Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tourtiere (French Canadian Meat Pie) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tourtiere (French Canadian Meat Pie)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2008

      I'm from Montreal so I'm quite familiar with tourtière but this one just didn't measure up. It wasn't particularly flavorful and the texture was off. I followed the recipe exactly. I don't use a gravy. If a pie needs gravy to taste good then the pie isn't good in the first place. That's just me though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      This is the 2nd time I've made this at Christmas and everyone loved it! The flavor is wonderful and I didn't use gravy. This will recipe will be a tradition from now on! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      My family just loved this meat pie recipe. My Mom and her friend told me it was the best they ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Made this last night, it was wonderful, will make again. My husband loved it. wasn't sure about the spices but made it exactly and am very glad I did. Thank-you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      One word that comes to mind is "perfect"! My butcher here in Ottawa makes it easier by selling the three meats already mixed. The recipe is easy to assemble, smells wonderful while cooking, and tastes absolutely incredible! I served it with homemade beans and it was just right. It may sound a little heavy, but it sure was good. Thank you so much! An add on - I gave a pie to my neighbors who were moving so that supper that night was not a challenge for them. Their comment was "Don't change a thing! It's perfect!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      Made this recipe for a Canadian Thanksgiving Party this past weekend and it was gone within minutes of hitting the table. I unfortunately didn't have any as I don't eat pork or veal, but everyone gave it wonderful reviews. I am going to try making this with ground turkey next time, that way I will be able to enjoy it as well. I will update my review with any notes, suggestions or changes for those who would also like to try this without the traditional beef, veal & pork. I was happy to see this recipe posted.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      Made this over the Christmas holiday, family and friends were so impressed. It was delicious! Will surely make this again. Thank you for sharing such a terrific recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      Ahhh...I haven't had Tourtiere in too many years! Your recipe is full of flavor and very easy to make. Unfortunately, I missed the "serve with gravy" part, which would have greatly enhanced the pie, and I didn't realize that this recipe makes TWO pies! So half the filling went in the freezer for another time. Next time I'll get it right! Thanks for posting this! It's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2005

      Christmas just would not be christmas without traditional Tourtiere. This is an excellent recipe! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      Ok, I didn't make the recipe, but I'm from Quebec and I've never seen anyone put gravy on their tourtiere. We put ketchup sometimes, but gravy... no. Please don't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      I made this with turkey since we don't eat red meats very often. It was quick and easy and with it making 2 pies it is great to bring for a pot luck or for when company comes. I served it at a Canadian themed dinner and it got raves. I plan to bring it to my brother's for Thanksgiving since we will be there for a couple of days. Thank you, Bluenoser, for a great recipe! We really enjoyed it! UPDATE: This past month found me on 'grandma duty' cooking for my 2 granddaughters (ages 7 and 9 and picky eaters) and bringing them to school. I made this pie for dinner and they had THIRDS!! Yaaayyyy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

    • on November 22, 2011

      This was very tasty! Pretty easy to prepare and hearty. Not sure how authentic it is, but i'd make it again regardless. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      This is the first Tourtiere I have made and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tourtiere (French Canadian Meat Pie)

    Serving Size: 1 (1019 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1862.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1000
    53%
    Total Fat 111.1 g
    170%
    Saturated Fat 34.5 g
    172%
    Cholesterol 335.0 mg
    111%
    Sodium 1303.2 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 132.6 g
    44%
    Dietary Fiber 14.8 g
    59%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 80.4 g
    160%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites