Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tortillas De Harina (Flour Tortillas) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tortillas De Harina (Flour Tortillas)

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on July 13, 2009

      OMG!!!! I think that I have bought my last package of premade tortillas ever!!! My husband loved these and so did the kids. Remember to roll them until you think that they are too thin, then they are ready to grill. I kneaded mine for about 8 minutes for anyone wanting an approximate time on kneading. I used the baking sticks by crisco and it turned out beautifully. Thanks so much for this, I am looking forward to making the next batch and buying a tortilla press to make rolling them so much easier!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      The first batch didn't turn out so well because I didn't knead the dough long enough. It seemed smooth so I moved on... Big mistake. For elasticity these need to be kneaded well. (it's all about the gluten...I suppose.) Or else you'll get that "raw flour" flavor some people complain about with homemade tortillas. Good recipe though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      Couldn't find tortillas in the store today and DH wanted tacos so was so glad to see these pop up. I made sure to follow the directions exactly - even to setting the timer for kneading. The flavor was right on and tasted great - my only issue was the spring that was in the dough and that's probably my biggner skills. I rolled them out thin, but when I'd pick them up to put in the pan they'd shrink back and they ended up to thick, more like a flat bread. My shapes also left a lot to be desired, but the taste was perfect and hey - Ill get even better next time I'm sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      I read through all the reviews and made sure to knead the dough for at least 8 mins...my first few didn't come out very well because I was waiting for them to bubble and inflate...which never happen...so they were too hard...I did cook the rest of them on my griddle at a temp of 400 degrees just for about 45 seconds per side...they turned out nice and flexible...not sure I really care to go thru all the trouble...when you can find some store bought ones that are really good...but if I'm in a pinch and need tortilla's this will be my go to recipe...thanks for posting it...made for "Help a Naked Recipe" tag game for recipes without a photo...:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      The best tortillas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      The tortillas taste delicious, but how do you make them come out round? Mine always are oddly shaped. Lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      Tastes just like my grandma's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      These are wonderful! My mother has been making tortillas for over 40 years and I can never get a recipe from her because she just does it all by hand and no measurements. Needless to say mine have never turned out even close to hers until I found this recipe! They're delicious and I'm sure to always have these available.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

    • on May 30, 2010

    • on May 25, 2010

      Super-duper easy and delicious. Family members thought the store got better tortillas! Honestly, I did use butter (we don't keep shortening in the house) but I think the difference would be minimal at best. Great recipe, have already made it several times and will keep it as my go-to recipe for this tortilla-loving, quesadilla-makin' family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      there are already a lot of really good reviews here. i just wanted to add one more. AWESOME! i used coconut oil instead of lard. i don't see any reason to ever buy pre-made again. it was so easy, i actually had dinner on the table by 6! (something we were ALL happy about here) can't thank you enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Delicious! I used coconut oil instead of shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Awesome. I left out the baking powder and after rolling them into balls, left them under a damp paper towel for about an hour an a half. Came back and cooked them up and PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      These are fabulous tortillas! They roll up really well and taste delicious. I also used 3 tbs of oil instead of the lard. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Great recipe! In my neck of the woods tortillas are very expensive, $3.50 for a pack of 8. These taste great and have really helped with our budget, because we eat Tex Mex a few times a week. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      This is a great recipe and the tortillas taste exactly like the Old El Paso brand that you buy in the store! I changed the shortening for canola oil and had no problems with it. I know that I'll be making tortillas from now on instead of buying them! It's easy and tastes wonderful, I recommend it to anyone :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Keeper, keeper!!! Used as is except added 1/2 cup corn meal. Awesome! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      These turned out great! I used one cup of whole wheat flour, and two cups of white. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      These were great - easy and yummy! I made them with whole wheat flour, and that worked very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tortillas De Harina (Flour Tortillas)

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.4
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    22%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 353.6 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites