Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Irish Shepherd's Pie

    Average Rating:

    154 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 154

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2011

      I must say...this recipe is HIGHLY recommended to all. I am a very particular about recipes; but THIS ONE IS A KEEPER. I used all the ingredients mentioned in the recipe as well as followed all of the instructions. The only thing that I did different, not on purpose, was use White Zinfandel wine, instead of red wine (I didn't have any red wine and didn't feel like driving down the mountain to get it when I had everything else cooking--lol). Unless you like that kind of wine, don't use it. When I buy more red wine, I will try it--so I could decided which one is best. Also, it really makes a difference when you season your potatoes and get them into a semi-creamy texture with butter and canned milk. Whip on HIGH with hand mixer. Just a thought, if you haven't tried it that way. : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      Hubby has been asking for Shepherd's Pie for a couple weeks. Rather than my usual throw together, I decided to consult my Food.com peeps. Am I ever glad I did. This was amazing!!! Followed the recipe almost exactly, with the exception of using dried thyme and Sherry. For those concerned about not having red or white on hand, I have found that using Sherry for either is a great alternative. You can pick up a big bottle in any liquor store for about $6. For those concerned about the prep time, try using instant potatoes. They have changed so much over the last few years and honestly you cannot tell the difference. Our favorite is Idahoan Four Cheese. Remember too that Shepherd's Pie is one of those dishes that can be made earlier in the day and just tossed in the oven when you are ready. A chilled dish just takes a bit longer to heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Excellent comfort food for a cool fall evening! I substituted a can of french cut green beans for the peas, used dried thyme and put some shredded cheese on top of the potatoes. It turned out delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      ? I just wanted to thank you for this marvelous recipe. I?ve had a taste for shepherd pie for weeks now and Google guided me to this one. My husband is a picky eater and wanted to know why I was going though all the fuss on a week night. Guess what, he loved it and didn?t leave a crumb.<br/>? Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      Wow! This was great. I fell in love with Shepherd's Pie while living in Rhode Island for about 6 months. Between Providence and Boston I got to sample different varieties of this hearty and comforting food. This recipe is a keeper. Although I wouldn't exactly classify this as a quick, after-work meal prep (unless you happen to have leftover mashed potatoes), it is easy to prepare. You could probably take some shortcuts with instant potatoes (yuck), but the recipe as written is just too good to pass up! Absolutely perfect for a winter-time dinner! Thank you for sharing...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      Fantastic flavor! Excellent re-heated for lunch the next day. Like so many here, I am VERY particular about recipes. Made it exactly as the recipe states. LOVED it! Will make it again over and over. Highly Recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      I used this recipe as a guide adding 1/4 cup sour cream, 1/4 cup softened cream cheese, one beaten egg and 1/2 cup Irish white cheddar to the potatoes and 1 1/2 cups Chianti Ruffino, 1 cup low- sodium beef broth with 3 Tbs Masa flour to 2lbs of ground lamb- my wife tasted it and said it needed 1/2 cup beef broth and 1 cup additional frozen peas and she was right, of course. Freshly grated quality Parmesan chesse sprinkled on top was a nice touch. I was hoping to bring in some to work tomorrow but my family devoured it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      Made this for an Irish party and it went over very well. People that had had Shepherd's Pie before thought this was the best ever!<br/>I doubled it and next time will do the same but use a smidge less Worcestershire sauce. I did use ketchup instead of paste and I think it gave it a little sweetness that was nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      Made recipe as stated. This will become a regular dish in our home! I will preassemble the on the weekend and pop in the oven on a busy week night. Very satisfying and nutritious comfort food that stretches a pound of ground meat into several satisfying meals. My husband is delighted and so am I.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      Loved this recipe and printed it out to go in my special "Keeper" book. Shepard's pie can be dry, but this one has a delicious gravy that makes you want to keep on eating. My husband actually loved it. I used a bag of frozen mixed vegetables instead of the carrots and peas. And, since its winter, dried thyme. This time I put grated cheddar on the top instead of parmesan and egg, Be sure to make plenty of mashed potatoes. I started with 5 and had to cook 2 more. So six or seven large potatoes are needed. The recipe says it serves 4-6, but it's so good you'll need seconds, so I'd say only 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      Best shepherds pie I've ever made. I'm gluten free so I subbed with cornstarch dissolved in the stock. Also used Idahoan instant mashed potatoes and worked really well. Going to use this recipe for camping this summer in the crock pot. Even my husband who is not a "casserole" person loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2014

      This recipe is great. It is a great starting point to a refrigerator cleaner. I used a parsnip I had in the fridge, some frozen green beans instead of peas and left over corn from a take out dinner. I used some veal stock I had in the freezer instead of chicken stock and used a wheat beer I made since I didn't have wine. I also had a piece of cheddar that was coming to expiration so I chopped it up and added it to the mashed potato. I used ground veal which was on managers special for $1.99 lb so I added some duck fat that was in the fridge to bring up the fat content. I used a trick from another recipe and used a fork to score the surface of the potato to encourage browning. Bottom line... use what you have and make a special meal from what is in the fridge and freezer and it will turn out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      So, this is the first review I've ever submitted for an online recipe, and I've been using online recipes for years. I was moved to write a review, though, because this recipe is JUST THAT GOOD! Very Easy to make, and ridiculously delicious. I try not to make substitutions the first time I try a recipe, but I did so for the red wine as we are a non-alcohol family. The substitution was simple: 1.5 Tbsp. of Balsamic vinegar to 1 cup of beef broth. I stock a variety of flavor-infused balsamic vinegars, but for this just used an aged balsamic. The result was a deep, acidic flavor with all of the tartness one expects from a red wine. I was also out of peas, but we hardly noticed. I chopped the carrot and onion coarsely (so the carrot hater could pick them out; likewise, the onion hater), and, as other reviewers have noted, focused on a potato layer to match the richness of the meat layer by using real butter, cream, pink Himalayan sea salt, garlic powder, and plenty of fresh ground pepper. The gravy, however, is the star of this dish, and lends a rich and hearty body to a classic winter dish. Our experience was reminiscent of the titular scene in the wonderful kids' movie, Ratatouille. Minus the mouse. (I hope.) Much like the movie, this was an instant family favorite. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2013

      I'd never had, nor had I ever made a Sheperd's Pie before, and this was very good! I got nothing but compliments at our annual St. Patty's Day shindig. I doubled the recipe for the most part, only used about a cup and a half of wine, but 3 cups of beef stock. I used Merlot, because it's what I had and that added a distinct flavor. Next time I will try it with Cabernet to compare. I also cheated and used 3 packages of Idahoan instant potatoes since I was short on time. Oh, and I didn't use the egg and cheese on top, a neighbor can't have dairy. He was on his own with the potatoes however. ;-) Thanks, I will be making this every year now!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      Amazing! Kids and husband loved it. It was my first time making or even tasting Shepard's Pie and it was really good. I used cooking wine (burgundy) and it tasted amazing. I didn't want the salty corned beef and cabbage for St. Patrick's day so I went with this and it will now be a staple in our family's rotating recipe book :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      I made this yesterday for St. Patrick's Day and it was a huge hit!! I doubled the recipe and added more of some of the ingredients than noted but I did not change any of them. It was delicious and tasted very authentic. Thank you Food.com!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      This was amazing! I made it for the first time on Saint Patrick's Day and I followed the recipe as is except that I made homemade mashed potatoes. Also, I made it in the morning and put it in the fridge already put together with the potatoes on top. I cooked it for dinner that night by cooking it in the oven at 350 for about 45 minutes...just until the internal temperature reached 140F

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      Great recipe.I substituted 2 cups of mixed frozen veggies for the peas and carrots because it was what I had on hand. I used one mini bottle of merlot for the "glass of wine", probably equivalent to about 12oz of wine. I had to bake mine closer to 30-40 minutes to get the top to brown up. I will make this again and again. This recipe is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      AMAZING!! I just loved this, and so did my family and friends. I used a whole can of beef broth, the whole small can of tomato paste, a can of lesuer peas instead of frozen and some soy sauce. I did use a box of the creamy butter mashed potatoes and put cheddar and mozzarella on top. We will be eating this on a regular basis for the rest of our lives, lol. Thanks for an awesome recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      This was a very good recipe. It was a nice change from the hamburg, corn and potatoes i usually make. I tasted it at each step and I did prefer it before the wine was added. Next time i might skip that step but everything else was delish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Irish Shepherd's Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (211 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 440.0
     
    Calories from Fat 223
    50%
    Total Fat 24.8 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 131.2 mg
    43%
    Sodium 341.3 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 26.1 g
    52%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    stock

    mashed potatoes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites