30 Reviews

I wanted a tasty cold appetizer and this really filled the bill. I used spinach torillas and thin sliced smoked turkey - perfecr. Followed the recipe in all other respects. Use the 3/4 cup suggested amount for each 10" tortilla. I decorated each cut spiral with a small piece of pickled hot pepper - Thank you Joann great recipe

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy September 09, 2002

These are a wonderful make-ahead appetizer! I used black olives, and bought turkey,roast beef, and Virgina baked ham, and made a variety of combinations. My whole family agreed that this is the best pinwheel recipe we have tried so far!! Thank you for a definite keeper!!:) ~Manda

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda July 05, 2002

Hi i made this for a lunchon the other day. EVERYONE loved them! They are very easy to make, and look pretty! I made them exactly like the recipe except for the olives. Thanks so much for sharing! I will be making these again soon! Thanks

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach April 13, 2003

These were very tasty. I have tried many recipes for these, but always found the flavor lacking. Not these. I did omit the celery (personal preference) and used deli thin smoked ham for the meat. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is there wasn't a step that states to put on the meat and how thick. I used one thin layer and in my opinion that was too thin. I think next time I will double that. Thanks JoAnn for sharing your recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gadgetsmidnight June 22, 2011

Verrrry Tasty. Made these with deli Basil/Tomato Turkey breast. I squished my olives between paper towels to get extra liquid out. Decorated each slice with a sliver of gherkin pickle. Great snack.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nat Da Brat January 28, 2003

This was a great recipe! I added some sour cream and 1tbl of ranch dressing...cucumber seeded, tomato seeded, 1/2 tsp minced garlic and a couple pinches of red pepper flakes and some black pepper...used roast beef and turkey divided. Didn't use the red pepper, celery or olives. These were gone in a flash...thanks so much for posting...I'll be making these all summer!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thea June 16, 2009

I love this recipe! I used LOTS of filling for each tortilla and then wrapped them up and threw them in the fridge. I came back to "taste" at 2 hours and I was less than thrilled - they were a little hard and the taste was bland. I came back the next morning and the flavors had molded together and the tortillas softened up just perfectly. They were a big hit! Next time, I will know to allow for an overnight prep!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Book/Wine Club Girl August 17, 2008

i made this for my sister-in-law's baby shower, and everyone loved them. i added just a couple tablespoons of mayonnaise to make the cream cheese mixture a bit smoother for spreading, but other than that, follow the recipe and they're danged near perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vanessa F. September 17, 2007

I could not use olives as I am VERY allergic to them and can not even touch them but it turned out so good with out them.SO easy my 8 year old could make them.I took them to my reunion and should of made more.I had to smack my families hands to keep them out of them before I took them to the reunion.I have to make them again.I used to get these from county market but now that I have made them my self -heck with County market!I only use Aztec brand tortilla shells as they are so good and very soft.yummy!The only problem I had was knowing how much deli meat I should buy to make the tortilla roll ups.No problem really as I bought too much and that just left my family with some for later.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina Kay August 20, 2007

I feel a bit funny rating these, but I had so many comments on how lovely they were that I will. I added a tablespoon each of mayo, sour cream and ranch dressing. In lieu of the dry ranch dressing I used some taco seasoning.I had to leave out the red capsicum as one of the guests is allergic to them...and I completely forgot the onion!! but they were really great. I can see that I will be making these for lots of family get togethers. I used ham and corned beef slices.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dusty AE July 23, 2007
Tortilla Roll Ups