Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional English Pub Style Ploughman's Lunch Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional English Pub Style Ploughman's Lunch

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2008

      What a great, memorable lunch! I used a hard cheddar and a stilton, crusty buttered rolls and of course lots of branston pickle, I also threw in some sausage for my husband. I put it all on a large wooden serving board and served cider along with it, it looked terrific and tasted even better. This brought back memories of my Grandpa, having lunch by the lake, thanks so much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Fabulous! I love ploughman's lunch. I made this with crusty baguette rolls (mini baguettes), a couple of locally-produced cheeses (Appel's gouda and Beecher's flagship), pickled onions, sweet gherkins, garlic & dill gherkins, plus Sunday Afternoon Tea Quick Pickled Cucumber and Onion and Méli-Mélo:a Muddle and Medley of Heirloom Tomatoes and PG Tips tea (chamomile tea with milk for DS). We all loved it--it was a wonderful light summer supper. Thanks so much for sharing, FT! Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Thanks to this recipe, I was able to put together a wonderful gift basket for my English neighbors-they were thrilled! I was so lucky to find many authentic English items at a specialty store! Thank you for sharing, French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      This is a favourite meal for us, especially in the summer when it's too hot to cook. We usually add some sliced deli meat...leftover cold meatloaf sliced thinly is great. Sliced garden cucumbers are a usual addition. What really makes this special is a good chutney or pickle, preferably homemade. I used swiss and smoked gouda cheese, my own dills, pickled shallots and red pepper condiment, and forgot the spring onions. Oops. Thanks, FT. Our summer lunches will be Ploughman's Lunches from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      I came home late, tired and hungry and this was so easy to put together and tasted so good! Thank you Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      This recipe proved to me that you can create a spec occasion from leftovers + ordinary things just *hangin out* in your fridge & pantry. I blended your recipe w/a collage of favourites to create a lovely dinner for 2. The collage included Kate's Afternoon Wine Cooler (Zwt - France) (for me), Baz's Glazed Onions, Charlie's Famous Chicken Salad with Grapes & Shrimp Salad (Iceland). Lacking crusty bread (sorry), I replaced it toasted bread rounds brushed w/herb & garlic olive oil + crackers. I used Gouda & Stilton cheese + smoked trout, pears, oranges, tomato, pickles & mango chutney. I served it on a wooden turntable that was twirling as we indulged ourselves! I would not dare neglect DH & his enduring passion for red wine, so I added a cabernet sauvignon from Chile. Voila! If the any of those ploughmen really ate like this, I am surprised that anything got done in the fields! Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. I had *way too much fun* in my kitchen today. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      I love ploughmans lunch :) Today, i used an irish cheddar with port, regular cheddar, branston pickle, brie and duck pate with cognac and madeira. I forgot the veggies lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      This is wonderful. I used English Cheddar, had a nice rustic bread. I had some BRanston pickle with it as well. The only thing I did differently was to sub the tomatoes with some English cucumber slices. A glass of cider along side and it was the perfect English lunch. Also please make sure you ise REAL butter not margarine. Sometimes a bit of butter lettuce with some Heinz Salad cream is a nice addition as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      we tried this for lunch on our "British Day"...I've never been one for pickles or relish so perhaps Branston pickle wasn't for me. Still, it was nice to try an English tradition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Thank God I picked up some real English cheddar, crusty bread and both ploughman's and Branston pickle today!! You have reminded me that simple and basic tastes are the best. I love English pickles and have been accused by my friends of being a total Anglophile. T.J.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional English Pub Style Ploughman's Lunch

    Serving Size: 1 (734 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 965.0
     
    Calories from Fat 480
    49%
    Total Fat 53.3 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 32.1 g
    160%
    Cholesterol 149.5 mg
    49%
    Sodium 2043.8 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.9 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 42.3 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes