30 Reviews

This was fabulous for our Thanksgiving dinner yesterday! The flavors are fresh and the finished dish is savory and moist. I added a chopped peeled carrot to the onion/celery mixture and omitted the boiled eggs. It made more than my 13X9 dish could hold so I also filled up a smaller casserole dish too. It was a huge hit. Thanks so much!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraFish November 29, 2002

Great!!!! Tripled the celery, sliced very thin on a mandolin. An old trick from my grandmother. "When you think you have added enough celery, add more", she would say. Used 2 tea sage and 1 tea poultry seasoning. Hugh hit!!!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baltisraul January 08, 2014

I made this for Thanksgiving because it was the closest to a recipe I once had from a DEEP East Texas friend's aunt (!). I lost the recipe, which also included some chopped chicken (made with the homemade broth) and she used regular bread crumbs (I used your recommended herb stuffing mix). My mother never had dressing (we always made stuffing), and she LOVED it. As did we all. Can't wait to make it again. Like another reviewer, I used a cornbread that I also thought too sweet -- gonna stick with the ol' tried and true homemade in the future. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AprilAllYear September 28, 2011

Perfect! Everyone raved about the dressing. This was my first attempt at cooking Thanksgiving Dinner and this recipe was very easy to put together and awesome! DH said it was the best he had ever had. The only changes I made were I did use practically all but 1/4 cup of a package of herb stuffing and I did add the boiled eggs. I used Sweet Cornbread Sweet Cornbread. Thank you so much for this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nane November 23, 2007

It reallly irritates me when people write a review and DO NOT follow the recipe. People, do not write a review on someone's recipe if you are not going to follow it exactly. When you change it, it is not their recipe anymore. EVERYONE does this. No matter which site I am on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
animals41157_12491708 November 19, 2014

Yes this is similar to my Moms .Very good cornbread and 4 cans, even 6 make this the highlight of the meal.We freeze a second batch to send home with the family.I eat it for breakfast the next day.Bread crumbs for the stuffing work as well but our bunch likes it either way.The heck with the bird!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdmarques11 February 14, 2009

this was ok, but I agree with the last reviewer...too sloppy and I wish I had the time to cook it longer. I did omit the egg, used more herb stuffing (probably doubled it), and used ALOT more sage.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
az sandradee November 23, 2007

This tastes great and will make it again. One question, though -- how large are the cans of chicken broth? I used what I thought were the correct size (about 14 oz each) and I had to cook the dressing for a total of 1 1/2 hours, not 30 minutes, to get it to "set" in the middle. I also added 1 lb. of pork sausage, omitted to boiled egg, used 2 cups of herb stuffing mix, and increased the sage to 3 teaspoons. Maybe if I had used the whole 4 cups of herb stuffing mix it would have decreased the cooking time?!? I'll have to "play" with the stuffing mix to chicken broth ratio next time. I'm thinking if I use the same number of cans of chicken broth as I use of the stuffing mix, I'd probably have the correct firmness at the 30 minute cooking time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovin' the 'Zaar November 20, 2007

I just made this recipe for Thanksgiving, and it got rave reviews. I followed the recipe exactly, using 4 cups of herb stuffing mix, and it exactly filled my 13x9 dish. Next time, I will go a little heavier on the sage, just my preference. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelgirl70 December 02, 2004

Fantastic recipe! I, too, omitted the eggs, otherwise I didn't change a thing. My mom and family loved it, which is the highest rating one can get. Thanks Renegade!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Nickels January 10, 2004
Traditional Cornbread Dressing