34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Ok so I saw this "recipe" and thought "you've got to be kidding!". Do people really need a recipe for a pb& j sandwich? Yes this is a classic and yes it is 5 stars, though I honestly can't credit gourmetmomma for this, no offense intended, I mean this pb&j combo has to have been around since Adam and Eve, right? With regard to the recipe, I do have a couple of things to say. My own family's preference is for strawberry spread instead of grape jelly. Also, with regard to on reviewer's tip to put the peanut butter on both sides of the bread to keep it from becoming soggy, in theory that sounds great except for the fact that the jelly tends to just slide out from between the peanut butter layers. I recommend just putting a thinner layer of jelly or spread directly on the bread. You'll still get the sweet, just not as much and the bread doesn't get soggy. With regard to school lunches, I also recommend making a month's worth of these sandwiches and freezing them in individual baggies for quick lunch prep. By the time lunch comes around, the sandwich is thawed and just right.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizhort September 12, 2009

I found this recipe adequate. I made a few changes. I went with an organic white whole wheat bread. I used Nutella instead of peanut butter and I substituted the pedestrian grape jelly with wild elderberry preserves. But even with the changes I made, it's still the same recipe. I served it with a Château Pétrus and some imported hard cheese. My children absolutely enjoyed the lunch before nap time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ROV Chef January 02, 2011

PBJ is a classic. My family loves them with the same amount peanut butter to jelly though. White or wheat, grape or strawberry, it is a go to quick lunch. I grew up with peanut butter on both sides with jelly in the middle but now do on one side only. Love it. Thanks for posting gourmetmomma! (It is ironic that gourmet momma posts this simple dish!) This joke recipe is no joke. Enjoy! ChefDLH

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH May 17, 2014

Simplicity at its best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp February 20, 2010

What can I say that hasnt already been said? I made them for myself growing up and I make them for my son now. Classic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 October 20, 2009

I can honestly say this recipe had an enormous impact on my children's lives. Seriously! They were never, ever 'required' to eat anything that was served at our dinner table. If they balked at trying a new dish, no big deal. It was understood that they could always opt for PB&J. There was just one tiny catch... they had to fix it themselves. As it turned out, my kids were too dadgummed lazy to be 'picky'. lol Now they're all grown up and willing to try things I wouldn't touch with a 10-foot pole. I give much credit for their gourmandish proclivities to the PB&J Rule. :) If your finicky eaters also happen to be extremely industrious, it might not work for you. Otherwise, I recommend you give it a try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton September 10, 2009

I just want to know how "internetnut" could give this 4 stars? If anyone grew up without it, must have lived on another planet. My only issue is...who knew of strawberry? I never even thought of anything other than Welch's Grape Jelly. Sometime in my teens, I found strawberry jam! Thank you gourmetmomma for reminding us of the most classic sandwich!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef FaceDoctor September 09, 2009

omg, hilarious. love the funny reviews, too. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FuzzyKiwi July 20, 2009

My oldest (now 24) lived on PB&grape jelly. When he was a teenager, he said we're out of grape can I eat PB&strawberry jam? I said I like it that way. Then he said MOM, all these years, you knew it was better with strawberry and you just fed me grape! LOL. fed his daughter PB&J (she asked for grape) just yesterday! the legend lives on,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrannyHen July 14, 2009

Can't go wrong with this. I just have one suggestion, take one bite out of each sandwich before placing on the child's plate. Just explain to them you were checking for poison and it is now safe to eat. I would sometimes take a bite out of the sandwiches I packed for school lunches and my kids would always come home and tell me it made them smile. Now I do it to my dgd and dgs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu July 13, 2009
Traditional Peanut Butter and Jelly