Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2010

      This was very good, my husbands favorite food used to be his mother lasagna and now its this one! Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Really, really good! I added mild Italian pork sausage instead of plain, just a preference. The sauce is thick, rich, and meaty, and the cheese combination is great. I also used no-boil lasagna noodles, made it the night before, stuck in the frig, let it set at room temp for 1 1/2 hours. Thanks! It was a hit and made PLENTY for 8 guests!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      This is so cheesy. When DH was dishing it up, the cheese was stinging all over ...... yummy. I like the ricotta and cottage cheese mixed together, previously I have either used one or the other. Thank you for sharing this great lasagna recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      This was really good, but too salty for our taste. It could just be the kind of cheese we used, but next time I am going to leave the teaspoon of salt out and it will be perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      So good, thanks for the recipe! This is great and saucy, like I like it. I followed the directions for the most part - just doubled the Italian seasoning. The different cheeses added some great flavor. I'll definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      This is the perfect lasagna. The first time I made this was for a birthday party and everyone loved it. It has to be one of the best lasagnas I have ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This is probably the best Lasagna from RZ! I have tried at least 2 other ones. My lasagna always seems to dry out. Not with this one. This was creamy and delicious! I will definitely increase the the garlic next time. The only change I made was to use hot turkey sausage. This is my lasagna recipe from now on, yeah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      My Family Loved this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I made the sauce tonight in preperation for making lasagna for dinner tomorrow....I am not sure there will be any sauce left! If the lasagna comes out as good as the sauce, this is a true winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      I've been making this lasagna recipe since it was first printed in the magazine and it is the best ever! Thanks for posting so I will no longer have to dig out my worn copy of the magazine :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      Excellent Lasagna. The flavors blended so well together. I might experiment with the cheese combination (or not). We really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Best lasagna ever!!!! My husband often doesn't like anything I make (It's not like his mom's is usually the excuse), but this is the one thing he always request since I've found this recipe. There aren't usually any leftovers for the kids and I the next day. He likes a lot of tomato sauce so I usually add a little more sauce and paste....but definately not needed. Thanks for submitting and letting us all enjoy it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Made it as is with my High School cooking class. Everyone that we let try this raved about it. We make 5 at a time. Freeze 4 and they work great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      I don't eat lasagna much (even though I come from an Italian family) and I've never made it before, but I thought this was wonderful and so did my family and my 12 dinner guests. The sauce could stand alone with some nice rotini. I added 1 more clove of garlic and think it could have even handled more, and I never add sugar until the last, cause I tend to like my sauces a little more tart and maybe it won't need to be sweeter. I did have to add some diluted tomato juice to thin it out so I could simmer it longer. The only thing I would do differently next time is keep the sauce slightly thinner cause I used the Barilla no-cook lasagna noodles and I think they absorbed more moisture and I think the sauce could have been a little thinner after cooking. This is a keeper recipe and my family is already dying for me to make it again. It wasn't that much work with the no-cook noodles. I served it with an Olive Garden copy cat salad (I bought the dressing - it was so much easier). Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      The best lasagna I've ever made. I usually substitute more ground beef for the sausage (wife preference) and double the ricotta, cutting down on the cottage cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      This lasagna was awesome! The sausage gave it such a great flavor. I didn't add the sugar to the sauce, as I don't like sweet sauce. I just made it without. I loved the flavor of the combination of cheeses that you used and we all give it a high five!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      My husband who works for a major food company and used to mass produce lasagna liked this recipe. He knows lasagna inside and out. He said this recipe is good because it's not runny and has a nice taste. So if he says it's good that means it's really, really good to us normal people. I enjoyed making it. It was nice to have time to prepare the rest of the recipe while the meat sauce cooked for an hour. I didn't have to rush around the kitchen. I'm looking forward to making it again. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      I made this with ease and my family insists that I never make any other recipe of lasagna! I used to could get away with making Stouffer's Lasagna but not anymore! Only difference I added some cheddar on top. GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      I only added 1 tsp. sugar, so it wouldn't be too sweet, and I used 1 lb. of hot sausage instead of 3/4 lb., and no onion? What's up with that? I added 1 big one in with the sauce. I increased the italian seasoning to 2 tsp. to give it some flavor, and then let the sauce simmer for 2 hours. You want to give the sauce enough time for the flavors to blend together. Then I made the lasagna. When it was done, I brought it into work, and we had a feast at lunch break. Everyone came running in to grab a piece. Got lots of compliments on it with the changes. Good basic recipe, but for us seasoned cooks we know when something needs a little tweaking, and this one did, no matter if it won a contest or not :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Wow! This was my first attempt at homemade lasagna. The recipe was very easy to follow and much simpler than I thought "real" lasagna could be. I made the meat sauce the night before, assembled the lasagna in the morning, and popped it in the oven after work. I used Happy Hobbits quanities for the ricotta and cottage cheese to accomodate for the sizes sold in my grocery store and I used Barilla no boil lasagna noodles. My husband enjoyed the sauce so much, I will be making it for the lasagna and also on its own with pasta when I'm crunched for time. Great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 528.3
     
    Calories from Fat 264
    50%
    Total Fat 29.4 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 153.8 mg
    51%
    Sodium 1367.1 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 40.0 g
    80%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites