12 Reviews

After unsuccessfully trying to find fresh New Mexico green chiles, I had to opt for canned. Let me just say, I can't image what this would have tasted like with fresh chiles because even with canned it was DELICIOUS!! I used a 10 ounce can of green chiles and that equated almost perfectly to the cup that's called for. When I got to the "thickening part" I simmered it for about 10 minutes and it thickened into the most perfect texture, just the right consistency you want a green chile sauce to be. Served it on burritos (the way I make burritos fun and a bit special: lightly oil a baking dish, roll up tortillas filled with beans and place seam side down, cover with foil and bake 30 minutes at 350 F - makes the ordinary extraordinary!) with Cilantro Lime Rice on the side. Amazing. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindcook September 12, 2013

This has become a favorite this summer with us. Very versatile...with eggs for breakfast, burritos for supper and even over fries. Burritos: Brown and season 1 lb hamburger, drain. Spread 8 flour tortillas with canned refried beans, spread some of the green chile, hamburger, diced onion and cheddar/jack cheese. Roll and place in a 13x9 baking pan. Top with the remainder of the green chile. Cover with foil and bake at 350 for 20-30 minutes till hot. Remove foil, add additional cheese and bake for a few more minutes till cheese is melted.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Deb September 22, 2014

It's hatch green chile food.com not New Mexico pepper. I can't trust your authenticity on any recipe again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Green Chile Chica July 08, 2014

I went to college in Las Cruces, New Mexico and this sauce brought back memories of the local cuisine. It was spot on and much better than the can in my opinion. Used this sauce on some chicken enchiladas and it was awesome. Now, if I could only find a recipe for some of the great red salsas made in New Mexico....

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shakapup3000 .. August 15, 2016

I was lucky enough to find fresh Anaheim peppers. Roasting and peeling the peppers took me a while but it was well worth the effort. The sauce turned out to be super authentic. Loved it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen December 17, 2013

I doubled this recipe to make green chile cheese fries. I didn't add the spices until after I added the broth, and I also cut up 1 pork chop into tiny pieces and added to the pot for a little protein. Delicious! It was a little thinner than I would like, so next time I will cut back on the chicken broth a little bit, but other than that it was awesome. This will be my go to recipe from here on out. My search for the perfect green chile is over!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choco chip March 27, 2012

Delicious, smooth sauce. Better than the canned version I usually buy. I used it for chicken enchiladas. Easy to make.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheena #4 February 01, 2010

Green Chile Recipe: is an authentic New Mexico green chile recipe and it is a 5 star recipe. Where does "Green Chile Chica" thinks the name H (yes, upper case h), Hatch, New Mexico is? I am from New Mexico and this recipe is authentic and delicious and Hatch Chile Festival is celebrated every year. Hatch, New Mexico is a lovely town. pbratcher

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pbratcher September 02, 2016

So tasty!! I suck at chopping and like a smooth consistency so I blend it after it cools a bit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yougotme248 September 12, 2015

I forgot to add a rating!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paizleysun June 29, 2014
Traditional-Style New Mexico Green Chile Sauce