23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This got rave reviews from my family, but I thought it was a bit light. I halfed the recipe, and it was the perfect amount for 5, but next time I will do a little less milk. Also, I do wish that there were approximate times on the recipe for beating, as everyones judgement is different on "thicken." I think I overdid my cream just a little, as there were whipped cream floaters on every glass. But I don't think we will ever buy storebought again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dazy December 27, 2009

Even my friends that don't normally care for eggnog loved it. Now they request it. Will be making it for the third time this year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heat Freak December 13, 2009

Incredible! I made with alcohol, since I don't trust the eggs without it. Mind over matter really. I made a slight change with that as well, putting 1 Cup of light rum, and 2 cups of Brandy in instead of the whiskey. It only keeps for 4 days, so drink fast! Puts the store bought stuff to shame.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKFilm November 11, 2009

Very good!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robs415 December 21, 2008

If you are concerned about the use of raw eggs, you can A- make the recipe using "pasteurized shell eggs," which are perfectly safe to use in a raw state and their use is approved by the USDA's Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS). B- cook the eggs, milk and sugar together (making a custard base) and adding the remaining ingredients to the well chilled custard base. FYI: Laws about serving raw eggs vary from state to state. In many states in the USA there only has to be a health warning on the menu to the effect that eating raw and undercooked food (eggs, beef, etc.) is known to cause illness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee514 November 25, 2008

This isn't really a rating, more of a statement. While this may be the best egg nog on the face of the planet, you could potentially make someone very very sick (or even kill them!) using this recipe with raw eggs as it is written. As a restaurant Food Safety Manger and Trainer I am certified by the National Restaurant Association (NRA) and I can tell you that this would be illegal to serve in any establishment in the USA.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missyvixen1217 November 24, 2008

Made exactly as posted minus the alcohol and it tasted awesome!!!! Very easy to make also. Thanks for a great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silvano November 02, 2008

I just gone done trying to make this and it is absolutely wonderful! I used my handheld mixer with the whipping disc and it took seconds to whip up the eggs. I can't get over how good this stuff is! I did scale the recipe down as I didn't know if I would like it and didn't want to waste all that egg nog if I didn't like it. Next time I'm making the full batch! Thanks so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crystal November 12, 2007

I made this without the alcohol and it was great. My whole family loved it and had me making it all season. I'll definitely be making for this season too! Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2MMCJ November 02, 2007
Traditional Eggnog