23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum! Yum!! Now this is EGG nog. It's nicely thick and deliciously creamy. And the nog is pretty nice too. We used bourbon, rather than whiskey, though. Will have to try whiskey next time.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troyh December 17, 2001

This recipe is incomplete. It never tells you when to combine the ingredients together. I found it very confusing and I pride myself of making everything from scratch for over 10 years. This stuff is POTENT as well, which may not necessarily be a bad thing. Please revise the procedure instructions and let the others know when to combine all three bowls filled. Thank you,

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna G December 26, 2001

I have made the requested changes to the steps and apologize if you found the recipe confusing. I appreciate you pointing this out to me however you didn't say if you liked the eggnog or not.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy December 27, 2001

You will never find eggnog this good on a grocery store shelf I tell you! this is the best egg nog I have EVER tasted! We didn't use any alcohol.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dustin13 November 06, 2002

I disagree with Missyvixen1217 on all counts. You can get pasteurized in-shell eggs which would be perfectly safe. If you trust your egg purveyor, there's no reason not to make this. And since food safety laws vary from state to state and county to county, it's probably not illegal in a whole lot of places. That being said, do be VERY careful about any recipe using raw eggs. Salmonella infection is not fun for ANYONE, and can be fatal for children, the elderly, or persons with a compromised immune system. According to an article by Ted Allen in [i]Food Network Magazine[/i], Nov/Dec 2008, "According to a study by the World Health Organization, about one in 14,000 eggs is thought to be contaminated [with salmonella]. (Other research says one in 20,000.) If a person consumed 250 eggs a year and lived to be 80, the risk of a single infection would be one in 80 lifetimes. Further, alcohol kills salmonella - in this respect, a strong nog may be the safest nog."

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrGaellon December 01, 2008

This is an awesome recipe, I have used it for the last few years and then lost the cookbook so I was glad to find it posted on the web so I could make it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmaclaren December 19, 2010

Good stuff! I added approximately 1 more cup of sugar to the final mixture. Not as stupid-thick as the store-bought crap, and much tastier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrapScreamer December 23, 2007

Oh my goodness. I made this for my family over the holidays and we LOVED it. I did halve the recipe as it was just us, but sooooo good. I can't wait to make it for our big extended family. I kept the alcohol out on the side as there were kids here, but it was good without too. (But better with!!!) This is a keeper!!!!! Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 02, 2013

I forgot to review this when I made it over the Christmas holidays. This is the best recipe for eggnog I have tasted. You won't be disappointed if you make this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keltik May 11, 2010

Bergy, this was delicious! I made half with alcohol and half without. I liked that it wasn't too thick, and it had a wonderful flavor. I mixed the eggnog the morning of the party and let it chill for about 8 hours. I think it could be mixed up a day in advance if needed. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. December 28, 2009
Traditional Eggnog