Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Peanut Butter and Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Peanut Butter and Jelly

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2009

      Ok so I saw this "recipe" and thought "you've got to be kidding!". Do people really need a recipe for a pb& j sandwich? Yes this is a classic and yes it is 5 stars, though I honestly can't credit gourmetmomma for this, no offense intended, I mean this pb&j combo has to have been around since Adam and Eve, right? With regard to the recipe, I do have a couple of things to say. My own family's preference is for strawberry spread instead of grape jelly. Also, with regard to on reviewer's tip to put the peanut butter on both sides of the bread to keep it from becoming soggy, in theory that sounds great except for the fact that the jelly tends to just slide out from between the peanut butter layers. I recommend just putting a thinner layer of jelly or spread directly on the bread. You'll still get the sweet, just not as much and the bread doesn't get soggy. With regard to school lunches, I also recommend making a month's worth of these sandwiches and freezing them in individual baggies for quick lunch prep. By the time lunch comes around, the sandwich is thawed and just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      I found this recipe adequate. I made a few changes. I went with an organic white whole wheat bread. I used Nutella instead of peanut butter and I substituted the pedestrian grape jelly with wild elderberry preserves. But even with the changes I made, it's still the same recipe. I served it with a Château Pétrus and some imported hard cheese. My children absolutely enjoyed the lunch before nap time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2014

      PBJ is a classic. My family loves them with the same amount peanut butter to jelly though. White or wheat, grape or strawberry, it is a go to quick lunch. I grew up with peanut butter on both sides with jelly in the middle but now do on one side only. Love it. Thanks for posting gourmetmomma! (It is ironic that gourmet momma posts this simple dish!) This joke recipe is no joke. Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Simplicity at its best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      What can I say that hasnt already been said? I made them for myself growing up and I make them for my son now. Classic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      I can honestly say this recipe had an enormous impact on my children's lives. Seriously! They were never, ever 'required' to eat anything that was served at our dinner table. If they balked at trying a new dish, no big deal. It was understood that they could always opt for PB&J. There was just one tiny catch... they had to fix it themselves. As it turned out, my kids were too dadgummed lazy to be 'picky'. lol Now they're all grown up and willing to try things I wouldn't touch with a 10-foot pole. I give much credit for their gourmandish proclivities to the PB&J Rule. :) If your finicky eaters also happen to be extremely industrious, it might not work for you. Otherwise, I recommend you give it a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      I just want to know how "internetnut" could give this 4 stars? If anyone grew up without it, must have lived on another planet. My only issue is...who knew of strawberry? I never even thought of anything other than Welch's Grape Jelly. Sometime in my teens, I found strawberry jam! Thank you gourmetmomma for reminding us of the most classic sandwich!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      omg, hilarious. love the funny reviews, too. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      My oldest (now 24) lived on PB&grape jelly. When he was a teenager, he said we're out of grape can I eat PB&strawberry jam? I said I like it that way. Then he said MOM, all these years, you knew it was better with strawberry and you just fed me grape! LOL. fed his daughter PB&J (she asked for grape) just yesterday! the legend lives on,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Can't go wrong with this. I just have one suggestion, take one bite out of each sandwich before placing on the child's plate. Just explain to them you were checking for poison and it is now safe to eat. I would sometimes take a bite out of the sandwiches I packed for school lunches and my kids would always come home and tell me it made them smile. Now I do it to my dgd and dgs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Wonderful recipe for the kiddos.....ok and the kiddos momma too. Love it....yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Very good sandwich just finished from eating it now :)!!Made less peanut butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This is the best recipe EVER! It's dinner for us on nights I have school. I always put doritos in my sandwich, regular ones are good, but cool ranch are better. Served with a large glass of milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      best recipe ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      THANK YOU!!! I've been looking for this recipe for so long and now I've finally found it! I served this to my family and they said it was better than any peanut butter and jelly sandwich I'd ever made before. This recipe will definitely go into my personal cookbook. Is this your own recipe?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      At first I thought it was funny seeing this recipe on Recipezaar but maybe some people didn't grow up on pb & j sandwiches. I always make them on homemade bread when going on a car trip or hike. They are easy, delicious and more or less nutritious so why try to reinvent the wheel?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      A classic favorite! Thanks for reminding me of the simple things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I love PB&J, and I think that it's nice to have something so simple up. Not everyone is blessed enough to have eaten these as a child, so why not expose the world? I personally like PB & honey sandwiches- just replace the jelly with a teaspoon or two of honey, and you're set.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      A classic... so comforting with a tall glass of milk. I love natural PB with grape jelly on white bread. I love this sandwich with some thin, plain potato chips... a great combination of sweet and salty!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Its just a normal peanut butter and jelly sandwitch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Peanut Butter and Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (96 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 358.4
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    44%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 491.5 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    49%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites