Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional English Halloween Supper - Mash O' Nine Sorts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional English Halloween Supper - Mash O' Nine Sorts

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2014

      I love Mash O Nine sorts. I have made it for Halloween every year for the past 8 years or so since I learned about it. <br/><br/>I will say there are a couple variations on this recipe that enjoy. Rather than Cheddar, some variations call for peas, added in after the mashing of the other ingredients. This version doesn't call for any additional baking. Nice sweet frozen peas work well unless you've got access to fresh ones, but don't use ones in pods. It throws off the texture of the dish too much. I enjoy this version of the recipe much more because I think that the cheddar clashes a bit with the sweet vegetable tastes. Either you use too mild a cheddar and you can't really taste it, or you use a sharper one and it masks some of the veggie flavors. I have tried both versions more than once but now I stick with the peas instead of cheese.<br/><br/>Also, I don't peel any of my vegetables except for the parsnips. I prefer the texture of the skins from the potatoes (I use gold ones) and turnips. It gives a little something to chew on. I am notoriously bored by mushy foods after a few bites if there isn't something to alter the texture just a bit. <br/><br/>Great recipe though. The proportions are just right. I love having this on Halloween!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Very nice. And even better the next day. Didn't have a turnip, so subbed a second parsnip. And subbed scallions for the leek. Easy, flexible, and pretty. thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Absolutely delicious. We ate it with meatballs and tomato sauce. It was my first time cooking with either turnips or parsnips, and I was greatly pleased with the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      I have saved this is my cookbooks...I haven't tried it yet but I just thought the story behind it and you taking the time to share it made me want to try it even more than just how good it sounds!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      I doubled this recipe for a party. It turned out great! I have never eaten or cooked with a Turnip or Parsnip they're both very interesting veggies. The Parsnip reminded me of a spicy carrot and the Turnip reminded me of a mix between an onion and a carrot it even made my eyes water when I peeled it!! I couldn't figure out why it tasted like it had butter in it when I tasted it at the only veggies stage. We decided it was the Turnip giving it that taste! Wow! Very Nice thank you :-):update: I took this and made patties then fried them until crispy in hot oil. Wow! Make extra you're going to want to do it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This was delicious, although next time I may add some more seasonings. I'm giving 5 stars because the next day we reheated the leftovers and added bacon, cream, and broth for a wonderful soup. We rarely eat leftovers, so getting two meals out of this was awesome. I am putting in my Favorites. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      Made this for lunch today with a salad. Missed out the turnip and parsnip as didn't have any and roughly halved the recipe. It still tasted really good, the whole family really enjoyed it! Will definitely make this again, and look forward to adding parsips and turnips when they come into season :-9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      This was so yummy! I made it to go with some Bratwurst that my husband was grilling. Even my kids loved it (5 and 3) I would say it could easily serve 6 people, because we ended up with some leftovers. Thanks for posting such an awesome and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional English Halloween Supper - Mash O' Nine Sorts

    Serving Size: 1 (368 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.0
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    35%
    Total Fat 15.9 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 49.6 mg
    16%
    Sodium 321.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.6 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    parsnips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites