8 Reviews

Wonderful variation on lasagna! We loved the flavors - the tomato sauce was just lovely, and it produced a creamy, delicious dish with plenty of sauce. I dolloped with a bit of sour cream and chopped cilantro, but it has plenty of flavor on its own! Thanks for sharing! Veggie Swap 42

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews January 22, 2012

Now this is my kind of dish! I loved, loved, loved, everything about this! The only change was I used the grill (I was grilling other stuff) for cooking the veggies, and getting the tortillas crisp. I oiled the 1 inch strips (tortillas) and put on side of grill that didn't have direct heat, and let em' crisp up for about 5-6 minutes. I continued on with the recipe as posted. Creamy, lovely, good! I used some fresh jalapeno's AND green peps! This is a true find of a recipe, I LOVE it! Thanks, Elle! Made for Veggie Recipe Swap!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm July 04, 2011

Although I'm not usually too keen on corn tortillas, I did follow your recipe & even included a small can of ripe olives, & we had a great tasting lunch! I did opt out of the sour cream, but did serve a mild salsa on the side! Will be happy to do this one up again! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed as a THANK YOU for playing in Please Review My Recipe during the current tour]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 07, 2011

I scaled the recipe down for 2 and used whole wheat tortillas, and a mix of cheddar and monterey jack cheese. This was yummy and I topped it off with a little sour cream and salsa. Best eaten right away! Thanks Ellie! Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 May 26, 2011

I've made this for years BUT I add1 lb. of cooked ground beef to the sauce and, after otherwise preparing as described in the recipe, topped with a can of enchilada sauce and more grated pepper-jack cheese (about 1/2 to 3/4 cup).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
graham072442 October 12, 2014

I kept going over the ingredients to see which I left out. Granted, I was out of cumin, but I couldn't really taste anything and not enough sauce. Maybe I left out the 1 C of water, but don't think so.
I used the thicker "home made" corn tortillas from a local restaurant and no jalapenos."

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puffy Taco September 06, 2012

This is our new every week recipe - the sauce is delicious and there's just the right amount of cheese. We swapped corn tortillas for whole wheat flour tortillas and then served with salsa and sour cream as well. So easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
runnerlaur July 15, 2012

Nice recipe but, like another reviewer, I kept looking for the missing ingredien. I made this with ground chorizo, red onion and used the laid from the canned tomatoes in place of the water. The missing ingredient was the chorizo-gave this dish great flavor and a bit of heat. White corn tortillas replaced the yellow corn. Very yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fiveoclocksomewhere December 04, 2015
Tortilla Lasagna