Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Portuguese Piri Piri Sauce for Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Portuguese Piri Piri Sauce for Chicken

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2009

      Hi greetings from Portugal. Gave this a try as I like things pretty spicy, I just added 3 garlic cloves and grinded them with sea salt, then added too the rest of the ingredients. Its was perfect. You can come and B.Q. at my house anytime, just as long as you brings the sauce, and don't forget the garlic!!! LOL LOL! Thanks for posting this receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      Mmmm. Love this recipe. 10 out of 10!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      Spicy hot! I liked it, but it was pretty hot for me. My hubby LOVED it, and suggests using it on other things as well. We basted it on chicken breasts on the grill. What was left over I boiled, then froze for future use. It's a keeper. Made for ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      What a great SPICY sauce to brush onto chicken. We really enjoyed this. Made for ZWT7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      This recipe was nice and spicy and the flavors really came through on the chicken. We grilled a whole chicken, basting it in this marinade. It is hot, which we like, so if you like things less spicy, you may wish to adjust ingredient amounts. As rusticgirl suggested, we used red wine vinegar. Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Excellent. I grew up using piri piri (Portuguese family), so it's nice to have a homemade recipe that rocks. I add tons more garlic, and I use red wine vinegar. Different vinegars give slightly different flavours, so use whatever you've got in the pantry and experiment :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      This makes a very good sauce. I'd never had piri-piri sauce so i wasn't exactly sure what to expect. I used this for Roast Pork With Piri Piri and it worked wonderfully. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Really enjoyed this sauce. I was making a trio of chicken sauces for lunch today. DH grilled chicken breasts for two of the sauces & I put chicken breasts cut into strips into a 9x9 baking dish, brushed with this sauce & baked at 350 for about 20 minutes, turning & basting again halfway through. The chicken was so tender & the sauce just delicious! Not too spicy at all unless you dipped the bites into it on the side, which I did but not DH or DS. I also drizzled it over white rice & enjoyed it very much that way also. Super easy to make & I can't wait to try marinating meat in it. Thanks for posting, Dreamer! Made for ZWT5 - Ali Baba's Babes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      This was great! I actually used it for Roast Pork With Piri Piri and also plan to use it for grilling chicken since I have plenty left over. Made for the Epicurean Queens, ZWT5: Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      As Mia #3 suggested, I also added garlic. I marinated chicken wings in this sauce for a little while, then grilled them. Delicious! I will be enjoying this again! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Excellent Piri Piri sauce. Simple to make and it packs a flavor punch!! Nice and spicy. I used it in a chicken recipe with rice. I have enough left over to it for basting & grilling chicken next time. ~Made for ZWT 5~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      WOOHOO! Wonderfully hot and full of flavor. We thoroughly enjoyed this sauce last night and there is plenty left for another round! I think it would make a great marinade... Made for the Genies of Gourmet, ZWT 5! Yummy recipe Dorit! (-:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Better than store-bought Piri Piri! I added some smoked garlic cloves per Mia#3's review, we put garlic in just about everything. :) Made for ZWT5, Hell's Kitchen Angels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      This chicken turned out awesome! I'll admit that I was worried about it being too spicy, especially for DH so I cut the cayenne and chili flakes down to a teaspoon each. In the end, I realized I probably didn't even need to because it was delicious and not too spicy at all. In fact DH mentioned at least 3 times how good it was, which says a lot since he's so darn picky usually! I marinaded boneless, skinless chicken breasts in this sauce for a little more than 2 hours and then browned in a little olive oil for a few minutes on each side and then finished it off in the oven for another 20 minutes at 375 degrees. I'll be making this again for sure. Thanks for posting this great recipe! Made and reviewed for ZWT-5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Portuguese Piri Piri Sauce for Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 692.0
     
    Calories from Fat 635
    91%
    Total Fat 70.6 g
    108%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2468.4 mg
    102%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes