Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Cornbread Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Cornbread Dressing

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2002

      This was fabulous for our Thanksgiving dinner yesterday! The flavors are fresh and the finished dish is savory and moist. I added a chopped peeled carrot to the onion/celery mixture and omitted the boiled eggs. It made more than my 13X9 dish could hold so I also filled up a smaller casserole dish too. It was a huge hit. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      I made this for Thanksgiving because it was the closest to a recipe I once had from a DEEP East Texas friend's aunt (!). I lost the recipe, which also included some chopped chicken (made with the homemade broth) and she used regular bread crumbs (I used your recommended herb stuffing mix). My mother never had dressing (we always made stuffing), and she LOVED it. As did we all. Can't wait to make it again. Like another reviewer, I used a cornbread that I also thought too sweet -- gonna stick with the ol' tried and true homemade in the future. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Perfect! Everyone raved about the dressing. This was my first attempt at cooking Thanksgiving Dinner and this recipe was very easy to put together and awesome! DH said it was the best he had ever had. The only changes I made were I did use practically all but 1/4 cup of a package of herb stuffing and I did add the boiled eggs. I used Sweet Cornbread Sweet Cornbread. Thank you so much for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      this was ok, but I agree with the last reviewer...too sloppy and I wish I had the time to cook it longer. I did omit the egg, used more herb stuffing (probably doubled it), and used ALOT more sage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      This tastes great and will make it again. One question, though -- how large are the cans of chicken broth? I used what I thought were the correct size (about 14 oz each) and I had to cook the dressing for a total of 1 1/2 hours, not 30 minutes, to get it to "set" in the middle. I also added 1 lb. of pork sausage, omitted to boiled egg, used 2 cups of herb stuffing mix, and increased the sage to 3 teaspoons. Maybe if I had used the whole 4 cups of herb stuffing mix it would have decreased the cooking time?!? I'll have to "play" with the stuffing mix to chicken broth ratio next time. I'm thinking if I use the same number of cans of chicken broth as I use of the stuffing mix, I'd probably have the correct firmness at the 30 minute cooking time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      Fantastic recipe! I, too, omitted the eggs, otherwise I didn't change a thing. My mom and family loved it, which is the highest rating one can get. Thanks Renegade!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2014

      Great!!!! Tripled the celery, sliced very thin on a mandolin. An old trick from my grandmother. "When you think you have added enough celery, add more", she would say. Used 2 tea sage and 1 tea poultry seasoning. Hugh hit!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      I am a dressing connoisseur and this is the ticket! I searched and searched through so many recipes and this one is DEAD ON. I do add more boiled eggs (cut up) and I also boil an entire chicken and then include its broth as well as the chicken (shredded) from it and it takes it to an even BETTER level! Thank you for this recipe. DEEEELISH.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      I made the traditional cornbread dressing recipe this Thanksgiving and it was DELICIOUS and a hit in my household. It was moist, seasoned and very easy to make. For now on I will use this recipe. Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      This recipe is awesome!!! Easy to follow and very tasty! I used Jiffy cornbread and omitted boiled eggs. Used more sage, salt and pepper. This will be my recipe going forward Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      Made this recipe last year for Thanksgiving 2010, and it was great! First time using herb mix bread crumbs, used peperidge farm. I did not add boiled eggs, never heard of that. I'm using your recipe again this year! Thanks for sharing!
      Tis the season, Thanksgiving 2012! And I am looking forward over everything else, is making this dressing AGAIN!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      love this good old Texas dressing recipe. It is just the same as mine that I've cooked for 50 yrs. It was my Grandmother's recipe. We don't need cranberries, sauage and oysters for the best dressing. thank you for showing a original Texas dressing that is the best of any you can make. from one Texas to another. now for my giblet gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      FINALLY!! I found a dressing that actually looks good, tastes good, and turns out GREAT EVERYTIME!! Thank you so much for posting such a great recipe. I have searched all over for a dressing that had a great taste and wasn't a pain to make. I would give it 10 stars if I could. Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Thanks so much for a wonderful Turkey Day dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      So moist and yummy :) Stayed moist for 3 days :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Such an easy recipe with fabulous results! Even my picky brother in law loves it. When you're making it, you may think it's too wet....but it turns out perfect everytime. I usually have 15 for Christmas and make 1 1/2 the recipe to make sure I have leftovers. Can't beat this one. Oh, and I leave the boiled eggs out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Yes this is similar to my Moms .Very good cornbread and 4 cans, even 6 make this the highlight of the meal.We freeze a second batch to send home with the family.I eat it for breakfast the next day.Bread crumbs for the stuffing work as well but our bunch likes it either way.The heck with the bird!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      I made this for Thanksgiving 2008. It was really good! The only thing I didn't use was the boiled eggs. I really appreciate a tasty recipe that is easy to make! And, I have left-overs too....yum! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      We used this for Thanksgiving 2008. It's just like my mother used to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I rarely make dressing so I was looking for an easy recipe without a lot of "stuff" in it. This recipe was delicious and very easy. My husband and kids don't like onions and celery so I omitted those. There was still enough flavoring in the stuffing mix to compensate for me omitting the onions and celery. I also omitted the boiled eggs and it was still delicious. I halved the recipe since I was feeding a family of five and we still had a little leftover that still tasted great the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Cornbread Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.8
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    76%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 98.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 636.4 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cornbread

    herb stuffing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites