25 Reviews

This recipe came out great! I used about a dozen boneless chicken tenders. I also substituted 2 small cans of V8 juice for the tomato sauce based on another recipe I had seen. I added some ground ginger, black pepper, a dash of onion powder and a dash of Emeril's Essence. After 5 hours of cooking I drizzled some honey over the top and cooked another hour. I did add the cornstarch/water mixture at the end to thicken the sauce. I had gotten some dry results recently with chicken in the crock pot so I poked fork holes into the tenders when I put them in and they really absorbed the sauce all the way through and were very moist. I made white rice and when I served it, I shredded the chicken (which was easy since it was practically falling apart from cooking) and mixed the chicken, sauce and rice together and it was excellent!! My 2 kids-8 and 4-loved this also! Next time I may add some broccoli or even pineapple!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawndell74 January 19, 2009

Very tasty! Lots of points for simplicity! Better with low sodium soy sauce. This time I followed it exactly, but, as others suggested, I see more garlic & ginger in my future....maybe even some red pepper flakes for ZING! Thank you for the post!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegasLaurie September 24, 2008

Made two crock pots full of thighs...served with white rice and steamed broccoli -extended family liked it, toddlers like it! Nice change of pace. Took reviewers advice- added extra garlic and ginger- then thickened sauce at the end with cornstarch. Hubby says make it again! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BusyMichiganMom September 10, 2008

I was pleasantly surprised by this chicken. Even though it has 8 oz of tomato sauce, it really isn't "tomatoey" at all. The color was a nice deep burgundy brown. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I added some ginger and extra garlic. At the end of cooking time, I dissolved 1 tbsp of cornstarch in 1 tbsp of water and stirred it in to thicken the sauce. This would be a great recipe to make in a skillet; I think the sauce would get nice and sticky. I'll try that! Thanx for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* January 23, 2008

This recipe wasn't bad, but I didn't care much for the sauce. I used thighs and followed other reviewer's suggestions by adding ground ginger, black pepper, and onion powder. It seemed like something was still missing, next time I might add some spicy barbecue sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
larasbaby October 22, 2013

This was really good. I did however add a few things to make it to our liking - and I didn't have time to cook it in a crock pot so here's what I did. I sliced up some onion and mushrooms and sauted them in a bit of sesame oil. I removed that from the pot and then added the cut up chicken breast to the same pot. I pre-cooked that for a few minutes. Then I put the onion/mushroom mixture in the pot with the chicken and added the sauce. For the sauce, I added a bit of fresh ginger like other reviewers suggested as well as some hot pepper flakes because we like heat. Because it was so saucy, I added about 1 cup of frozen peas. Then I put the pot in the oven and let it cook at 350 for about an hour. I served it over brown rice. The chicken was super tender and the sauce was excellent. We loved it. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeDee June 01, 2016

I used chicken thighs instead of drumsticks, doubled the garlic, and omitted the sugar (used a pinch of granulated stevia extract instead). 10 out of 10 will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thay July 01, 2015

I used half the brown sugar because I know DH doesn't like sweet meals. It was perfect that way. The chicken turned out tender and fell off the bone by itself. Thanks Bonnette :) Made for PAC Fall 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 19, 2012

Found this recipe in my Taste of Home Slow Cooker Book, under the name of Moist Drumsticks.I agree that this is more like BBQ than Oriental style, but I enjoyed it. Didn't use sesame seeds as my recipe didn't call for them. Think I would prefer without anyway. Thickened sauce with arrowroot. We served with a rice mix on the side, but mashed potatoes sounds great, as the sauce would be a good "gravy." I think next time I will make it with b/s chicken thighs as the flavor of this was great, but I could do without the bones and chicken parts. Just a personal preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 June 14, 2012

Loved this!!! Added more brown sugar and less soy sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kylablaster March 31, 2012
Touch of Orient Chicken for the Crock Pot OAMC