Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Tamales (Pork) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Tamales (Pork)

    Average Rating:

    87 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 87

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2011

      I can now take making tamales off my bucket list. Your recipe is fantastic! The instructions were so easy to follow. I made the pork in the crockpot the day before and also made your red chili sauce. I let mine steam for about 90 minutes. I think next time I'll double the salt in the masa mixture. Can't wait to make these again. Thanks so much for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      I just used this recipe for the dough mixture and used chicken stock insted, turned out great thanks for the fantastic recipe.Just an update made the whole recipe and the chili sauce recipe as well.....FANTASTIC. I used the extra steeping liquid from the dried chiles th replace some of the water for the pork,didn't want to bin any flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      This is the best tamale recipe I have found and I have gone through many. The recipe its self was easy to follow and the tamales came out yummy. The only thing I did different was I used my stand up mixer to mix the masa. I truly enjoyed making these tamales. This will be my only tamale recipe I will use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      This is a great traditional pork tamale recipe and very similar to my own. I have been making tamales for my father every Father's Day for the last 15 years and there was A Lot of trial and error for the first 5 years. I was trying to recreate my Grandmother's (she was Mexican) recipe without a recipe. This one is almost the same as mine, except I use lard or a mixture of shortening and bacon drippings for the masa. I know, I know- but this is a once a year thing and it makes them tastier and more authentic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      Very Good! I've done tamales a couple other times and I loved the masa mix steps (way easier and faster) and I thought more flavorful. I did use the sauce #15301. Used both pork and chicken as meat fillings. The yield was about 6lbs pork for 3 doz 1 chicken for 2doz using 6lbs of masa harina. Since we had another 3-4 lbs of masa to use, we also cooked up 7 full chicken breasts and yielded another 32 tamales. fyi, the breast do taste good, but they were the driest of the 3 variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      I made these last year and I'm making them again this year... they've become our new Christmas tradition. These are excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      Very good. We cooked the pork in a crock pot and cheated a little using an "El Relajo" spice mix for the slow cooker, which included sesame seeds. The red chili sauce we were dubious about by itself, but once mixed together as intended it really filled out the flavor. We also reserved a little of the broth and chili sauce, added some garlic and chipotle, then zizzed up to make a spicy sauce to drizzle on top. Oh, and we used banana leaves b/c we had them around. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      These are perfect! I grew up in Greeley where mouthwatering, homemade tamales can be obtained from many family vendors in the parking lot. I have made about 10 dozen tamales in my search to make a comparable tamale and master the art. The red sauce was really the missing link, you just can't argue with these tamales, they're exactly right. Many thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      This is a great recipe, I used chicken instead of pork( My family never really liked anything made with pork) They also dont like green chicken tamales, so this sauce came in handy, and the were a hit...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Thank you for the good clear instructions. I used my own meat filling, but followed all the other instructions and the kids absolutely loved them. So much better than anything I can find locally.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Great tamales! Made them for my whole family and everyone loved them (even the non-Mexican food lovers!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Thank you for this recipe. My husband in from Mexico and everytime he wanted tamles we would have to drive miles to his sisters home because I didn't know how to make them. Well now he claims mine are even better than hers...... Terrific recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      Karen, thank you for such an awesome recipe(s)!! I have always wanted to learn how to make tamales, and, while time-consuming (you expect that with tamales), it is so worth it!! I've made these twice now, and will be making them again with my dad this Christmas. Thank you again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

    • on July 19, 2009

      I made these this past Christmas and they were absolutely delicious!! For the sauce i used chili guajillo (think i spelled it right) instead. Added a great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      GREAT recipe! I spent too much time trying to get the tamales to look good (it was the first time I've made tamales). After one taste, I didn't even care how they looked. The pictures were helpful too -- thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      This recipe came out WONDERFUL! We cooked the pork overnight in a crock pot and it cut the time in half. I heard all these horror stories of making tamales and how it takes hours and sometimes days to make. This recipe was very easy and very accurate! We followed the recipe to the exact amounts and it only made about 36 tamales. We will make them again at Christmas but we will make much, much more! Following the tamale class listed in the recipe description we very helpful! Thank you for a wonderful recipe! The tamales are DELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      HOLY TAMALES!!! Karen these tamales were by far the best me or my family (all tamale lovers) have ever had. Truely delicious and others have said well worth the work and wait. We all had a hand in the prep. Thanks again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      WARNING!! DO NOT ALTER THIS RECIPE!!! This was authentic and very delicous! I was used to eating good latin food in Miami, Fl. Now, that I have moved, I miss it so much. ALl I can do, is try to duplicate the recipes. And I aced the tamales thanks to your recipe. I used your red chili sauce as well, and did not change a thing. Thank god, we made almost 5 dozen of them, they are frozen in the freezer and will be enjoyed for a long time. TIP: Enjoy a nice cold margarita while making these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      These were great. Make sure you devote your whole day to making them! I made the meat overnight in the crockpot to save time. The only problem I had was that I used WAY to much dough in the tamales.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Tamales (Pork)

    Serving Size: 1 (4993 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.2
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    54%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 22.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 196.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red chili sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites