Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2010

      This is wonderful bread, HOWEVER (and it's a big "however"), you'll get much more authentic and palatable results if you substitute pastry flour for all-purpose; Ireland grows soft wheat--a better fit for leavening with soda and acid (and it's my understanding that sour milk is more traditional than buttermilk). You can also use 3 cups whole wheat pastry flour to 1 cup white pastry flour with maybe an extra half-teaspoon of soda and a bit more salt--delicious!
      Stingo mentioned that the dough should be handled as little as possible, which turns out to have been sound advice. 10 seconds of very gentle kneading with floured fingers prior to shaping the loaf and cutting the cross is plenty and ensures that you'll get as much rise as possible. I followed the baking instructions to a T and got great results. I've read wrapping the bread in a tea towel when it comes out of the oven will result in a softer crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      I've made this recipe a few times long ago, and while the results were decent enough, they weren't inspiring enough to merit a stellar review. I attribute this to my fault as a newbie baker, because I have since had the help of a more experienced baker, and the results are very, very good. The key for me was to work the bread very gently - just fold the combined wet and dry mixture until it was just ready to form a ball of dough. I turned the bowl contents out onto a floured countertop and lightly patted them into a loaf, and put it onto a parchment covered baking sheet. What a difference in the texture - I can see what the fuss is about now. I will definitely be making this again (and again). Thanks so much for sharing the truly traditional Irish soda bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Simple, rustic soda bread. Just what I was looking for. Made this yesterday with whole wheat flour and milk/vinegar. Used almost 1 3/4 cup of liquid and baked perfectly in 35 minutes on a baking stone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Simple, fast, dense, and tasty. This bread is a new staple in my diet now. I made it entirely with whole wheat flour and vegan buttermilk (soymilk + lemon juice). I like it best the day after--the flavors really develop then.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      This is EXCELLENT. I've been using another very similar recipe for Irish soda bread, which was ok. But the difference here I think is the higher temperature, 425. This bread turned out crusty/chewy/flavorful and delicious. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, and made buttermilk from regular 1% milk with lemon juice. It's also incredibly easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Yummy! So easy and simple! I followed other reviewers' advice and mixed/kneaded as little as possible and that definitely kept ithe texture perfect. Mine baked for just under 40 minutes and it came out crunchy on the outside, beautifully fluffy and chewy on the inside. Made for St. Patty's day dinner, and I will make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      It takes more than the listed buttermilk - nearly 2 cups total. Very easy recipe and my family has requested it more often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      Loved it and will definitely make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      great bread! We did it with corned beef and cabbage for St. Patty's Day. We had some left over, and it was great toasted with butter and jam! thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Very good, easy. I would add a little more salt next time, but I love this simple peasant food. Great with corned beef and cabbage dinner. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      This paired SO perfectly with an Irish Guiness stew. Yum-yum-yum! The texture of this bread is amazing -- soft and chewy with a thick crunchy crust. The dough was really sticky, so I coated my hands with flour when handling it and that helped a lot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Every St. Patrick's Day you'll find me picking raisins out of my piece of soda "bread," so this recipe is near and dear to my heart. It's very dense and so good with soups and stews.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      I made this to go along with our shepards pie for the St. Patricks Day holiday. It was really easy to prepare and my kids liked it better then the ones with fruit in it. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      Wonderful, authentic recipe. Being Irish myself and having been to Ireland twice, I can tell you this is a true Irish soda bread. Just 4 ingredients, mix the dough just until it comes together, shape and bake (or pan fry) it. The only thing I personally found a bit off was the temperature. After 15 minutes my bread was already getting brown, so I dropped it to 375 for the remainder of the 45 minutes. We had it with our corned beef and cabbage last night and it was so good! Someone also brought a store-bought, soft "Irish soda bread" with raisins and caraway seeds, but no one touched it! Really, save yourself time and money and just make this easy, delicious, genuine bread. You won't be sorry. Thanks so much Halcyone Eve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      I made a mini loaf, wow was it wonderful Halcyon Eve. This traditional Irish Soda Bread was quick and really easy to make. I scaled the recipe back to make a quarter of the dough. It turned out to be crusty on the outside and tender and flaky, with a nice flavor on the inside. I had hot bread on the table in no time. It tasted great hot and just as nice toasted the next day. Thanks so much for sharing a recipe that I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      We ate almost the entire loaf straight out of the oven. Sooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      Four ingredients, five stars!!! Followed directions verbatim and got a beautiful, rustic, crusty loaf that was pure deliciousness. This one is a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      Very good bread that is really simple to make. I love how fast and hassle free this is and it goes great with soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Made this tonight and was happy with the way it turned out. I will make again and try using pastry flour like another reviewer suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.7
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    30%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 1.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 481.4 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes