Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional German Plum Cake (Zwetschgenkuchen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional German Plum Cake (Zwetschgenkuchen)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2009

      This was quite nice, not too sweet. I was actually looking for another plum cake that a German friend of a friend makes - this wasn't it, but still made for a nice dessert, and was especially lovely with some whipped cream on top. Perhaps slightly more sugar in the base would have improved it. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      my grandmother brought over this recipe from Germany during the holocaust

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      Just like Oma used to make. I had a hard time finding Damson plums locally, but it was worth the wait. I didn't need quite 3 1/2 lbs of plums, though. I made by with 2 to 2 1/2 lbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      This recipe really makes the best out of plums. I liked it how the plums where cut and organized on top of the pie. For us it was somewhat plain though, which of course is the whole idea. I wouldn´t leave much of edge to the pie dough next time, because it won´t get soaked with the wonderful plum juices and so will be rather dry and dull. I would also double the sugar, especially if the plums are not very ripe and sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      I use 1 cup of Soymilk instead of milk and I also add one tablespoon of honey to my recipe. This makes the dough very nice and smooth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      I haven't tried it yet. But thank you to the lady who said she made it with canned plums. I had been trying to find out if I could do that. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      Wunderbar!!!!!Wunderbar!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      I was supposed to make this for Pick a Chef back in october 2005 and just got around to doing this now, sorry Thorsten. Excellent cake, my only change to the recipe was to use locally canned plums, since winter has set in and you can't find a fresh plum anywhere. I suppose the canned plums gave the cake a softer feel than fresh plums would have, but it was delicious nontheless. Excellent with a cup of coffee.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      I was so happy and surprised to find beautiful plums--and this recipe was perfect--not overly sweet, really designed to make the most of the flavor and texture of the plums, and very much in the style of the wonderful german cakes of my childhood. Thanks, Thorsten!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2005

      Oh my goodness by far the best cake I have ever made or eaten I m from Germany living in tx was looking at some Plum cakes this morning on the net and I found this one I made it and I just eat it Oh my lord so so sooooo good My Husband Loved it said that this was the best cake I ever made ! thank you for this wonderfull cake .....People try it u will Love it !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      this was good, but not quite like my mother's who was born in Hesse Germany and came to the States as a result of the Holocaust. She used Italian Plums and her dough (Heifeteisch) was sweeter and not so tough. I will keep looking for her version, but will keep this recipe in my files.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      Just a quick correction. "Zwetschgen" is NOT the German name for the Damson plum. It is the German name for Italian Prune Plums (Prunus domestica L. subsp. domestica or oeconomica). Damsons (Prunus domestica subsp. insititia, or sometimes Prunus insititia) are actually a different type of plum -- similar, but different. The German name for Damson plums is Haferpflaume or Hafer-Pflaume. To be clear and as the author suggests, you can make a version of this with any plum, or for that matter, any stone fruit you like. I do agree with the author that Zwetschgenkuchen should be made with a rich yeast dough like the one in this recipe (baking-powder risen cake bases for this just don't cut it). Sometimes a little streusel is nice on top (mix 1 cup flour, 1/4 cup sugar. 4 tablespooons of butter, cinnamon if you like it to taste, pinch salt) is traditional for some in Germany, but optional.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      this recipe sounds very like grannies only she sprikled plums with sugar and poured cream over them and then baked the whole tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      This is a very wonderful and authentic German treat! The pictures are absolutely beautiful! Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      I made this thinking I had enough time only to get to step 5 and realize I would not, I refrigerated the dough and returned 5 hours later took it out and continued. After putting it in the oven realized I forgot to let it rise for 15 minutes, step 8. It still turned out great. Not as good as my Oma's but that has more to do with the prima material that is n ot available here in Cancun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

    • on June 18, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional German Plum Cake (Zwetschgenkuchen)

    Serving Size: 1 (128 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 177.9
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    23%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 19.1 mg
    6%
    Sodium 45.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 13.0 g
    52%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes