36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG!!!! I think that I have bought my last package of premade tortillas ever!!! My husband loved these and so did the kids. Remember to roll them until you think that they are too thin, then they are ready to grill. I kneaded mine for about 8 minutes for anyone wanting an approximate time on kneading. I used the baking sticks by crisco and it turned out beautifully. Thanks so much for this, I am looking forward to making the next batch and buying a tortilla press to make rolling them so much easier!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ravyn_Silverwing July 13, 2009

Keeper, keeper!!! Used as is except added 1/2 cup corn meal. Awesome! Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dj's Eagles October 22, 2009

The first batch didn't turn out so well because I didn't knead the dough long enough. It seemed smooth so I moved on... Big mistake. For elasticity these need to be kneaded well. (it's all about the gluten...I suppose.) Or else you'll get that "raw flour" flavor some people complain about with homemade tortillas. Good recipe though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
minnie chef November 03, 2008

Couldn't find tortillas in the store today and DH wanted tacos so was so glad to see these pop up. I made sure to follow the directions exactly - even to setting the timer for kneading. The flavor was right on and tasted great - my only issue was the spring that was in the dough and that's probably my biggner skills. I rolled them out thin, but when I'd pick them up to put in the pan they'd shrink back and they ended up to thick, more like a flat bread. My shapes also left a lot to be desired, but the taste was perfect and hey - Ill get even better next time I'm sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 September 05, 2012

I read through all the reviews and made sure to knead the dough for at least 8 mins...my first few didn't come out very well because I was waiting for them to bubble and inflate...which never happen...so they were too hard...I did cook the rest of them on my griddle at a temp of 400 degrees just for about 45 seconds per side...they turned out nice and flexible...not sure I really care to go thru all the trouble...when you can find some store bought ones that are really good...but if I'm in a pinch and need tortilla's this will be my go to recipe...thanks for posting it...made for "Help a Naked Recipe" tag game for recipes without a photo...:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas September 04, 2012

The best tortillas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jolyn421 November 14, 2011

The tortillas taste delicious, but how do you make them come out round? Mine always are oddly shaped. Lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prettyleodia October 25, 2010

Tastes just like my grandma's!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weck50 September 23, 2010

These are wonderful! My mother has been making tortillas for over 40 years and I can never get a recipe from her because she just does it all by hand and no measurements. Needless to say mine have never turned out even close to hers until I found this recipe! They're delicious and I'm sure to always have these available.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseR September 08, 2010
Tortillas De Harina (Flour Tortillas)