Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Devon Cream Tea Strawberry Jam - Strawberry Conserve Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Devon Cream Tea Strawberry Jam - Strawberry Conserve

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 06, 2014

      A very good recipe, and a good technique. I have let it sit for 25-30 minutes to cool, to let the fruit be suspended. To can, I used a 6 oz jar and processed for 10 minutes. I still get some floating of the fruit. Perhaps I will add a small dose of pectin next time. That's what it's for, right?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      I doubled this (strawberry season has started here in Australia). I made as written, but due to small children used my handmixer to get rid of large chunks. Great on hot toast with loads of butter! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      This conserve came out wonderful! So simple, but wonderful, deep strawberry flavor! I only had 2 pounds of strawberries and after cleaning and slicing, only 1 lb 11.5 oz, so i just weighed out and equal amount of sugar and added the juice of one really small lemon. I ended up with 4 half pints. My strawberry pieces stayed suspended nicely and the conserve stayed a lovely gemmy red color even after a 10 minute water bath in my canner. I will definitely be making this on a yearly basis from here on out. Can't wait to eat it on warm English muffins or even baked brie with a drizzle of reduced balsamic vinegar. It is more of an "adult" strawberry flavor, in the way that it is quite tangy and complex. More so than the average strawberry jam recipe, in my opinion. If you love the flavor of a 2 day soak method, as I truly did in a French marmalade recipe I made a few months back, give this recipe a shot. You will be rewarded with an indulgent and delicious treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Great, yummy conserve. Loads of flavour and great on croissants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      OMG! This is so sinfully delicious it must be illegal or immoral or something. This year in Oz we have had a bumper year for strawberries - field-grown unforced and incredibly flavoursome - ideal for this recipe. I tried to do something like this last year but ended up with same old, same old Anglo style jam. This is something else with whole lumps of fruit and a a syrup that can turn any old fizz into a German style strawberry champagne (4tbs to glass). I'm no good at guessing 'set' with a spoon so buy a cheap candy thermometer and save a lot of messing about, they are cheap.The flavours developed if you have well grown field strawberries (hot house forced are useless) is so intense that it needs something to bring in a bit of tang to the sweetness. This is my third batch this year and I doubled the lemon juice and for our taste it worked like a dream without changing the set much at all. I hope that helps someone Regards, John

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This is a fantastic conserve, I use a recipe very similar for jam, and may I say this is one terrific recipe! I cut my strawberries in half, only because they were very large and not as ripe as I would usualy use (out of season at the moment) and this conserve turned out so very nice, with wonderful flavours. This is such an easy recipe to follow, with not much preperation at all. I am going to try this again in Strawberry season and use whole strawberries. Thanks F.T. great scrumptious recipe to serve for breakfast or even better....on scones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      Fantastic! It was so easy to make, taking very little time beyond hulling the berries. My only caution is, make sure you do a "set test" - don't just simmer for 10 minutes and hope for the best! In my case, I was evidently "simmering" far too gently, and at the end of 10 minutes it was still watery. So i cranked up the heat and checked it with a wooden spoon every minute or so until it passed the set test (I think i ended up cooking it for 16 or 18 minutes total). The conserve itself is DELICIOUS. I had never realized up till now that you can make a low-pectin fruit like strawberry into preserves without adding commercial pectin. This is the only way I'll be making it in future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Wonderful and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Great recipe.I was happy to find it. We call it Confiture aux fraises here in French Canada.I have been trying to perfect my recipe and yours did just that for me.The only thing I did different was let it sit only 4 hours intead of overnight and I simmered it for 20 minutes for the last cooking. We serve this with toasts in the morning or dessert with bread or on a white cake or just enjoy a spoonfull whenever you need a sweet treat.Thanks a million for posting.This recipe goes in my Best of Zaar. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      At last I've been successful at making jam! What a great recipe - really accurate timings too. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      In spite of what, at first glance, looks like a recipe that takes a long time to prepare, this was actually very simple, & I am hugely rewarded with an OUTSTANDING conserve! Over ice cream, pound cake, scones (yes!), waffles or just on a nice piece of multigrain bread, THIS IS GREAT! Once you get past the thought that, "Geez, but this is runny," & realize you're trying something from ELSEWHERE, you'll really enjoy the new experience! It's NOT jam as we Americans know it, & THAT'S JUST FINE! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Every Day Is a Holiday! cooking game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Devon Cream Tea Strawberry Jam - Strawberry Conserve

    Serving Size: 1 (1865 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1271.2
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    44%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 326.9 g
    108%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 316.6 g
    1266%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites