Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Eggnog Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Eggnog

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2001

      Yum! Yum!! Now this is EGG nog. It's nicely thick and deliciously creamy. And the nog is pretty nice too. We used bourbon, rather than whiskey, though. Will have to try whiskey next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2001

      This recipe is incomplete. It never tells you when to combine the ingredients together. I found it very confusing and I pride myself of making everything from scratch for over 10 years. This stuff is POTENT as well, which may not necessarily be a bad thing. Please revise the procedure instructions and let the others know when to combine all three bowls filled. Thank you,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2001

      I have made the requested changes to the steps and apologize if you found the recipe confusing. I appreciate you pointing this out to me however you didn't say if you liked the eggnog or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2002

      You will never find eggnog this good on a grocery store shelf I tell you! this is the best egg nog I have EVER tasted! We didn't use any alcohol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      I disagree with Missyvixen1217 on all counts. You can get pasteurized in-shell eggs which would be perfectly safe. If you trust your egg purveyor, there's no reason not to make this. And since food safety laws vary from state to state and county to county, it's probably not illegal in a whole lot of places. That being said, do be VERY careful about any recipe using raw eggs. Salmonella infection is not fun for ANYONE, and can be fatal for children, the elderly, or persons with a compromised immune system. According to an article by Ted Allen in [i]Food Network Magazine[/i], Nov/Dec 2008, "According to a study by the World Health Organization, about one in 14,000 eggs is thought to be contaminated [with salmonella]. (Other research says one in 20,000.) If a person consumed 250 eggs a year and lived to be 80, the risk of a single infection would be one in 80 lifetimes. Further, alcohol kills salmonella - in this respect, a strong nog may be the safest nog."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      This is an awesome recipe, I have used it for the last few years and then lost the cookbook so I was glad to find it posted on the web so I could make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Good stuff! I added approximately 1 more cup of sugar to the final mixture. Not as stupid-thick as the store-bought crap, and much tastier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      Oh my goodness. I made this for my family over the holidays and we LOVED it. I did halve the recipe as it was just us, but sooooo good. I can't wait to make it for our big extended family. I kept the alcohol out on the side as there were kids here, but it was good without too. (But better with!!!) This is a keeper!!!!! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      I forgot to review this when I made it over the Christmas holidays. This is the best recipe for eggnog I have tasted. You won't be disappointed if you make this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Bergy, this was delicious! I made half with alcohol and half without. I liked that it wasn't too thick, and it had a wonderful flavor. I mixed the eggnog the morning of the party and let it chill for about 8 hours. I think it could be mixed up a day in advance if needed. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      This got rave reviews from my family, but I thought it was a bit light. I halfed the recipe, and it was the perfect amount for 5, but next time I will do a little less milk. Also, I do wish that there were approximate times on the recipe for beating, as everyones judgement is different on "thicken." I think I overdid my cream just a little, as there were whipped cream floaters on every glass. But I don't think we will ever buy storebought again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Even my friends that don't normally care for eggnog loved it. Now they request it. Will be making it for the third time this year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Incredible! I made with alcohol, since I don't trust the eggs without it. Mind over matter really. I made a slight change with that as well, putting 1 Cup of light rum, and 2 cups of Brandy in instead of the whiskey. It only keeps for 4 days, so drink fast! Puts the store bought stuff to shame.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Very good!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      If you are concerned about the use of raw eggs, you can A- make the recipe using "pasteurized shell eggs," which are perfectly safe to use in a raw state and their use is approved by the USDA's Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS). B- cook the eggs, milk and sugar together (making a custard base) and adding the remaining ingredients to the well chilled custard base. FYI: Laws about serving raw eggs vary from state to state. In many states in the USA there only has to be a health warning on the menu to the effect that eating raw and undercooked food (eggs, beef, etc.) is known to cause illness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      This isn't really a rating, more of a statement. While this may be the best egg nog on the face of the planet, you could potentially make someone very very sick (or even kill them!) using this recipe with raw eggs as it is written. As a restaurant Food Safety Manger and Trainer I am certified by the National Restaurant Association (NRA) and I can tell you that this would be illegal to serve in any establishment in the USA.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      Made exactly as posted minus the alcohol and it tasted awesome!!!! Very easy to make also. Thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

    • on November 12, 2007

      I just gone done trying to make this and it is absolutely wonderful! I used my handheld mixer with the whipping disc and it took seconds to whip up the eggs. I can't get over how good this stuff is! I did scale the recipe down as I didn't know if I would like it and didn't want to waste all that egg nog if I didn't like it. Next time I'm making the full batch! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      I made this without the alcohol and it was great. My whole family loved it and had me making it all season. I'll definitely be making for this season too! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Eggnog

    Serving Size: 1 (3910 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 339.7
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    48%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 157.0 mg
    52%
    Sodium 146.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 15.8 g
    63%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes