Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2002

      Very Good! Easy! I made ahead of time and put in the refridgerator. It came out so yummy! I even forgot to put in the provolone. I'll bet it even taste better if that is possible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2003

      This recipe is extremely good and rich in flavor. My oldest, who is a great fan of lasagna tried to eat the entire pan. This is definately a winner. Thanx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      Made this tonight for dinner and got rave reviews all around. We're not usually fussy about lasagna but everyone agreed that this was the best lasagna any of us had tasted in a long time. Followed the directions exactly. Great recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2003

      This was delicious. I made it for my Bday and every there loved it. There was only 5 of us and one pan almost wasnt enuff. The only change I made was that I used all ricotta and no cottage cheese. I thought it tasted a little dry, but everyone else thought it was great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      Fantastic Carrie Ann!! This was my very first (homemade, not from a bottle of spaghetti sauce) lasagna and it was just super!! I looked at and read atleast 50 other lasagna recipes and picked this one, thanks goodness because it really was super. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. A little time consuming but not difficult at all. My Mother-in-law mumbled "this is better than mine". Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      My kids didnt think I could make lasanga like my ex-wife. WRONG. This was a very full flavored recipe. I used bulk Italian sausage instead of the pork and did add water to the sauce as it was simmering. I simmered the sauce 2 hours and it made the house smell great. One last thing. I added some red pepper flake for a little bite. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Wow is this good. The sauce is really thick plus like someone else said it spatters alot while simmering - make sure you stir it OFTEN. This sauce has so much flavor but yet it doesn't have any onions - my daughter loves that. Everybody liked this young and old. The best lasagna recipe I've tried yet. Like others have said, it has alot of good sauce flavor without the dish being too wet/saucy which some may not like, but you can always add more tomato sauce to it during the simmering stage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      This was delicious!! Made for a cousin's birthday. Used turkey sausage and 16 oz. cottage cheese and 15 oz. ricotta cheese. Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      Very good lasagna, did use half cottage cheese and half ricotta, and used only ground beef,don't care for sausage that much, if sauce is to thick add alittle water or more tomato sauce, thanks for the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      This deserves 5 stars. I made this for our Christmas Eve dinner. It was the bomb. Even hubby liked it and he only likes his recipe. I am not a big lasagna fan, until now that is. Thank you Carrie Ann for making my Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      add some spinach and this is my favorite lasagna recipe! thank you for posting this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      This recipe is definitely excellent! I love the pasta sauce! I might use it in other recipes. The only thing I changed was I added onions. Mmmmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      This is an absolutely beautiful lasagna! I don't mean it just looks good; from the aroma when it is cooking to the last bite it is incredible! I used italian sausage along with the ground beef, otherwise I followed the recipe. I put both the meat sauce and cheese mixture together in the morning and let them sit in the fridge. That evening I boiled the noodles, put everything together and put it back into the fridge. The next day I let the lasagna sit out for about 45 minutes and then cooked as directed. Delicious! Everyone was oohing and ahhing. After they ate they were moaning, cause they eat so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Outstanding! I have made this several times, each time to rave reviews. I only made a couple of minor changes, as others suggested; sauteed onion and garlic first, then added the meat. I also used more mozzarella, but that's a personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      I love lasagna and love trying different recipes sometimes from my own....and this one did not let me down...It was absolutely delicious !!! I didn't do too much different than how the recipe is written. I did use an extra clove of garlic and a small chopped onion. I had sauteed them along with the meats. And as another reviewer had done, I had used 16oz Cottage Cheese and 15oz Ricotta. This just makes it so there is no little bits of leftovers of those cheeses. Plus I used 5 cups of the mozzarella...only because I love cheese and it didn't seem enough with just 1 cup on top. And I only had 15 oz cans of tomato sauces so I had used 2 for a total of 30 oz instead of 24 oz. I found I had to put on a cover lightly over the sauce while it was simmering because it was spitting all over the place. (ouch) The flavors were so great together and made this a fantastic lasagna. We were only two for lunch but I always freeze the rest in portions for 2 people and they always turn out fantastic when reheated.
      I didn't finish my review and it got submitted ..while I was still typing and wouldn't let me back in to finish.....grrrr..... But would like to say thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe Carrie...we love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Followed the recipe exactly as stated and it turned out fabulous! Finally found a perfect lasagna recipe and was asked by my husband to never change it. We served it with some hot garlic bread and a salad and everyone at the table raved. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2010

      This recipe was wonderful. I think the sauce made a huge difference. The lasagna layered perfectly and was not soupy at all. I think we have all had lasagna that was either too dry or way too soupy. This lasagna was neither. It hit it right on the mark. I mean it when I say the sauce made the difference. It was thick and held up nicely and was also flavorful and sweet. I added a little more garlic (4 cloves instead of two). This was just out of personal preference. This dish was very much enjoyed by my family. My Mother said it was the best lasagna she has ever tasted and my Brother had seconds. My Dad, who is known for putting ketchup on everything, refrained from adding ketchup to this meal. You know you've done well when he goes without ketchup. I'm definitely going to share this recipe with my colleagues, and will most likely make this the next time I have dinner with my soccer team.


      This recipe is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      Excellent & super tasty lasagna recipe! I used homemade pasta sheets and mixed spinach and mushrooms in the cheese mixture. This sauce will be great for pizza and other italian pasta dishes. It will get a lot of use in my kitchen. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      So good! My husband and his best friend ate half of it in one sitting! They said it was the best lasagna they'd ever had! The consistency was perfect! I used italian turkey sausage instead of pork and they loved that it is super meaty. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Great tasting but I found it a little dry and not nearly enough meat sauce (although some of the guests thought the consistency was perfect). Personally I like my lasagna a little more soupy so next time I'll increase the amount of sauce I make. I'll add a little extra sauce to the lasagna itself and reserve the rest of the extra sauce so the people who like their lasagna soupy can ladle a few spoonfuls over their chunk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 528.3
     
    Calories from Fat 264
    50%
    Total Fat 29.4 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 153.8 mg
    51%
    Sodium 1367.1 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 40.0 g
    80%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes