7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice flavor, and tender soft crumb ~ This made a HUGE loaf that I had to force into my bread bag ~ it could easily be made into two loaves! I made this with 3 cups bread flour, and 1 cup whole wheat flour, and added 1 teaspoon vital wheat gluten. I mixed on the dough cycle and baked in my oven at 350F for 45 minutes ~ Tagged under the 24-hr rule, Photo Tag December 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerfuffle-Upon-Wincle January 01, 2013

So good! I let the breadmaker do the kneading and first rise, and for the second rise I put the dough in a 9x5" pan, baked at 350 for half an hour. Also, I used honey instead of sugar and used 1/3 whole wheat flour. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl December 10, 2012

I cut the recipe in half and the bread caved in at the end of baking. Most times it's my fault and not the recipe's. ~Tasty~ and I liked this straight out of the ABM with a spread of creamed honey. Buttermilk powder comes in handy for these type of bread recipes. Now I have bread on hand for snacks, to make crumbs, croutons, etc. Reviewed for Adopt a Veggie Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 22, 2011

This bread is a "blow-out-spiff-er-rama" full of flavor, perfectly available to add different ingredients, but if you don't (I followed this perfectly) you will be as happy as a clam with the bread loaf you just produced. It is so easy, so good, and full of taste down to the last crumb. Kneaded in my KA - used a wonderful loaf pan to make this crusty and wonderful! Thanks for posting such a lovely recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm February 06, 2011

This bread is a perfect vehicle for adding some nutritional boosters, so I replaced 4 tablespoons of the white flour with 4 tablespoons of Harvest Grain Blend for Bread (Harvest Grain Blend for Bread) and replaced two cups of the white flour with 2 cups of Nutritious Flour Blend (Nutritional Flour Blend). It came out delicious straight from my bread machine! Thanks, Acadia. Made for Veggie Recipe Swap 28, VIP selection.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees December 06, 2010

This is a classic white bread that DH has fallen head over heels for. I already know that I'll be making it for him often (it's going into "his" cookbook). Perfect slicing texture and a true old fashioned goodness that you just don't get with the air filled bread puffs that you get in the stores today. As a bonus, it's really no work at all using the bread machine to do all the dough work (I always bake in the oven using a standard pan. I did add 2 Tbsp of gluten just because it's my standard practice and it seems to assure success every time. Thanks so much Cadie for a real keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia November 07, 2010

Yep. . .tastes like traditional sandwich bread! Not yeasty and not sweet. . .son will love it made into toast. Made recipe exactly as written and it was very simple. Served along side some chicken noodle soup to my hubby who is down and out with a virus today (poor baby)! Made for Veggie Swap Feb 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride February 08, 2010
Traditional Bread (Abm)