Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Traditional British Toad-In-The-Hole and Mini Toads Too! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Traditional British Toad-In-The-Hole and Mini Toads Too!

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2009

      Sep 13 2009: Excellent and very easy! Hadn't had Toad-in-the-Hole in ages. Had some British sausages I picked up from an import store. I thought 220C was closer to 425F, but wish I'd stuck with the 450F as stated, I had to keep it in the (gas) oven for longer. Served this with mash, green beans and an onion gravy. My little ones loved it too! Thanks for another great recipe French Tart. Update: just an FYI for others, a British 1/2 pint is 10 oz, not 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      Wow! This was really, really good. We had this for dinner tonight to celebrate the opening of the London Olympics, served with mash, peas, and onion gravy (recipe 18620). Here's the adaptations I made, being in the US: Oven at 450, a 9x9 ceramic casserole dish, 10 ounces of milk, and 4 ounces of flour by weight. And, forgive me, I had to use 1 pound of bratwurst, because there's no English sausage to find here. Ten minutes with just the sausage, and 30 minutes with the sausage and batter was perfect - the pudding was crisp on the outside and custardy in the middle. Thanks for sharing a bit of England with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      My husband cooked this for Tea tonight and it was briliant, I hadnt had it in ages and this really hit the spot. We used a medium sized roasting tin and were very happy with the resulting Toad int' hole. Hubby popped the batter in the fridge an hour before using, and added a pinch of baking soda to the mix to make sure it rose as we have had some flat ones previously.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2014

      I have made this several times this Winter, my boys and I LOVE it! I use pork and beef breakfast sausage and serve it with mashed potatoes and gravy....so good and a real comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      I have heard of Toad-In-The-Hole but have never had it before. This is very easy to make and tastes yummy. The Yorkshire pudding was crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside and complimented the sausages perfectly. I had them with the mashed potatoes, onion gravy (Onion Gravy) and peas. I can see why this is considered comfort food in England. Thanks for another great recipe, French Tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      i acn hardly wait for the end result as being a man cooking is not one of my strong points, but i shall keep all posted with my results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      Always wanted to make this, and your recipe looked great...guess what, it was!! My hubby was a little sceptical at first, but after he took the first bite...let's just say, it's for supper again tonite! LOL. Definitely a winner with mashed potatoes and onion gravy! Thanks for the awesome new family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      This is a tasty dish, my old roommate used to make this recipe, and I always liked it. Now I make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      This is a very easy and quick dish to prepare. It was delicious and I would recommend following French Tart%u2019s recommendation of serving with mashed potatoes and onion gravy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      I haven't had Toad-In-The-Hole since I left my parents house 30 years ago. This was not only super tasty comfort food, it brought back many lovely memories. I served this with mashed potatoes, peas and leftover roast beef gravy to which I added caramelized onions. I made the full recipe for 2 of us and after dinner removed the sausages intending to toss the yorkshire pud leftovers. I got up to sneak a piece a few times - right up to the time there was no leftovers at all. :) Thank you for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      My husband, company and I loved this. I did double the amounts. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      This is such a wonderfully delicious meal. Comfort food at its best. I have heard of "Yorkshire Pudding" but always thought it was just that, pudding. So I learned something and found a great recipe. I used 1 egg, 10 oz. milk and about 3/4 cup flour. Served with Onion Gravy. Next time I'll include the mashed potatoes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      I'm only giving this four stars because the pan recommended (roasting) was way too huge and after checking on it at 25 mins half was burnt due to it being so thin. Next time I will make it in a regular sized pan and hopefully it will turn out better. I served this with mashed potatoes and onion gravy as recommended and that really made it great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      I saved this a while back so I wouldn't forget to make it when I finally had some good sausages. It is really worth the wait! Made this with mashed potatoes, and from-scratch onion gravy posted by Miller Time (also wonderful). Surprisingly enough, my picky children are loving the Yorkshire pudding most of all, so I will definitely be making this one again. I knew French Tart wouldn't steer me wrong! I love your recipes! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Easy and fun to make. Served with mashed potatoes, gravy and a vegetable, this made a very filling dinner. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      This was so yummy and turned out just like the photos! We slathered it w/ onion gravy and had a side of mixed vegs. Will definately make again, thanks FT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Easy, tasty, with clear instructions. This went over very well with everyone. I used semi-skimmed milk with no problem. I served this with some Onion Gravy, steamed peas, and mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      The last time I had yorkshire pudding was 35 to 40 years ago and it was with a rare roast beef cooked by my late DDad. This was so easy to put together and we thoroughly enjoyed the dish. I used 6 thick sausages weighing just over 1lb 20z and it was enough for the 4 of us and they took an extra 5 minutes to cook. Thank you French Tart for a recipe that the DH said he would like again especially if we could get sate sausages like we got at Tuross 21 years ago. Made for Edition 3 - Make My Recipe - a game of tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I made this tonight and we had some guests over. We all loved it! I took the advice of another poster who said to put the batter in the fridge for a while first. I'm not sure how much of a difference it made, it seemed to rise just as much as my Yorkshire Puddings usually do, but it tasted excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This is the perfect Toad in the hole recipe - I used beef sausages. A trick a mother of a friend taught me is to make the batter early in the day and put it in the fridge until just before pouring it in the hot fat and over the sausages. Apparently it gives an extra boost to the rising power. I made a mistake - the batter was rising beautifujlly and I wanted a picture so I nipped the pan out of the oven, snapped and put it back in -Well it didn't help the rise but Oh my this was delicious. Served with mashed potatoes & gravy - I say again Oh my - It is sinfully good - Thankd FT for a super recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Traditional British Toad-In-The-Hole and Mini Toads Too!

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 541.1
     
    Calories from Fat 337
    62%
    Total Fat 37.5 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 167.3 mg
    55%
    Sodium 1099.9 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    drippings

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites