Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Tamales (Pork) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Tamales (Pork)

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-89 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2005

      These are delicious! Thanks for making my first time making tamales a success. (You know, it's all in picking the right recipe...) Very authentic; and the instructions are very accurate yet simple. This is one you'll definitely want to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      I love to make tamales! I cook the pork the night before...via crockpot! I also add a small ripe olive in the middle of each tamale..someone told me once...they are for 'good luck'...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      Thanks for the great recipe haven't made tamales in years making some for christmas, this was the way we made them last time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2004

      Just what I was looking for. I rounded up the in-laws to help. We tripled the recipe. Thank God for the Food processor. One suggestion if pressed for time, prepare the meat the night before. Thanks Karen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2004

      Excellent recipe! I used a 4+ pound pork shoulder, and had quite a bit of meat/sauce left over from the tamales. I put that in a baggie in the freezer to save for future tamale, burritos, or enchiladas. I also made mine with lard for a more authentic flavor. I served this with your sauce, which was wonderful. I also have extra tamales, which I left in the wrapped husks, then wrapped individually in plastic and froze in a freezer bag. Ths makes a ton of food (and I enjoy having extra to freeze). I also didn't find them much trouble to mae. Most of it was waiting for the meat to cook, so starting that early in the day is best. I mixed the masa in the kitchen-aid and it was quick work, no more bother really than making cookies. I steamed about half in a dutch oven and used a large rice steamer for the remaining ones, which took just a bit longer to steam using that, but they turned out fine. We all really enjoyed this! Perfect tamales! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2004

      Labor intensive,but so worth the effort.These taste just like my ex's grandmother used to make.They were the only thing I missed after the divorce!Thanks Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2004

      This was my first attempt at making tamales, and they turned out great! They were absolutely delicious. I found I had to steam mine for about an hour. Also in step 10 it says to use 2 T. of salt, I think 2 tsp. is what is meant, so that is what I used. I will definately be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2004

      These were FABULOUS! They are quite a bit of work, but as you say, so worth it! I made the pork one day and refrigerated the broth so I could remove the excess fat. The next day I finished the recipe. Our family really enjoyed these tamales. Thank you Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2004

      Oh my!! These were absolutely wonderful. The sauce (#15301) was incredibly easy to make, and the tamales, once I got the hang of it were easy. This definitely takes some time, but is oh so very worth it. Much better than what I even get at the local mexican restaurant here..Thanks for the awesome recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Tamales (Pork)

    Serving Size: 1 (4993 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.2
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    54%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 22.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 196.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red chili sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes