Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2011

      This is the same recipe I've been making for over 40 years. I love this recipe! I have made using buttermilk and also with sour milk, both with great results. I often brush the outside with soften butter, fresh hot out of the oven. Splurge on imported Irish Butter to take it to the next level (if you can find/afford it). Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2011

      Fast, easy and good. In the time it took me to preheat the oven, I was able to complete the preparation of the dough. I hardly knead. Just enough to get the whole thing wet and into a ball. I used waxed paper instead of oil or butter on the cooking sheet. Baked for 40 minutes, until the toothpick came out clean. Then upon removal from the oven, I wrapped it up in the wax paper it sat on in the oven and a tea towel, then leaned at an angle on the counter against the wall to cool, so that the crust is not too hard or too soft. Served with corned beef and cabbage/potatoes for dinner. Will make toast in the morning with butter and jam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Made this for St. Patrick's Day and I wanted something simple since I had so many other things cooking...this was easy and tasty! I used lemon juice/milk in place of buttermilk (couldn't find it at the store) and used just a bit over 1.5 cups. I also added a couple handfuls of raisins. Took about 35 minutes to bake. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      My wife made corned beef and cabage I said I would made the bread. Loved it! Simple, crusty on the outside, dense and soft on the inside. served with LOTS of butter. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I loved it. It was exactly what I was looking for. I used 2 c. all purpose flour, 1 c. wh. wheat flour and 1 c. rye flour and it didn't seem to make a difference. Love it! Thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      I'm sorry, I didn't care for this at all! I could barely bit into it and it had no flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Hally, this is everything the PERFECT irish soda bread should be-a dense, crusty loaf with a wonderful savoury taste to it! Mmm, I just luv everything about this bread, but especially the crust! The directions are very clear and the dough is easy to work with. It comes together so quickly and with such an outstanding result that I will surely be making this recipe over and over again. In fact I cant stop thinking about having it for breakkie again tomorrow. :) Having halved the recipe my loaf was rather small and only needed to bake for 25 minutes. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this true gem with us, Hally! Made and reviewed for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game August 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Fantastic! I used 2 cups of buttermilk and it turned out wonderful. I brought it on our camping trip and served it with Irish Pub Beef Stew Irish Pub Beef Stew. I warmed the bread in aluminum foil hanging over the camp fire, while heating the stew on the fire. Everyone loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      Very yummy. Extremely dense, crusty, and ugly...just like a good Irish soda bread should be. i used soy milk with 1 T. of vinegar instead of the buttermilk. Easy to make and very good. Definitely need to toast and butter the leftovers though. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      This is excellent! It is nice to be able to make home-baked bread in such a short time for supper. I had to use a little over 2 cups of buttermilk to make everything come together, but other than that, it was awesome. Just like Henny Penny, my husband said it looked like a giant biscuit - too funny! :) I have 4 available heights of oven racks, and I baked it on the 2nd to the top one. Baking time and temp. were right on, the recipe was easy to follow, and the bread is very dense but absolutely delicious. Thank you for this easy, tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      I'm actually not going to leave any stars for this, but my bread turned out horrible!! I have a feeling I must not have added enough buttermilk. I checked the bread after 35 minutes and it was dark brown and as hard as a brick! My oven doesn't usually do that! Thanks for sharing! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Excellent. Made it for St. Patricks day and the Irish Woman said it was fantastic. The talk of the dinner was the bread. Same Irish Woman said after we left she kept eating the rest of the bread. Also, very easy. I didn't have buttermilk so I substituted 3/4 cup yoghurt and 1/4+ semi skimmed milk and worked fine. It does look a little dry and you're not supposed to really need it so don't worry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      This bread is heavenly & so simple & inexpensive to make. Would be wonderful with breakfast, better than biscuits & gravy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This seemed authentically sparse and I loved that you mentioned the rustic nature of the bread. We weren't disappointed. Crusty and dense and just wonderfully yummy with our corned beef & cabbage dinner. DH loved the toothiness and so did I. We will make this a regular in our repertoire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      I have never eaten Irish soda bread, and there were so many to choose from. I chose this one to eat with the meal because I did not want a sweet bread. We all thought that the simple clean taste of this bread was great and it was super easy to make. I should have made two, there wasn't enough. It will be a staple in our house for many meals, not just St. Patrick's Day. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      This is a great recipe - so simple to make, and tasty as well! :) I made it last night for dinner, and my family really enjoyed it. I was planning on making another loaf tonight, but will have to run to the store first as we're out of milk and lemon juice (which I used for buttermilk since we didn't have any last night). Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      How nice to find a soda bread without all the sweet extras! Easy to make (and I have NO talent in the bread making department) and taste great! Goes wonderfully well with stews and such..Total hit at this house :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      It was good, but I didn't think was great. My sister said, "It wasn't good and it wasn't bad."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      My family LOVED the bread. Simple to make, has a nice rustic look, and paired beautifully with the stew I paired it with. I'm from the South, and I have to say that it reminded me in look and taste of a giant biscuit. Made me wonder if my KY ancestral mothers have been making mini Irish Soda Bread loaves all these years. Thanks for the good eats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Family loved it more than me- but they really loved it. I halved it and shouldn't have. I also used half whole wheat and half white flour to keep it healthier. Great recipe- Thanks <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.7
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    30%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 1.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 481.4 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes