Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional Chicken Divan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional Chicken Divan

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2013

      What extra effort? It was a very easy and fast dish to prepare. It's nice to see a recipe for Chicken Divan that doesn't contain canned soup. Basically, when you cook melted butter and flour in equal parts, you are making a roux. I would only add that it is not necessary to use a separate pan to make the sauce. I browned the chicken breasts in a stainless steel frying pan and used the same pan to make the sauce. The added bonus to this method is that you are getting all of the flavor from the chicken that is left in the crispy bits at the bottom of the pan. Less dishes to wash as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      Whohoo! A great chicken divan recipe without the canned ingredients! The whole family loved this. I served it with rice. I didn't have sherry, so I used some red cooking wine instead. I can't have chicken divan without curry powder, so I added 1/2 tsp of that as well to the sauce. I used raw milk smoked cheddar cheese in place of the sharp (b/c that's what I had in the fridge), and it was excellent! Only thing I might do different next time is to take the advice of other comments and add a little more broth and milk so make a little extra sauce. We'll have this many times again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      This is exactly what I was looking for - a chicken divan recipe without any weird additives! I like to make this with low-fat milk and low-fat cheddar. Also, instead of using broth, I make the sauce in the pan I browned the chicken in, and increase the milk and sherry a tad. Thanks for sharing a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Simple and delicious - what more can one ask for? I hate all that canned soupery that goes on around here - does anyone ever read the ingredients? YUCK, I'm not feeding my family chemicals and for an extra five minutes it takes to do this, there's really no excuse. YUM! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Fabulous! This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! Had 3 very large chicken breasts that I had boiled the night before and needed to find a recipe to use them in. Didn't have the exact ingredients but it didn't matter! Here's how I did it: used boiled shredded chicken breasts, a bag of frozen broccoli cooked on the stove top and drained, used vegetable broth because it was all I had, used half milk and half heavy cream (needed to use it up), used cooking white wine instead of sherry (thought I had sherry but it was the wine, oh well), and used colby/monterey jack cheese in the sauce and sharp cheese on top. Made in 2 8x8 pans like another reviewer suggested. I was worried I wouldn't have enough sauce since I had a lot of chicken so I used extra milk and extra cheese and it turned out great! The point is this recipe is forgiving when you don't have the right ingredients on hand. I can't wait to make it with the sherry. Thank you so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      I doubled the recipe for my family. I followed the recipe as written. My family didn't think the chicken had much of a taste to it. If I made this again, I would season the chicken with pepper and garlic while browning. The sauce was good but did get runny during baking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      I cut this recipe down for one, and it is definitely comfort food. I will thicken up the sauce a bit more next time, because the sauce really thinned while in the oven. But the flavors are all there, and this was a very enjoyable dinner. I used "real" sherry, not cooking sherry and that reduced the sodium content and really increased the flavor. Easy enough to make on a weeknight too. Thanks for sharing! Made for the Naked Recipe Event in the Photo Forum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      I made this tonight for dinner and OMG it was amazing! I made this to pour over egg noodles so I doubled the sauce. Once I poured this over the chicken and broccoli I thought there was too little sauce so I made another single batch. I was pleasantly surprised that the sauce thinned out during the cooking process and the extra sauce I made wasn't really needed. We also had a good portion left over which will come in handy for a quick meal later in the week. Thanks so much CFRP!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      This was pretty good and simple to make. I have to admit I strayed from the original recipe a bit. I did add some curry powder and omitted the sherry and nutmeg since I didn't have any. I was scared of not having enough sauce, and I think I ended up with too MUCH sauce. Husband and son really enjoyed this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Very good recipe! I wanted a chicken divan recipe like I remember my mom making--not the kind full of canned cream soup, mayo, and/or processed cheese spread. I used low fat milk and 2% shredded sharp cheddar cheese to cut down on calories a bit and reduced the butter to 2 Tbsp. I think next time I will use water instead of broth b/c it made the sauce a bit saltier than I usually like but that's just my personal preference. I used 2 left over baked chicken breasts from the previous night and put ~1 cup of leftover steamed brown rice on the bottom of the baking dish. The sauce spread down over the rice while cooking and everything tasted great! This recipe is just a little more work than the kind full of processed junk, tastes so much better and is much better for you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      This was a very good, "from scratch" version. The sauce was easy to prepare and tasted very nice. I would make this again. Next time I will brown the chicken for less time - 5 minutes per side I think may have been a bit too long, considering the 30-45 minutes of additional cooking time in the oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      I loved it! I love Chicken Divan but wanted something without all the calories of "cream of" soups. This was awesome! I omitted the sherry wine, didnt have any and used skim milk. It is one of the best Chicken Divan recipes I have ever had! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      This recipe is excellent!! I can't tell you how happy I was to find a Chicken Divan recipe without canned creamed soups(blah)....this is a far better way to make it! The only change I made was I did not use sherry. Instead, I added extra chicken broth to the white sauce. Thanks for the recipe! My family (even the 3 and 5 year old) loved it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This was amazing! I will never make any other way again! Very easy to make. I used evaporated skim milk and it was perfect! Thank you! My one year old ate it up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Real Food! This is teriffic with the sherry cheese sauce! I added just an extra "glug" of sherry and a extra handful of cheese (that's just me) I made it with 4 chicken breasts and put it in 2 8 inch baking dishes --- so I had 2 dinners for the effort of 1! Delicious!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Yum!!! Everyone loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      Oh thank goodness! I had to look and look for the REAL chicken divan, not the uninspired fat-laden mayo & cream-of-anything-soup recipes that are absolutely everywhere. Haven't tried this yet, but I will!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional Chicken Divan

    Serving Size: 1 (507 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 520.6
     
    Calories from Fat 229
    44%
    Total Fat 25.4 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 13.1 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 94.5 mg
    31%
    Sodium 580.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 30.8 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites