15 Reviews

I'm from Montreal so I'm quite familiar with tourtière but this one just didn't measure up. It wasn't particularly flavorful and the texture was off. I followed the recipe exactly. I don't use a gravy. If a pie needs gravy to taste good then the pie isn't good in the first place. That's just me though.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayla in Montreal July 29, 2008

I'm not rating this, I only want to point out that anyone from Quebec will agree that we never, EVER serve gravy and lettuce with this. If you really want to put something on your tourtiere, use ketchup (homemade, ideally, but regular can work), and leave the gravy for the mashed potatoes that are the normal side dish for this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elie de Combys September 23, 2014

This is the 2nd time I've made this at Christmas and everyone loved it! The flavor is wonderful and I didn't use gravy. This will recipe will be a tradition from now on! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eastiegirl December 28, 2009

My family just loved this meat pie recipe. My Mom and her friend told me it was the best they ever had.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy 24 January 02, 2009

Made this last night, it was wonderful, will make again. My husband loved it. wasn't sure about the spices but made it exactly and am very glad I did. Thank-you for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gladrags January 10, 2008

One word that comes to mind is "perfect"! My butcher here in Ottawa makes it easier by selling the three meats already mixed. The recipe is easy to assemble, smells wonderful while cooking, and tastes absolutely incredible! I served it with homemade beans and it was just right. It may sound a little heavy, but it sure was good. Thank you so much! An add on - I gave a pie to my neighbors who were moving so that supper that night was not a challenge for them. Their comment was "Don't change a thing! It's perfect!"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwen35 October 27, 2007

Made this recipe for a Canadian Thanksgiving Party this past weekend and it was gone within minutes of hitting the table. I unfortunately didn't have any as I don't eat pork or veal, but everyone gave it wonderful reviews. I am going to try making this with ground turkey next time, that way I will be able to enjoy it as well. I will update my review with any notes, suggestions or changes for those who would also like to try this without the traditional beef, veal & pork. I was happy to see this recipe posted.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
- Carla - October 15, 2007

Made this over the Christmas holiday, family and friends were so impressed. It was delicious! Will surely make this again. Thank you for sharing such a terrific recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paintpuddles February 22, 2007

Ahhh...I haven't had Tourtiere in too many years! Your recipe is full of flavor and very easy to make. Unfortunately, I missed the "serve with gravy" part, which would have greatly enhanced the pie, and I didn't realize that this recipe makes TWO pies! So half the filling went in the freezer for another time. Next time I'll get it right! Thanks for posting this! It's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gracefire December 18, 2006

Christmas just would not be christmas without traditional Tourtiere. This is an excellent recipe! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern_Reflectionz August 28, 2005
Tourtiere (French Canadian Meat Pie)