Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Fruity and Spiced Hot Cross Buns: Bread-Maker Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Fruity and Spiced Hot Cross Buns: Bread-Maker

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 26, 2011

      Wonderful recipe! I've made these twice and everytime they turn out perfect! I did change the actual cross bit though as I didn't have ready made pastry in the house. I used 80g of plain flour, 80mls of water and 2 teaspoons of sugar mixed together to make a thick paste which I piped onto the buns and baked as usual.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      Excellent recipe, I didn't change a thing. I have made these a couple of times now and they are wonderful. Just the right amount of spices and fruit. After trying a few different recipes for Hot Cross Buns, this is now my 'go to' recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      I made these today with my granddaughters helping and they turned out de-lishous! I didn't do the pastry crosses, just cut a cross in the top of each bun. Didn't ice them either... but the buns were so tender. Followed the recipe for the buns exactly and used a mixture of dried cherries, blueberries, cranberries, and raisins... and it was perfect. I'm looking forward to splitting and toasting the leftovers for breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      Made this recipe for the first time today. Very tasty and easy to make. :) will definitely be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      Can't wait to try this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Just made this recipe today. The dough spread quite a bit after they were shaped, so they were not perfect round shaped buns, but squarish pull apart shaped instead. They were soft and fluffy though and smelt fantastic. I had one earlier with a generous lashing of lightly salted butter. Very nice indeed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      These are the first Hot Cross Buns I have ever made. Wow we were so impressed, they are so tasty and light. I increased the spices the second time around as we like the extra flavour. See my photo, I am so pleased with the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      These were delicious, and oh-so-easy! They also smelled incredible. For the dried fruit I added: cherries, blueberries, raisins, and cranberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      It was unseasonably hot here today, but these are definitely worth heating up my non-airconditioned kitchen for! I used untraditional dried cranberries, and added the butter with the milk instead of after the flour. I just marked the crosses on top. The buns are lovely and light, with a very subtle spice flavor. They are the only fruit buns I have ever seen my son eat voluntarily! I don't think there'll be any left to toast! Thanks for posting! Made for Spring 2010 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Yet another easy to follow recipe with excellent results. I skipped the ready made pastry and made my own crosses with a little bit of the hot cross bun dough. These baked perfectly in 15 minutes. For the dried fruit I added: cranberries, raisins, currants and tart cherries. Also, added zest of one orange. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      very easy to make them!!! all our friends loved it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      These are one of the best hot cross buns I have ever tasted! My parents in law visited today while they were cooking in the oven, they were only meant to just drop something but stayed for the buns. My mother in law even took a copy of the recipe home. I substituted the milk and butter (used lactose free milk and dairy free margarine). I made two batches one with real eggs and one with egg substitute. The dough rose perfectly. The buns rose a bit more in the oven and they were so soft on the inside and had a crunch crust. I will add extra currants, sultanas, raisins and peel next time (we love the fruitiness of hot cross buns) however they still are perfect just as they are. Only problem with these is was I didn't make enough. Thank you so much French Tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      These were absolutely wonderful and authentic-tasting Hot Cross Buns. I made them smaller though (around 20) and put them into greased muffin tins to rise for the second time. They turned into lovely small fruit buns. I didn't put the crosses on top ( as it isn't Easter!), I substituted some dried mango instead of citrus peel and I reduced the mixed spice to 1 teaspoon as I had made it freshly ground from French Tart's recipe and it was very strong. All in all, a lovely fruit bun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      As with some other traditional foods I had never tasted before, I knew if I tried FT's version, I couldn't go wrong. :) I wasn't disappointed with this recipe either. Easy to throw in the breadmachine, easy to make, and absolutely delicious fresh from the oven. I'm not sure how they tasted the next day, because the entire batch disappeared. I didn't know what "mixed spice" was, so I used pumpkin pie spice, because I had it and I knew it would taste good with more cinnamon, raisins and cranberries. I also do not have a breadmachine with a raisin tray, so I just kneaded them in before I cut the dough into 12 pieces. Thank you for posting, FT! :) I will DEFINITELY be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      These were excellent with our Easter dinner this year. We don't like most dried fruits, so I used dates and pecans instead. They were a lovely addition to our special day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Ah... there's nothing like good hot cross buns for breakfast! I made these by hand and I actually found that it probably wouldn't have been worth the hassle getting the machine out. Plus the dough wasn't the type that sticks to your hands so it was rather effortless. It's just a shame I have to wait until next Easter to have them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      Fantastic recipe! I have always been disappointed with my easter bun efforts in the past, but these were easy and yummy! Only change I made was to double the fruit. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      This is the 2nd time i have made these now, but instead of making lots of rolls i made two sticky loafs in bread tins. Both Times recipe has been beutifull, wouldnt change a thing, and the bread tastes wonderfull toasted next day / when it begins to dry. Wouldnt change a thing, Many thanks for this great recipe. Tony aka ganjam0n aka budulah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      Every Easter we had these too. I’ve tried making them in the past with no success. I’m glad I tried again as these were delicious and so easy using the bread-machine. I forgot to add the dried fruit to the machine so added it in at stage 6 and this worked out just fine. I’m glad I kept an eye on them as mine were done in 12 minutes … possibly my oven. I won’t be waiting for Easter to make these again. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Fruity and Spiced Hot Cross Buns: Bread-Maker

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 619.2
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    24%
    Total Fat 16.6 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 54.2 mg
    18%
    Sodium 378.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 115.0 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 11.8 g
    47%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 13.9 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites