Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Touch of Orient Chicken for the Crock Pot OAMC Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Touch of Orient Chicken for the Crock Pot OAMC

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2009

      This recipe came out great! I used about a dozen boneless chicken tenders. I also substituted 2 small cans of V8 juice for the tomato sauce based on another recipe I had seen. I added some ground ginger, black pepper, a dash of onion powder and a dash of Emeril's Essence. After 5 hours of cooking I drizzled some honey over the top and cooked another hour. I did add the cornstarch/water mixture at the end to thicken the sauce. I had gotten some dry results recently with chicken in the crock pot so I poked fork holes into the tenders when I put them in and they really absorbed the sauce all the way through and were very moist. I made white rice and when I served it, I shredded the chicken (which was easy since it was practically falling apart from cooking) and mixed the chicken, sauce and rice together and it was excellent!! My 2 kids-8 and 4-loved this also! Next time I may add some broccoli or even pineapple!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I was pleasantly surprised by this chicken. Even though it has 8 oz of tomato sauce, it really isn't "tomatoey" at all. The color was a nice deep burgundy brown. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I added some ginger and extra garlic. At the end of cooking time, I dissolved 1 tbsp of cornstarch in 1 tbsp of water and stirred it in to thicken the sauce. This would be a great recipe to make in a skillet; I think the sauce would get nice and sticky. I'll try that! Thanx for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      This recipe wasn't bad, but I didn't care much for the sauce. I used thighs and followed other reviewer's suggestions by adding ground ginger, black pepper, and onion powder. It seemed like something was still missing, next time I might add some spicy barbecue sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      I used half the brown sugar because I know DH doesn't like sweet meals. It was perfect that way. The chicken turned out tender and fell off the bone by itself. Thanks Bonnette :) Made for PAC Fall 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      Found this recipe in my Taste of Home Slow Cooker Book, under the name of Moist Drumsticks.I agree that this is more like BBQ than Oriental style, but I enjoyed it. Didn't use sesame seeds as my recipe didn't call for them. Think I would prefer without anyway. Thickened sauce with arrowroot. We served with a rice mix on the side, but mashed potatoes sounds great, as the sauce would be a good "gravy." I think next time I will make it with b/s chicken thighs as the flavor of this was great, but I could do without the bones and chicken parts. Just a personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      Loved this!!! Added more brown sugar and less soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2012

      This chicken was really good! I added ginger as per another reviewer's recommendation but I think I would omit it next time and stick with the original recipe. This was my first EVER success with a slow cooker since just yesterday I switched to a vintage cooker - I will be doing this recipe again and has certainly given me the courage and confidence to re-assess the potential of using the crock pot (especially now that I have one that works well!). Thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      Made this for my OAMC. Everyone raved about it! Had extra leftovers that my sister shared with her co-workers and every single one of them asked for the recipe...It's in constant OAMC rotation now. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      This was good. I would make it again, since I normally have all the ingredients on hand. I used plain chicken drumstick with the skin on. I would advise using reduced sodium soy sauce. Otherwise it comes out a bit salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      this was a good quick recipe. we enjoyed it but thought it was missing something. will make again and play around with the recipe some. maybe add some fresh ginger and sesame oil to round out the flavors

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This was SO good. I absolutely loved it. It's actually the best crock pot recipe I've ever made, and that's high praise! I used boneless, skinless thighs, and added healthy amounts of ginger and garlic. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly. I served it over mashed potatoes because that's what I had, but would probably use rice or noodles next time. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      This was great with mashed potatoes. I really liked the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      The flavor was okay but not as oriental as I would have liked. It reminded me of an oriental BBQ sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      This was very easy to make and while it looked very nice it just wasn't anything terrific. I made as directed except for an additional clove of garlic, a sprinkle of black pepper, and to thicken it with corn starch at the end. I used a combo of breasts and thighs and neither was overly dry but they weren't juicy either. I served it with broccoli and rice. My daughter told me this was something I didn't have to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      I got this recipe years ago from a frugal OAMC website and it has been a family favorite ever since. I serve it with rice and an Oriental Salad. It was great to see the reviews and what others added to it. I'm going to try several of those variations...ginger, honey. I too thicken the sauce with cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      This was very good! I also used low-sodium soy sauce. I doubled the garlic added some crushed red pepper and some cayenne to give it a little kick! Next time I will add some ginger as others have suggested! This is a nice recipe to have since I can make on a Sunday with little monitoring and freeze it with some stir fry veggies then reheat later on in the week. Thanks for a recipe I am sure I will use again! [Made for PRMR recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This was good! A little salty for our taste, but next time I'll cut down on the soy sauce. And I wish I hadn't been all out of cornstarch to thicken it like some others mentioned. I did add more garlic and some ginger. I'll probably try it again some time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Very tasty! Lots of points for simplicity! Better with low sodium soy sauce. This time I followed it exactly, but, as others suggested, I see more garlic & ginger in my future....maybe even some red pepper flakes for ZING! Thank you for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Made two crock pots full of thighs...served with white rice and steamed broccoli -extended family liked it, toddlers like it! Nice change of pace. Took reviewers advice- added extra garlic and ginger- then thickened sauce at the end with cornstarch. Hubby says make it again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      This was very tasty! I cooked mine in the crockpot for 2 hrs, but needed it to be done quicker, so zapped it in the microwave with the sauce. Very tender, moist and flavorful. Thanks for posting, bmcnichol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Touch of Orient Chicken for the Crock Pot OAMC

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.2
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    20%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 47.7 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1597.7 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 10.9 g
    43%
    Protein 16.2 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes