Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional English Beef & Potato Picnic Pies - Pasties Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional English Beef & Potato Picnic Pies - Pasties

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2007

      These were just ok for us...they took longer than 30 minutes to cook..I took them out after 30 and the crust was not done so I had to put them back in. After 15 more minutes they were close enough since the kids were starving. I think I will try these with just pie crust instead of puff pastry(personal preference) This was for ZWT 07

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      These were really good! However, I did make some tweaks. I used ground turkey, just to lighten it up a bit. I added cinnamon to the spice blend, which really perked up the flavor a lot. I found the mixture to be really soupy, so I ended up draining off a lot of the liquid. I would use considerably less broth than written here and probably would drain the tomatoes before adding them. I used refrigerator biscuits instead of puff pastry - they were the perfect size rolled out, and a lot more economical than puff pastry. They were a hit at my party last night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      Best recipe for these of all the recipes I've tried! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      My family loved these. I made them into turnovers. I did not have puff pastries so I made a pie crust. It's a lot of work to do the pie crust but the result was very good. Everyone took some for lunch today and they were all happy. Thank you. Next time I will use the pastries to save myself a lot of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Simply delicious tartlette. Just delicious, I never changed a thing. I'm so glad that I tried this dish. It is the best meatpie of its type that we have ever tried. They were shared with our neighbors....two of them came looking for more, that's how special these babies are. So tasty and savory, I loved the combination of mashed potatoes, beef, onions and tomatoes in the puff pastry. I used herbs de provence to flavor the pies. So so good, I highly recommend these to everyone. They are very impressive looking. Made for Under Cover - Pies and Tarts for June In the Photo's Forum :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Nice! I also added a bit of Worcestershire sauce. Very good :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Awesome recipe! I played around with it a little bit--doubled the recipe, used my normal pie crust, added some carrots. In addition to the soy sauce, I added some Worcestershire sauce, which added a great complexity. I've got a couple left in the freezer, along with the remains of the filling so I can easily make more. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      Wow! These were SO good. My husband won't stop raving about them. We were both really impressed with them. I made a few small changes......I kept my potato in small pieces (about the size of a playing dice) and I also put cooked carrots the same size in. As I wasn't going to have the mash to soak up some of the liquid i cooked down for about 10 minutes after I added the stock. I made these into pasties. So yum and my husband won't eat another pastie again. :) Thank you so much for a great recipe that we will definately use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I made these for my English neighbors-they ate 2 tonight and will freeze the others. They called to say they were thrilled and the pies were DELICIOUS! I wasn't sure what herbs to use so I sprinkled in some parsley and celery leaves. Mrs.B served w/ gravy, peas, and salad. Thank you so much for a great recipe, French Tart!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      French Tart, these are fantastic! What a great idea to include the potato in the filling! I'm lucky enough to have a pie maker and this made 24 small pies in my pie maker. After tonight's dinner I now have 18 pies in my freezer. Dave had his (4!)with cheese and gravy. My girls had theirs as is as they had eaten them before I had time to offer them any gravy! A definite family keeper and will be made again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      French Tart these pies are delicious. We all loved them. The only thing I didn't use was the beef stock. I didn't have a biscuit cutter the right size for the top pastry so I used the top of a margarine tub as a template.Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      I had these for lunch and they were so good! I did not make them but I sure liked eating them! Thank you Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      I just regret I didn't get these made during the RSC test period. They are delicious. I was afraid I was going to have to confess complete ineptitude with puff pastry when I was putting them together...but then the puff pastry did its magic and I was VERY pleased with the results. So much so that I ate two for dinner tonight. Thank you, Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      French Tart, These are definetly a WINNER!! So good!! Love, Becky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      FT I know it is a little late for the contest, but these are wonderful!!! They remind me of Cornish Pasties recipe I have , but not posted yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      These were excellent, great flavor, will definitely be making these again. Remind me of "empanada's" with a different flavor, I love curry so this is a definite make again. Great instructions. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I made this for lunch for me and the 5 year old and we both loved them. The 5 year old devoured them and asked for more! I made them into small hand pies. Thanks Chef for a great lunch. Good Luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional English Beef & Potato Picnic Pies - Pasties

    Serving Size: 1 (415 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 831.9
     
    Calories from Fat 494
    59%
    Total Fat 54.9 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 18.2 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 103.4 mg
    34%
    Sodium 944.7 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.4 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 24.7 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed herbs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites