47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This paired SO perfectly with an Irish Guiness stew. Yum-yum-yum! The texture of this bread is amazing -- soft and chewy with a thick crunchy crust. The dough was really sticky, so I coated my hands with flour when handling it and that helped a lot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jwls00 March 19, 2010

Every St. Patrick's Day you'll find me picking raisins out of my piece of soda "bread," so this recipe is near and dear to my heart. It's very dense and so good with soups and stews.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty Z January 22, 2007

I made this to go along with our shepards pie for the St. Patricks Day holiday. It was really easy to prepare and my kids liked it better then the ones with fruit in it. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 26, 2014

Wonderful, authentic recipe. Being Irish myself and having been to Ireland twice, I can tell you this is a true Irish soda bread. Just 4 ingredients, mix the dough just until it comes together, shape and bake (or pan fry) it. The only thing I personally found a bit off was the temperature. After 15 minutes my bread was already getting brown, so I dropped it to 375 for the remainder of the 45 minutes. We had it with our corned beef and cabbage last night and it was so good! Someone also brought a store-bought, soft "Irish soda bread" with raisins and caraway seeds, but no one touched it! Really, save yourself time and money and just make this easy, delicious, genuine bread. You won't be sorry. Thanks so much Halcyone Eve!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
az93 March 18, 2014

I made a mini loaf, wow was it wonderful Halcyon Eve. This traditional Irish Soda Bread was quick and really easy to make. I scaled the recipe back to make a quarter of the dough. It turned out to be crusty on the outside and tender and flaky, with a nice flavor on the inside. I had hot bread on the table in no time. It tasted great hot and just as nice toasted the next day. Thanks so much for sharing a recipe that I will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato December 08, 2013

Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rothiii March 17, 2013

We ate almost the entire loaf straight out of the oven. Sooo good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ctrmom March 18, 2012

Four ingredients, five stars!!! Followed directions verbatim and got a beautiful, rustic, crusty loaf that was pure deliciousness. This one is a keeper!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Freddie of Charleston SC March 13, 2012

Very good bread that is really simple to make. I love how fast and hassle free this is and it goes great with soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C.Luna February 06, 2012

Made this tonight and was happy with the way it turned out. I will make again and try using pastry flour like another reviewer suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iluzen March 27, 2011
Traditional Irish Soda Bread