15 Reviews

So good! Everyone loves it, I will be making again soon :) Followed recipe very closely, just added some heavy cream to make up using non-fat milk and just a sprinkle of the cinnamon. When served warm with powdered sugar, it was incredible! I sprayed the pan heavily and it still stuck on the bottom, really the only problem I had. Was ready in exactly 50 minutes as stated. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flitterflychef13 December 03, 2010

Delish! I left out the cinnamon. It did stick to the pan. Next time (AND THERE WILL BE A NEXT TIME!), I will flour the pan as well as spraying it. Someone brought this to a conference I attended. I did not have her recipe, but just searched for "almond cake" and was delighted to find this recipe. It tastes just like the one I sampled. PERFECT! EDIT: I have made this about 10 times now and it gets rave reviews from all who try it. THANK YOU!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri7579 December 01, 2009

I LOVE this. Almond is my favorite flavoring! I leave out the cinnamon and bake in a loaf pan. When cool, slice about an inch thick, top with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream, drizzle with chocolate syrup, and add a cherry. DELICIOUS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Mutha July 31, 2009

This was Great! I added poppyseeds (about one teaspoon) and cut back on the butter. I used only 6 tablespoons of butter and threw in a dash of applesauce to compensate. Tasted amazing with strawberries and vanilla bean ice cream. MMmmm...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghanmoo June 19, 2009

Love this cake! The first time, I followed the recipe but left out the cinnamon and it was sooo good. Second time I made it, I left out the cinnamon, added a splash of Amaretto to increase the almond flavor, beat the egg white separately and folded it in to lighten the cake, and sprinkled the top with sliced almonds halfway through baking for eye appeal. Sprinkled with a light dusting of powdered sugar before serving. Looked beautiful and was absolutely divine. Definitely make this cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kwikiwi November 09, 2013

This is a wonderful easy recipe with great flavor. I served this cake with fresh strawberries and whip cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberly_johnson August 26, 2013

YUMMY!!!!! great gift for the holidays and delicious when you just need a sweet fix!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nonlg81 February 02, 2011

Very tasty cake, I cut it into cubes for a tea party. It didn't need any powdered sugar or frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoreWithLessMom July 14, 2010

This cake was very tasty with a light almond taste. I followed the directions as posted, except added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract and 3 cardamom pods (crushed in a mortar and pestle) in place of the cinnamon. When baking, I used a Bundt pan, and it stuck a little. Next time, I plan to grease and flour the pan so it will come out easier. This cake is good for those who want a simple cake for tea time or anytime. Thank you Um Safia for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Peacock December 21, 2008

*Reviewed for the Kids Cooking Forum Recipe Tag Game* Easy to make and tasted great. I used a gluten-free flour blend and added a teaspoon of xanthan gum for a gluten-free cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** August 25, 2008
Traditional Swedish Almond Cake Slices