed the recipe to a" t" but it just didn't do it for me. I have never had red beans and rice, and won't make again. I don't think it's this specific recipe - I think it's just a bland dish using any recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clevergirl3 October 03, 2012

In a word "awesome!" Everyone loved it! Madde it just like its written except I went a little light on the cayenne(for the smaller ones) Plan on making this a lot more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed in Georgia July 16, 2012

Wonderful!! Best red beans I've ever made...the kids and my husband all liked it, which is quite a feat. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Climbnyak March 18, 2012

Definately 5 stars!! I prepared this recipe as directed and served the beans with brown rice. I froze individual containers then heated them up in the microwave. This recipe is a keeper, and I will be making this again when I have a taste for red beans and rice!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobettern March 07, 2012

I made this on 1/5/12 for mine and my SO's dinner. Since there was just the two of us and due to shortage of time, a few changes were made to the recipe. I saute'ed half the amounts of onions and celery in a bit of margarine until softened. Then 8 ounces of sausage was added and lightly browned. For the beans, 2 15 ounce cans of red kidneys beans ( one was drained) were used. And as for the green peppers, 1/8 cup of freeze dried was added in along with the beans. I wasn't sure were the bay leaf was supposed to be added,so it was added along with the beans and freeze dried peppers. After letting simmer for a few minutes,then half of all the seasonings were added and simmered for another 25 to 30 minutes.I served this over rice, with cabbage as a side.I do think that if I make this again and only make half is made, the full amount of seasoning will be added.Thanks for posting a pretty good recipe and, " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � January 06, 2012

I have never made red beans and rice from scratch but it was sooo good! The flavor was awesome. The only thing I did differently was threw in a smoked turkey neckbone in when I added the veggies. I had to add a few cups of water about half way through cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jameswife24 November 12, 2011

I doubled the beans and sausage and added 4 cups of chicken broth. Upped the veggies (onions, celery and peppers). I probably comitted a capital sin - but I cooked it in the crock pot. It was GREAT. Served over rice. Made a ton - fed my crew and had a whole meal to put in the freezer for later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyB October 16, 2011

My family loves this dish. It is a winter time favorite. I always add shrimp to it during the last 10-15 minutes of cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
am.carr1 October 09, 2011

This was my first attempt at both eating and cooking red beans and rice. Hubby and I thought it was ABSOLUTELY TERRIFIC! I wouldn't change a thing and plan to make it again and again. But we did have one teeny tiny problem...gas! Is there a way to prepare this dish that lessens the after effects? haha

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adria82 May 24, 2011
Treebeard's Red Beans (And Rice)