9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice Mexican-ish comfort food. I did add some chopped onion to the beef mixture for more flavor. The bottom was just a bit too soggy for me.... maybe I would put all the chips on the top next time. I think sliced black olives would be great on top of the cheese, too! Thanx for sharing. I'll make this again with my little adjustments.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* March 13, 2008

easy and indeed comforting..used FF beans and cheese to cut down on fat...kids liked it too

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
usmcwyfe-and-mom July 26, 2007

We really enjoyed this recipe. I did change the recipe a little by using fat free refried beans and low fat mexican cheese. I also didn't use quite as much corn chips in trying to cut back the calories a litte. Next time I would add onions and my husband would like the corn chips to not be crushed, so we'll give that a try. Very easy and perfect for a quick meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soxfan28 November 21, 2006

My family loved this casserole! Easy to prepare, and great taste appeal. I used white corn tortilla chips in place of the corn chips, but it worked out wonderfully! Thanks for posting, KelBel... and congrats for winning the Football Pool!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fauve November 03, 2006

KelBel, Thanks for sharing your families recipe. My family loved this.. I doubled everything and used two bags of mexican cheese and they all told me how good this was. Thank you for another hit and one that families on the go should try.. 5 stars for sure. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
faith58 October 15, 2006

We enjoyed this casserole very much. I loved the corn chips, DD was not so crazy about them, but then, what does she know!!! I did leave them off of the top, because I just wanted the cheese to melt down into the beam mix. Will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jellyqueen August 21, 2006

Everyone liked this recipe. Here are a few things I changed today and things I'd like to change the next time I make this. I heated the beans and added about 1/8 cup of water at that time. Glad I did as 25 minutes in the oven made that top layer a bit dry. I'd like to see the addition of 1/2 cup of chopped onions added in with the meat at the time of browning or raw with the bean topping. Last I'd only bake 20 minutes, then turn off oven and add cheese and chips; returning pan to oven for the last 5 minutes. Thank you for another winning recipe! Made for Zaar World Tour 2006

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J June 12, 2006

This was very good, reminded me of something I had made a long time ago. I used extra cheese as well. Thanks for posting we will be having this again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kzbhansen April 17, 2006

Everyone loved this dish! Instead of purchasing a can of refried beans, I mashed some Crockpot Smokey Black Beans Crock Pot Smokey Black Beans that I had made and refried those - way better than the canned version and I think they really put this simple, tasty preparation over the top. Used twice as much cheese as called for and we were all happy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens April 08, 2006
Tostado Casserole