Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Tamales (Pork) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Tamales (Pork)

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2009

      Very time consuming be warned. I baked a roast yesterday and planned on using the leftovers for tamales today. From start to finish ( I shredded the meat yesterday) I was in for about 4 hours plus cooking time. I steamed mine for about 2 hours. First time making tamales and they turned out great. I got almost 40. Used with the red sauce listed in the description of this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      The pork filling is delicious, but I have a few tips to help make it better. First off, there must be a typo because you should be steaming the tamales for more than 40 minutes--it should be about 2 hours at least. If you try to remove the tamales before that, the masa dough will still be raw. Also, you do not have to go through the trouble of making your own dough, many stores already have it prepared so that you can save yourself time (and it tastes just as great). When spreading the dough on the corn husk, you should not spread it everywhere on the husk but rather spread it all the way to one edge and leave about 1/3 empty so that you can fold it easily. I would also suggest to make more mole sauce to add to the pork so that the tamales are more juicier (which my family likes). And lastly, if you have a crock pot, cook the meat overnight so that it lessens the workload for when you make tamales. Other than that, this is a pretty good recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I'm going to say it.... are you ready? THIS IS THE BEST RECIPE ON ZAAR!!!!! I am so darn happy to have made tamales and the fact that they are melt in your mouth delicious is a total bonus. The Hutchinson family now has a new tradition--homemade tamales just like we get in Costa Rica for Christmas! I used every drop of masa and meat and made 38 tamales. THANK YOU!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Yum! I made a pork batch and a beef batch. We think the masa needed a little bit more salt, though. Overall, it was great and we'd definitely make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I have always liked traditional mexican tamales until I tried tamales from El Salvador. The biggest difference if that they wrap their tamales in banana leaves, and they cook the masa first before assembling the tamales. First you mix the broth and the masa (no shortening) then you add 4 tablespoons margarine, 1/3 cup corn oil and cook it over high heat stirring constantly and vigerously until the masa fluffs up and no longer has a gritty texture. They are the most delicious and moist tamales I have ever had. If interested message me and I will email my sister in law's recipe for salvadorean tamales as it is too long to post on here, maybe one day I will post. This is a great recipe however if you like traditional mexican tamales!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      Fantastic! My daughter and I thought the meat and the masa both needed a little extra salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      These came out wonderful! I enjoyed the class in the forums too! I followed Muffin Goddess' advise and used ice-cream scoops to measure out the masa. Everyone loved these

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      Wow, I can't believe that I forgot to review this before now! Anyway, I have made these two times, once entirely by hand (oof!), once with my new Xmas toy (Kitchenaid Artisan stand mixer, yay!). Although they came out pretty good by hand, I definitely recommend using an appliance for best results with the masa, both for ease of preparation and texture of the masa. The tamales that I made using the mixer were 10 times better than the hand ones, per DH. I added one large black olive to each tamale when wrapping (supposed to be a good luck thing?), and I also forgot to measure out 4 cups of the red chile sauce and dumped the whole batch into the pork, which I find that I actually prefer. Another thing that made them better the second time around was that I referred to Alice Guadalupe Tapp's "Tamales 101" for technique pointers (this is a great little cookbook for tamale lovers, and it offers a lot of technique along with a bunch of recipes for all kinds of tamales). Of course, I didn't need the recipe for red chile pork tamales because I already had this one, I just needed a few diagrams and pointers for assembly and such. Oh, and I used two different sized cookie scoops to portion out the masa and filling for each tamale, which quickened things up quite a bit, I think. As further testimony to how good these are, only 1.5 dozen of the 5.5 dozen tamales I made actually made it into the freezer (and I think that DH ate all but 8 of the ones that didn't make it to the freezer, not in one sitting though! LOL). I will definitely make these again (maybe just for holidays though, because of labor-intensiveness). Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      I don't know why people say it takes days to make tamales...but it does take awhile spreading the masa in the corn husks. I loved this recipe and I will never buy tamales again. However I did use a different sauce recipe (straight from a Mexican friend)...You take 3 or 4 dried ancho peppers, boil them back to life, then take out the seeds and stem, throw them in the blender, add salt, pepper and dried oregano. Add water to the mix until you get the desired thickness. It was way easier than I thought!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      This was my third year trying Tamales, which I am making a Christmas tradition. My first two attempts they came out a little bland. Then I came across your recipe. These were excellent. I doubled the recipe and made almost 100 small tamales. I gave some away and we gobbled up the rest in no time. None of my family ever grew tired of them. I have found my keeper. Thanks for all the help!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      Wow! These were amazing. I had them in my cookbook forever but just finally got the time to do this. SO GOOD, and they beat anything I've had in a restaurant. If you have the time, you HAVE to make these. Thanks so much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2014

      Wonderfully written, simple, and concise instructions. I have only a couple critical points for, what is otherwise, a nearly perfect rendition of the recipe my Mexican aunt taught me years ago. First, shortning? Seriously? Do yourself a favor and go for the gusto: Lard! 100% Lard! The second criticism, in the linked recipe for Red Chili Sauce, the use of cumin is instructed. While cumin is a wonderful thing and very necessary in many Mexican, Indian, and other ethnic dishes, it is NOT FOR TAMALES. If not for the addition of cumin and omission of lard, this would nearly be a five star recipe--Aunt Dorothy's recipe being the standard, of course. *** Tamale Tips: If your tamales come out doughy, try increasing the fat content, remember to also always allow the tamale a few minutes to rest/set after steaming before removing from husks, and, never cheat on the steam time. Also, though steaming prior to freezing is not unacceptable, I find the overall integrity of the tamale is better maintained by freezing them uncooked, then steaming immediately prior to being served. Nuking does something to the flavor and texture that detracts from the culinary perfection of having been freshly steam-cooked. Just posting these tidbits as a lifelong fan of my favorite--and the worlds best--food, the tamale.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2014

      I have tried other recipes,but this is the bomb..As others have stated, alot of work,but so worth it...I doubled the sauce recipe so I could freeze half for next time, I make these.I used ancho and guajillo peppers. Nice smoky flavor..I dont have the corn hush rolling down yet,mine looked like torpedos,but they sure tasted great..Cant thank you enough for this recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2014

      I made these tamales today with beef instead of pork and they were wonderful. I did make a few small changes to the dough too. I used 1 cup rendered fat from some salt pork and left over beef fat instead of store bought lard and chopped up the pork cracklins from the salt pork and added them to the fat during the whipping stage, it adds a nice salty depth to the masa that can be bland if not adequately seasoned. It took a full quart of stock, homemade beef stock, to hydrate my masa flour properly. I did not end up with 50 tamales but at least a few dozen. I've made tamales several times and like to use this recipe for guidelines on the masa dough and time frames. I don't have a tall enough pot to fit all the tamales in, standing up, so I put a vegetable steamer basket inside my enamel dutch oven, line it with wet corn husk scraps, fill with tamales and gather them towards the center of the pot, I tuck more scraps around the sides of the pot to hold the tamales upright, then top with a final layer of husk scraps and cover with an upturned metal mixing bowl that fits snug to the top of the dutch oven. This works really well for me in about 45-60 minutes. If you have an afternoon to spare, I highly recommend this recipe. It's really flexible and easy to change to suit your needs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2014

      Delicious! First time making them, and they came out exactly as I had hoped for. Instead of shortening or lard, as well as pork, I used our organic beef, saved the fat(rendered it), then used it in place of the fats. The tamales came out noticeably creamier, and a mild flavor that blended well with the savory filling. The "class" also helped tremendously.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2013

      Followed this recipe as close as I could. I've never made them before but DH really wanted to try it. I wouldn't say it's hard, but very time consuming but oh so worth it. My biggest problem was wrapping them, just could not figure out the way to do it so they are pretty small but I kind of like it that way. We served with homemade enchilada sauce for topping and they are great. I was very pleased with the results and now DH thinks we need to keep some in the freezer all the time for those quick dinners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      Misplaced our family recipe and so search for an authentic one on the web. This was not to far off from how we make them. I few differences that create more work and the taste our family enjoys but this recipe worked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      This is a considerable effort, but one worth the while. Make the sauce, masa, and pork a day or two ahead, as the assembly is very time consuming. These were a huge, huge hit at my Christmas eve party and the recipe is now my go-to tamale formula.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      These were delicious, I don't usually like tamales, but OMG! My husband requested I make authentic tamales so I followed this recipe, only omitting the red sauce (I used spicy green salsa) they were perfect! I will definitely be using this recipe from here on out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      This is such a wonderful recipe. It takes a long time to make, but I usually make 3-4 times the amount and freeze a lot too. It can also be a good thing to make with kids who want to help cook--we made an assembly line of children helping make the tamales. The kids enjoyed making and eating these. This is definitely a family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Tamales (Pork)

    Serving Size: 1 (4993 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.2
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    54%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 22.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 196.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red chili sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes