Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TRADITIONAL ADOBO (Pork in Vinegar and Soy Sauce) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TRADITIONAL ADOBO (Pork in Vinegar and Soy Sauce)

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2008

      We really loved this- very flavorful and the meat was super tender. I like how it was browned after it was simmered. Truly deserving of 5 stars!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      Mmmm.. was yummy. It's funny coz I've never made adobo by throwing everything together. So I cooked it in stages like I normally do. I sauteed the garlic and some onion in hot oil for a few minutes, then added the meat and browned it, turning it every few. Then once that was almost cooked, then added everything else. I used cut up chicken wings instead and used a 1/4cup of soysauce instead without adding salt. It's Well to each their own. My mom and aunt add tomotoes to theirs. Still was yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I've tried several versions of this recipe and this is the best one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

    • on December 22, 2007

      I love Adobo. This was actually pretty good!!! I recommend also adding chicken to this. Very delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      Amazing flavor for a recipe that uses such simple ingredients. It tasted wonderful paired with Yellow Rice and Cuban Black Beans, I let the extra sauce soak into the rice and it was fantastic. I can guarantee that I will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      This was very, very good. I made this in the crock pot, and used the whole shoulder. After 8 hours, I just shredded and added some of the cooking juice. Wonderful! Will try it again, on stove stop next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      DH and I thought this was delicious! I will make this again soon! The pork was tender, so much so that I didn't need to use a knife to cut the pieces in half, and the sauce was TDF! Just a note of caution: I read all the reviews and decided to try and reduce the sauce, which I did by just turning up the heat for a bit at the end, and it reduced really quickly! Thank goodness I caught it in time. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      delicious! i'm filipina and this is head on. sadly i never learned how to cook filipino food...just wasn't interested in learning when i was young..and i regret it now..so now i can only rely on recipes from books or online since my mom never measures. and tried this and this was so tasty and tasted like real adobo. my daughter loved it. i had to note...i used cane vinegar which is what we normally use for this..it's what my mom uses. you can find it at asian markets or mainly at a filipino store. it's called "Datu Puti" and it's so much better than regular white vinegar u get at a super market. makes a whole lotta difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Easy and delicious meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      I am married to a Filipina and have had many different Adobo recipes, but this is by far the best! I also added a slurry to thicken it a little, and it turned out delicious over Jasmine rice. Very Easy to make too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      I was very surprised just how good this was. DH loved it. Easy meal to put together, with rice and frozen veggies. Had all the ingredients on hand. Taste great the next day with grilled onions and eggs in corn tortilla. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      Delicious!!!!! Being Filipino, I grew up eating adobo and everyone in my family has their own recipe, but this is my favorite!! Perfect balance of salt, sweet and sour. I doubled the recipe and used extra garlic and it turned out great. Served it over plain white rice. Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Deeeelicious! I had an adobo recipie many, many years ago. I think this was it! This is so exciting! We had this with cilantro rice and pineapple. I put some cornstarch in some sauce and made a gravy to serve over the rice. We'll have this later this week also. I bought a whole pork loin and the freezer is FULL. Adobo for days! Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      ONO LICIOUS!!!! I enjoyed this soooooo much it was so easy to prepare and sooooo tasty!! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      This is fantastic! Very easy to make. One minor change - I used less than the amount stated for the vinegar. DH said that it was the best pork adobo he had eaten. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      Heavenly! This tastes soooo good! And you don't have to add any cornflour. If you simmer long enough, it gets thick enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2005

      Excellent recipe! Great flavor, easy to make. Next time I'm going to try cutting the salt in half, as it was too salty for me. Other than that, it was perfect. Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2004

      This is a very easy dish to make and it uses ingredients that you would find on hand in most kitchens all the time. I tried adding a little cornstarch as Koku had suggested and think that makes the difference between a sauce that is watery and one that clings to the meat. The flavor is SO good!I'm going to fix the leftovers tonight and I bet it will be even better! Thanks for the great recipe Evangelia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2003

      I was stationed in the Philippines and experenced this recipe from a great friend there. This is the closest that I have found to that taste. Excelent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TRADITIONAL ADOBO (Pork in Vinegar and Soy Sauce)

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 324.3
     
    Calories from Fat 224
    69%
    Total Fat 24.9 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 80.5 mg
    26%
    Sodium 797.6 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 20.2 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites