Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / traditional spaghetti bolognese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    traditional spaghetti bolognese

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 16, 2012

      I first had spaghetti bolognese in Brussels at a tiny Italian cafe; I've been looking for the perfect recipe to make this ever since. Now I have found it! This is SO tasty! I went and saut?ed the vegetables in the bacon drippings. I pur?ed all the veggies in my food processor. Next time I will probably add some red pepper flakes (personal preference). LOVE this and THANK you for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      This is fantasitc! Great for lasagna too. I have tried other ground meats and like a mix of beef and pork the best.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      I have made this many time now. It is by far the best spaghetti bolognese i have had, Delicious! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      My husband is the pasta cook out of the two of us, I just don't touch italian recipes but he was working late and wanted spag bol so I reluctantly agreed to make it. Came on recipezaar to get the highest rating recipe and here it was - I cooked it without celery (didn't have it), and didn't have mushrooms so used a mushroom stock cube. To fireball's credit I am now chef spag bol maker - my husband said it was the best he had tasted and he was no longer making it, so not sure whether to say thanks or not LOL but it was delicious - cooked it for hours, and it tasted amazing the next day too. Am about to make it now for New years eve, it's his favourite dish (have cooked it a couple of times). Hearty, flavoursome and well worth the effort. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      I've cooked this a few times now and it's the best spag bol recipe I've ever used. I tend to fry the mince on it's own before adding it to the veg. I also add extra tom puree and worcester sauce. I make huge batches, then bag it off and freeze it in portions. That way we just take it out of the freezer in the morning, and heat it up in the evening when we get back from work.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2006

      Great recipe. The family loved it. I left out the celery (personal preference) and I didn't have any mushrooms or red wine so I threw in a dash of Worcestershire sauce & some basil, also, because my kids are so fussy, I use onion flakes & minced garlic and grated the carrot. I added some Tomato Paste but I don't think it really needed it. Because of time restraints, I simmered the sauce for only 1/2 an hour. This is the kind of recipe that you can throw extras in to suit your taste. I dished this up with some grated cheese & sour cream on top. I'll keep this recipe for regular use. Thanks Fireball :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2014

      This is the best spaghetti bolognese recipe I have ever tried, followed it step by step, and have served to family, and friends, they just love it, and of course so do I...Anyone can make it, follow the steps, and your guests will think you are a Master Chef

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2013

      only deviation i made was to leave the mushrooms out of the recipe - but saute a batch of button mushrooms in butter,garlic and fresh basil, and serve along side. <br/>Also, got a bag of those small pointy orange peppers we are seeing on market stalls nowadays - <br/>sliced 3rd way round the top,[ as if you were going to slice the top of to make a lid, but just slice about 3rd of way round..] then root the seeds & white core out with a small paring knife, then push in a 1x1 1/2 inch peice of cheese (of ur choice), then roast a few for about 20-30mins, in oven,190c,. - then serve along side bolognase & mushrooms. pile of you fav salad..goes without saying!!!<br/><br/>thanks for this receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      After watching Julia Roberts gorge herself on awesome looking Italian morsels in "Eat, Pray, Love" I was on a mission to make something authentic. I did change a few things. I used 2 carrots, 1 celery stalk (both of which I ran through the food processor so I wouldn't have "chunks") I also ran my tomatoes through the food processor slightly - again - not a fan of "chunks." I left out the mushrooms. I used beef bouillon instead of stock. I used 1/2 cup marsala for the wine. I added 1 can of tomato sauce because it didn't seem to be tomato-y enough for me. I simmered for 2.5 hours - since I had added the tomato sauce, I didn't have to add any additional liquids and I cooked it uncovered - in a cast iron dutch oven. Not sure how I will ever be able to eat bolognese sauce anywhere else now. This is delizioso!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      I wasn't particularly fond of this recipe. I think when I increased the serving size the wine was too much. Perhaps it would have been fine just the way as presented.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Very very good, slooooow is best. I find one can add more tomato puree, but otherwise excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      This is a good spaghetti recipe. I did however add more tomato paste, it didnt seem quite tomatoey enough. Also I didn't have cream so I put 2Tbsp of milk in.. was still nice. Thanks for this one fireball :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

    • on November 15, 2008

    • on May 20, 2007

      I have many italian freinds and have enjoyed this dish numerous times over the years and I thought your recipe was very good. I cooked it exact to your recipe and we always add chilli flakes and freshly grated parmesan cheese to serve. It was yummy. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      This smelled fantastic as it cooked, but we felt the flavour was a bit thin. I reckon a bit more tomato puree or even some paste would have given it a bit more body. Also thought the directions regarding what to do with onions, carrots, garlic (how to chop etc) were a bit vague for a first time cook especially.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2004

      This recipe is truley delicious! The flavors mix so nicley and it literally mets in your mouth. Thank you for the recipe! I will be making this again as the cold months approach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for traditional spaghetti bolognese

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 534.3
     
    Calories from Fat 342
    64%
    Total Fat 38.0 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 120.8 mg
    40%
    Sodium 513.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes