Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional English Tea Time Scones With Jam and Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional English Tea Time Scones With Jam and Cream

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2007

      oh these are so good. Im not a baker, (i had to go and rescue my baking sheet from the deck where i put raccoon food on it) but so easy and tasted delicious. I made them with the cream and raspberries. Waistline is expanding! For thenon bakers like me, dont get scared if your dough isnt smooth or the scones are different heights. They still work!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I finally made this recipe, and I'm so glad I did! Most scone recipes I've had make very dense, crumbly scones but not this one! This is a 5-star recipe because it's very easy to make and the scone is light and fluffy. Thank you for my new go-to scone recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Oh yum! These scones taste heavenly! I made them for breakfast and was simply delighted by how easy they were to put together and how nice they turned out- so fluffy and soft. I didn't need all the milk for my dough and used the rest to glaze the scones with. So they got a nice brown top. I had to bake them slightly longer than stated (12 minutes) but perhaps that was because mine were quite big (I got 6 ones out of the recipe). Thank you so much for sharing these, FT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      I have made these, thinking of our vacations in the UK, when I was a kid. In enjoyed them very much and they brought back lovely memories! I will make these again! Thanks for posting! Made for EU Challenge during ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      I currently live in London and these turned out just as lovely looking as any tea room serves here. Extremely easy to make and accurate measurements. I had no issues at all with the amount of liquid. The taste was light, fluffy and not too sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Another great recipe, French Tart. Crumbly, very light and moistish. Had them with your strawberry conserve (another winner) I did a couple of things different, I used the food processor to cut butter into flour mix before using bowl and spoon to mix in milk and cut disc into wedges as SWMBO likes scones better as triangles.

      I used 1/2 tsp of salt. Too much salt in mix was cook's problem as quantity was 'to taste'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      I thought the taste and texture were great, sweeter than what I am used to though ( I am an Aussie living in the US), I will only add 2 teaspoons next time, and I needed more milk, although I did check online and I think British pints are different to American ones?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      these were really nice. Like Cookin-jo I also had to add quite a bit more milk and I think next time I will cut down on the salt just a bit as well as I could taste it in the cooked product and I don't feel that I should have been able too. Beautiful with whipped cream and raspbery jam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      These scones were so easy to make and turned out beautifully light on the inside with a bit of a crunch on the outside. They are not really sweet, the sweetness comes from the toppings you use on them. My family loves to eat scones/biscuits as a dessert with whipped cream and berries and these were perfect for that. I suspect I made a mistake measuring the flour (made my own self-raising flour) as I had to use quite a bit more milk to hold the dough together. This didn't seem to affect the scones, the texture was still good. I also used granulated sugar and whizzed it in the food processor to grind it a bit finer. Thanks, FT....lovely scones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional English Tea Time Scones With Jam and Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (170 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 486.3
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    35%
    Total Fat 19.1 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 108.3 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1259.8 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.9 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites