Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2010

      This is outstanding Irish Soda Bread. My house smells of Corned Beef and Cabbage and this Lovely bread! Couldn't wait til dinner, so we just sampled the bread, the taste is wonderful, nice "softly dense" and slightly sweet. My only problem is that the bottom of the bread is rock hard. I basted it while baking with a buttermilk and melted butter blend, the top is just golden and nicely crusty. The mixture did not reach the bottom. I think that the temp. should be lowered slightly (350 next time I bake this-oh and I definitely will be baking this again) Also, wonder if baking on parchment or very lightly greased pan wouldn't be better. Overall, you will be very pleased with this bread, thank you for sharing it Gingerbee (have a super pic I hope to add via my Droid)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      this bread always turns out great. perfectly dense and moist, and excellent as-is or toasted. I leave out the currants and use a milk wash instead of a glaze, but that is just my preference.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      This is a great recipe. I've used it for a couple of years now, and I find it to be extremely easy and so delicious. I haven't used currants when I've made it, although it does sound good. Also, I've skipped the glaze. It works 'plain' like this as well. Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I made this today for St. Patty's Day dinner. It made my father reminisce about his mother's cooking, and my picky 5 year old snagged the last piece. I used raisins instead of currants and didn't glaze (I didn't want it to be too sweet). It was very easy to do, and so delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      Not only was this the first time I made Irish Soda Bread, it was also the first time I ate it. I have no idea what Irish Soda Bread is "supposed" to be like, but this was excellent! Slightly sweet, slightly tangy... I couldn't stop eating it! Next time I will have to make a half recipe so that I don't eat so much of it! The only change I made to the recipe was to leave out the currants, since my husband doesn't like them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      I made this without the currants and it was amazing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      This was my first attempt at Irish soda bread and it was great. Extremely easy recipe and turned out exactly as I had hoped. I upped the sugar by about 1 tb because we like it a bit sweeter, but it was a pretty subtle increase taste-wise. I knew my husband and I would like it but to my surprise, our picky children did also. Can't wait to have a slice toasted and buttered for breakfast tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Great bread, love the currants, perfect taste. Not a piece left. Not much more to say. Made as is, turned out great. Loved it. Thx for a great traditional recipe. Kim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Delicious bread! Currants give a nice flavour. Tastes great warmed up with butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      This produces a great loaf of bread. Somewhat sweet, and very good. I opted for a hony water mix rather then sugar water..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      This is a great Irish soda bread. I just made a loaf today and it was so easy and good. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      This was great. My daughters made it for St Patricks day. We all loved it. I am posting their photo. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2003

      I'm with Cornelia - I'd never had Irish Soda bread in my life until tonight. I had planned corned beef and cabbage for dinner and forgot to put some bread in the machine so I thought, what about Irish Soda Bread and did a search on it to figure out how it was made. The timing worked out perfectly and we all LOVED it! I didn't have any currants so I used raisins instead. Warmed with lots of butter, it was a treat with our dinner. I have a feeling I will be repeating this bread with all sorts of other recipes. Glad I found this one. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.5
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    91%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 1.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 292.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 22.0 g
    88%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites