43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic and easy! I subbed Splenda for sugar and used rice vinegar. Most all my sauce cooked down, even with the lid on so I would double it if you want sauce for the rice. This was super flavorful and the pork was tender, better than doing chicken adobo I think.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy January 04, 2010

This recipe sent me straight to the Phillipines! Very Authentic taste! Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ali-Cat Roberts November 16, 2009

dont understand the two folks who left 3 star ratings, I guess there's no accounting for taste, LOL...this recipe was yummy & easy to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas October 11, 2009

This was very good. I had about 3 pounds of pork loin to use so I chose this. Reading the other reviews I actually tripled the sauce and seasonings. I used white vinegar and brown sugar. I ended up having to use half mushroom soy sauce as I ran out of regular. I also had an onion to use up so I threw that in for good measure. I ended up browning the meat first and throwing it all into the crockpot for 6 hours. I served it over jasmine rice and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. I will for sure make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. September 26, 2009

I'm reviewing this without rating it because I think I may have messed it up by not watching it. I just let it simmer on low heat for an hour and all the sauce was burnt on the bottom of the pot. The flavor of the meat was good but it was somewhat dry without the sauce. If I make this again I will probably double the amounts for the sauce and stir it while it's cooking

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG September 16, 2009

Great recipe! My filipina wife loved it and I am looking forward to making it again. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmillam June 30, 2009

I've had adobo before but this isn't the one... however, this version is delicious and has the halls of my apartment complex smelling oh-so-good and full of drooling tenants. Not bad, and it's for sure a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Purple Kitchen March 10, 2009

This is fantastic! I'm making it now (for about the 20th time!), and the house smells incredible...great way to spend a rainy day! I've actually developed a soup recipe based on your recipe, will post shortly. Thanks, LikeItLoveIt!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cylee September 06, 2008

Ang sarap! Im not filipino but I lived there a couple years ago for a few years and adobo was one of my absolute favourite dishes! I missed that adobo flavour, now back home in NZ Ive tried many times to make this dish and failed miserably...until now! I agree with a previous poster that datu puti (vinegar and soy sauce) is better, more authentic tasting over the usual white vinegar and standard, usually higher in sodium soy sauces...thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
num nums August 25, 2008

Enjoyed the adobo as prepared, but have never tasted it before. Turned out nice and tender and the sauce was good and different. My husband noted it was a bit salty (rare for him). Easy to make compared to the other pork shoulder recipes. Served over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Johnsonville August 18, 2008
TRADITIONAL ADOBO (Pork in Vinegar and Soy Sauce)