8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this using 1 lb. of ground turkey, and while it was delicious, I cannot imagine that it would have had enough meat if I had only used 1/2 lb. as the recipe actually used. I really loved it, but DH only thought it was 3 star, so I'm giving it 4. If I do use only 1/2 lb. meat, I will add some kidney or pinto beans. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb G October 15, 2009

Awesome! I loved that cheesey middle layer! It's a nice blend of Italian/Mexican. I used both parsley and cilantro. Plus, I added a can of rinsed balck beans to the meat layer just to add some fiber. Thanx for sharing this. I'll make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* September 12, 2008

This got our Automatic 5 Star rating. DD (3) said this was yummy and ate almost her whole serving. I made mine in a 7 x 11 casserole dish because my pie pan had leftovers in it. I was out of ricotta, so I used 1/2 c cottage cheese and 1/4 c sour cream instead. I used all cheddar cheese. Very easy to make and definately a repeat in this kitchen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally October 23, 2007

This was a very easy dish to make but it felt like there was something missing for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 July 09, 2007

Awesome dish! I added a can of drained diced chiles to the tomatoes and used colby-jack instead of the mozzarella to give it a more Mexican feel. I think it could have used a little more spice for us, so maybe next time I will add a dash of cayenne as well. We will definitely be having this again! Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksduffster July 08, 2007

I used the Mexican tomatoes with chilies, Mexican cheese, and added some mushrooms. That being said, this is a nice twist on a new dish. Thanks for sharing and I'm going to try this for OAMC and see how it freezes! ZWT 3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriInIndiana July 08, 2007

Very good tortilla pie. The flavors were great, easy to make and goes together quickly. What's not to like. I may add some chopped jalapenos to the meat mixture to heat it up a little. Thanks Made this for Family Pick WZT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ July 06, 2007

Very good! I made this in a pie dish. Makes for easier slicing. Or I suggest a springform pan. I opted to distribute the cheese and meat mixture on each layer. The cheese helps keep the meat together. Used 1 medium onion and 3 cloves of garlic. I toped mine with cilantro at serving along with salsa and sour cream. Thanks for the good eats!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ July 02, 2007
Tortilla Pie