Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / TRADITIONAL ADOBO (Pork in Vinegar and Soy Sauce) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    TRADITIONAL ADOBO (Pork in Vinegar and Soy Sauce)

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2010

      This recipe is as good as my friend's mom's recipe and my kids love it! Since we move a lot, this is a great recipe for finishing up vinegars in my cupboard. I have used a variety of different vinegars and all have worked fine. A combination of red wine and rice vinegar gives it a more subtle flavor. Apple cider vinegar gives it a fresher flavor and white vinegar gives it the traditional tart taste. You may have to adjust the amount of sugar to compensate. I use raw sugar instead since the slightly molasses flavor compliments the soy sauce. Low-sodium soy sauce also keeps it from getting too salty. I double the sauce ingredients because my family loves the gravy over rice but I thicken it slightly with a cornstarch+water mixture after browning the meat. And, for speed and ease, I use country ribs and increase cooking time until tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      It was FABULOUS! I have made it repeatedly since my husband has a coworker who brings in authentic adobo and he loves it. I totally changed this one up seeing as how we are trying to lose weight though: I use chicken breasts or pork chops cut into pieces, Splenda instead of sugar, add onion and no cooking oil. I brown the meat, onion and garlic. Then I combine the remaining ingredients with 1/2 c. extra water and 1 c. instant brown rice, and simmer for a good 10-15 minutes. The rice soaks up the gravy and is SOOO flavorful. I serve with steamed broccoli. DEFINATELY A FAVORITE! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Very good. Next time I will thicken the sauce with some corn starch just before serving though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      I have never had authentic adobo so I don't have anything to compare this to however it was very good. I didn't use pork (because I rarely eat it) belive it or not I used 3 turkey legs. Once I deboned those legs a person wouldn't have even realized they were eating turkey. I decided not to thicken my juice and just let it be a natural gravy. I'm happy, I have a new way to make turkey legs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2003

      The meat was great, but I preferred the leftovers. The difference was that I decided to add some corn starch to the sauce, and made a gavy out of it that stuck to the meat more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      We had .85 lbs of pork loin on hand so I used that. Based on a few of the reviews I read I decided to use the full amount of marinade/liquid and used Apple Cider vinegar. I poured the cubed pork and broth over plain brown basmati rice before serving. It was a hit! Thanks. We'll definitely make it again and might try other vinegar flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

    • on January 09, 2011

      My father finds the above recipe kinda sweet, so I changed the white sugar to brown sugar, add a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce (Mama Sita's Barbecue Marinade Sauce will also do the trick =), and season with more pepper and a tablespoon of chili flakes for a kick of good spicy sensation. I also doubled the sauce for almost a kilo of chicken because we love saucy adobo!

      Adobo just keeps geeting more good when reheated!
      Thanks for this great recipe guide!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      Really enjoyed this recipe, it was easy, delicious and a great way to use up some of the pork I had in the freezer. I am looking forward to the leftovers today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Fantastic and easy! I subbed Splenda for sugar and used rice vinegar. Most all my sauce cooked down, even with the lid on so I would double it if you want sauce for the rice. This was super flavorful and the pork was tender, better than doing chicken adobo I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      This recipe sent me straight to the Phillipines! Very Authentic taste! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      dont understand the two folks who left 3 star ratings, I guess there's no accounting for taste, LOL...this recipe was yummy & easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      This was very good. I had about 3 pounds of pork loin to use so I chose this. Reading the other reviews I actually tripled the sauce and seasonings. I used white vinegar and brown sugar. I ended up having to use half mushroom soy sauce as I ran out of regular. I also had an onion to use up so I threw that in for good measure. I ended up browning the meat first and throwing it all into the crockpot for 6 hours. I served it over jasmine rice and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. I will for sure make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      I'm reviewing this without rating it because I think I may have messed it up by not watching it. I just let it simmer on low heat for an hour and all the sauce was burnt on the bottom of the pot. The flavor of the meat was good but it was somewhat dry without the sauce. If I make this again I will probably double the amounts for the sauce and stir it while it's cooking

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      Great recipe! My filipina wife loved it and I am looking forward to making it again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      I've had adobo before but this isn't the one... however, this version is delicious and has the halls of my apartment complex smelling oh-so-good and full of drooling tenants. Not bad, and it's for sure a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      This is fantastic! I'm making it now (for about the 20th time!), and the house smells incredible...great way to spend a rainy day! I've actually developed a soup recipe based on your recipe, will post shortly. Thanks, LikeItLoveIt!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Ang sarap! Im not filipino but I lived there a couple years ago for a few years and adobo was one of my absolute favourite dishes! I missed that adobo flavour, now back home in NZ Ive tried many times to make this dish and failed miserably...until now! I agree with a previous poster that datu puti (vinegar and soy sauce) is better, more authentic tasting over the usual white vinegar and standard, usually higher in sodium soy sauces...thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Enjoyed the adobo as prepared, but have never tasted it before. Turned out nice and tender and the sauce was good and different. My husband noted it was a bit salty (rare for him). Easy to make compared to the other pork shoulder recipes. Served over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      I too have never had adobo and have nothing to compare to, but I did not care for the flavor of the sauce. The meat turned out tender, but the sauce was too strong for my taste. Couldn't eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for TRADITIONAL ADOBO (Pork in Vinegar and Soy Sauce)

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 324.3
     
    Calories from Fat 224
    69%
    Total Fat 24.9 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 80.5 mg
    26%
    Sodium 797.6 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 20.2 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites