Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Tamales (Pork) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Tamales (Pork)

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2002

      These are so good and well while the time they take to prepare. If you steam on top of your stove use medium heat & watch closely. Next time I'm going to make an extra cup of the Red Chili Sauce to top each tamale with a tsp or so before serving. These were so good and Karen, thanks for all the help!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2002

      Delicious! These are a lot of work, but the end result is sooooo good! I froze them individually in foil, and then packaged them in freezer bags so that I can take them out as needed and microwave them. I did not change the recipe at all, as this is the first time I've made tamales. Thanks for a great recipe, Karen! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2002

      My daughter and her boyfriend came to our house last sunday. We spent the afternoon making tamales (150). We had a great time. The tamales were excellent! Best I have ever had. We made half of them with chicken and the other half pork.I used Thai peppers grown by a freind of mine (quite spicy) they were excellent. I didnt understand the direction of using 15 large peppers. How big is a large pepper? So I used 30 Thais per batch. Thank you for a great recipe and a lovely afternoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      I have been looking for a tamale recipe just like my grandpa used to make. This is IT! Thanks so much for posting it.I can't wait to try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2003

      This is Excellent! I've made beef tamales before but never pork. I really thought these are wonderful! Thank You So Much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2003

      I made these tamales along with chicken and beef before Christmas and these were our favorite. Thanks Karen, good basic recipe I will use again and again. As others have said, a lot work but what tamales aren't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      Wow! This one is WORTH the work! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      Karen, have your ears been buring today?! I got so many compliments on these and I kept telling everyone about this lady in CO named Karen whose recipe they were enjoying. Great tamales. I didn't get quite 50 out of the masa harina mixture, but I do have the filling left over so I will make more. Also, my bag of husks said to soak for a minimum of 2 hours, so I soaked mine longer than the recipe suggested. I used my pasta insert in my stock pot for a steamer and it worked great! I will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      I have been making tamales for years with my Tamale machine(tio carlos tamale king of Ft. Worth). A little hint to make steaming your tamales a breeze: Stack 6 tamales on a square sheet of aluminum foil(3-2-1)laying all 6 in the same direction. Roll up both sides of foil and fold down to the tamales and then fold ends. Remember to fold one end a different direction(either out or in) than the other to mark which end has the open top of the tamales. Lay in steamer with tops up in the foil and fill steamer. This technique keeps the tamales intact and dry during steaming, plus they are ready for the fridge or freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      Do not steam for 40 minutes maza will be raw. Steam for 1.5 hours. Use lard rather than shortening and do not add so much water to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2014

      This is not a "traditional" or authentic mexican tamale recipe since you used shortening instead of lard. Shortening causes tamales to be very dry instead of moist and flavorful as those made with lard would be. Anyone who has had very good authentic tamales knows the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      I've made this recipe twice and both times the tamales have turned out AMAZING! The first time, I followed the directions exactly and used the recommended tamale sauce, and it was really good. I ended up freezing a bunch of tamales and steamed them again to make a quick dinner. I used canned enchilada sauce each time I did this.

      The second time, I didn't want to take the time to make the tamale sauce, so I used 2 10oz cans of mild enchilada sauce and 1 10z can of hot enchilada sauce. Turned out very good!

      I love these tamales and the recipe is pretty easy, especially the second time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      These were very good. I made the meat in a slow cooker the day before and finished them the next afternoon. It was a bit of work to wrap so many, but it is worth the effort. My family says I have to make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      I think the talames turned out great! Not quite sure about the cook time only being 40 minutes. Mine took a little over 2 hours to fully steam and set up. But they were still really good. Will be making them a lot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      Just made this recipe yesterday. It is great, authenic, delicious.
      I have been looking for a good recipe for years but now that search is over. I made it exactly like the recipe here. I may play with it someday but for now it is by far the best I have ever had. I have eaten many tamales and these are number 1 in my book. Oh I used the sauce recommended too. I made it just like the recipe called for and it was wonderful. Actually it makes the whole recipe without that sauce you don't have much so use that too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      I had never made tamales before. These were absolutely fabulous...well worth the time and effort! Thanks for sharing what will now be a staple in our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      My husband and I decided that we would make tamales for something different to do on date night...wow! We actually impressed ourselves with these!! I thought we would share all of the extras since the batch was so big, but they are too good not to eat ourselves!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Fabulous. Tastes just like the ones I get (when I'm lucky) from a neighbor family from Mexico. I'm not a master by any means, but all my work was worth it. Thanks, Karen.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      My husband and I bought some really bland tamales. So I decided we should give tamale making a try. We will NEVER buy tamales again. These are so delicious! His mom has been in the tamale business for 20 years and these he says are way better. Thank you so much for sharing! I recommend making the meat and chili sauce one day and masa and rolling tamales the next.UMMMM! UMMMMM! GOOD!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      This was our first try at tamales and they were fantastic. There was some trial and error: they take 60 mins not 40 to steam. Set your timer and add water to the steaming pot or suffer the dry pot. We ended up making more corn mix to finish off our pork. But so so so delish. The time is in the steaming. Plan ahead. We served them with slow-cooked pintos (cook the pintos in the leftover broth), and homemade New Mexican stew. Ridonk. Yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Tamales (Pork)

    Serving Size: 1 (4993 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.2
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    54%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 22.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 196.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red chili sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes